We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very loud”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Fego Caffe

Fego Caffe
Ranked #1 of 5 Coffee & Tea in Ascot
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
110 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Very loud”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

The food is good for a cafe, if not over priced.

It is ALWAYS very noisy. You cannot hear yourself think and full of children!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank M3N_XX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John201323, Manager at Fego Caffe, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thanks for your feedback - we're always glad to hear that customers have enjoyed our food but I'm sorry that you found the noise levels a little high. We do pride ourselves on being family friendly and, on occasions, this can mean a number of customers with children at peak times such as mornings and lunch-times. The afternoons tend to be quieter if you're looking to avoid busy times. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    69
    32
    22
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fego- no service!”
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Today I went to Fego cafe, first time in Ascot with my family.
I Would like to point that I am of an ethics origin and wear clothes to cover my modesty, this should not really matter where you go but on this occasion it did.

As soon as we opened the door to the cafe, notice the look everybody gave us, both from staff and customers already in the cafe as if we were something out of the movie Men in Black!

We got ignored for a couple of minutes and then a staff member came up to us and said there was no walk in service only booked reserved, even though there was quite a few tables free and we just wanted to have a cup of coffee with our family. We were practically shown the door.

We were very embrassed and left straight with people sniggering. I was left feeling very upset and sad from the whole incident and to avoid any confrontation we went.

10mins after the incident I called the cafe on my phone to ask if they only did booking or was it walk in service as I noticed across the road people just walking in. A male staff picked the phone and said that it was a booking service but was allowing walk in service and asked how many was coming.

Explain to the staff member that I literally just walked in about 10mins ago and was refused all service from your staff member. He did not know what to say other then yes it is booked but now walk in service can come. I just cut the phone and walked over to Starbucks with my family and had coffees; service with a smile.

I will not be going to Fego or recommending them to anyone. I will be name and shaming their names any where I can, as their customer service was a poorling and racist too.
Sorry for NOT being white!!!!!!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank ukrose4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John201323, Manager at Fego Caffe, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
This is a duplicate review of one you posted earlier this month which was removed and deemed entirely inappropriate by Trip Advisor. To repeat the response we gave then I would like to confirm that at Fego we do not under any circumstances, and certainly not on this occasion ,discriminate against any customers whatever their race, religion or skin colour. We were fully booked on the day of your visit and were only able to offer a walk-in service when tables became available. We, regrettably, had occasions when we had to turn people away or add customers to the waiting list who had not pre booked. When your party of around 7 people arrived we were fully booked. The tables which were empty when you entered were awaiting pre-booked customers to arrive very shortly. You were advised that the wait for a table would be approximately an hour but you were also offered a table at our next sitting at midday – you declined this offer. During your subsequent phone call you were given the same information. At this time we were able to accommodate some walk-in customers when there were only 2 or 3 in their party. I’m sorry that we were not able to accommodate you and understand your frustration however it is completely incorrect and unfair to suggest that this was because of your race. We have many regular customers and staff at Fego Ascot from a wide range of ethnic backgrounds and they are all treated exactly the same. It is very disappointing that you have chosen to misuse this review site by posting these inflammatory comments in an attempt to discredit our existing staff and customers in this way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“WHITES ONLY!!!!!!”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Refused entry and service at Fego's in Ascot for being coloured. We were told the cafe was fully booked when there were empty tables. Staff were very rude and abrupt. So if your white you're OK but if you are coloured than sorry; NO SERVICE!!!!!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank bobbie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John201323, Manager at Fego Caffe, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
At Fego we do not under any circumstances, and certainly not on this occasion ,discriminate against any customers whatever their race, religion or skin colour. We were fully booked for Father Days and were only able to offer a walk-in service when tables became available. We, regrettably, had occasions yesterday when we had to turn people away or add customers to the waiting list who had not pre booked. When your party of around 7 people arrived we were fully booked. The tables which were empty when you entered were awaiting pre-booked customers to arrive very shortly. You were advised that the wait for a table would be approximately an hour but you were also offered a table at our next sitting at midday – you declined this offer. During your subsequent phone call you were given the same information. At this time we were able to accommodate some walk-in customers when there were only 2 or 3 in their party. I’m sorry that we were not able to accommodate you and understand your frustration however it is completely incorrect and unfair to suggest that this was because of your race. We have many regular customers and staff at Fego Ascot from a wide range of ethnic backgrounds and they are all treated exactly the same. It is very disappointing that you have chosen to misuse this review site by posting these inflammatory comments in an attempt to discredit our existing staff and customers in this way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WOKING
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“OK”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We used to go to Fego a lot, it's quite a noisy place, the food can be a little hit & miss, but you can sit outside, and fine for a cafe

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank go-mee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John201323, Manager at Fego Caffe, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Hi Amelia. I'm sad to read that you felt your recent visit to Fego was only "OK". We pride ourselves on the quality of our food so please do let the staff know if you're ever not entirely satisfied with your meal and they will do everything they can to rectify that. Please do pay us another visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Always fab!”
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

The guys in Fego's work incredibly hard, and are super friendly. The food is always great and the atmosphere too. Practically every time we go, the place is bustling, so that says a lot! Fab work, and thankyou!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LindsCrichton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fego Caffe also viewed

Sunningdale, Windsor and Maidenhead
Ascot, Windsor and Maidenhead
 
Sunninghill, Ascot
Marlow, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to Fego Caffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing