We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay in the Ascot area.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Highclere Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Highclere Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Ascot
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great place to stay in the Ascot area.”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

It is a small friendly hotel where the owner and staff were very helpful,welcoming and friendly with the owner even carrying the bags to the room. The bedrooms although quite small are extremely clean as are the bathrooms. The tea/coffee facilities in the room was very much appreciated as was the biscuits,kit kat and bottled water. The location of the hotel is superb as very close to restaurants and pubs in the village but in a quiet area. Off road car parking very useful and secure as right in front of hotel entrance. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a short stay whilst exploring the area, visiting the races or playing golf.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highclere_Hotel, Owner at Highclere Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Sue C. Thank you for your kind review and recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Regards, Phillip Curtis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    42
    9
    6
    5
See reviews for
31
54
10
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne
1 review
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I have been using this hotel for about 5 years. It used to be a little bit cheap and cheerful. The new owner has recently refurbished the hotel and it is now very good indeed. Rooms,bathrooms are very clean and modern. Room facilities are all excellent and I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel to anyone.
The owner and staff are very friendly.
Plenty of free parking and drinking/restaurant facilities within 2 minutes walk.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highclere_Hotel, Owner at Highclere Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Duncan S. Thank you for your kind review. Incidentally, we are the same owners from 5 years ago (just had a manager in at the time) and the renovations you mention were long overdue. Having taken the time, and money, to renovate the hotel, we too are pleased with the results and the obvious impact it's having on our guests - both new and regular visitors. Thanks again, Phillip Curtis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We chose this hotel due to the location. It is a short taxi ride to Ascot. The hotel has recently been refurbished to a very good standard. Our room was small but very comfortable, clean and liked the tea and coffeee tray with bottled water and kit kats.The owners and staff were all very welcoming and friendly. It's in a little village with some lovely shops. We ate in a wonderful Italian restaurant less than 5 minutes walk away. It's also a short car journey from a beautiful park with a large lake.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliWorks2holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highclere_Hotel, Owner at Highclere Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear AliWorks2holiday. From your user name I cannot determine who you are or when you stayed; which in a way is a pity as it would be nice to put a face to the name. Thank you for your very positive review; which means a lot since it seems you travel frequently and from your reviews, although you are not critical or vindictive in any way, you present your honest opinion - and that's all one can really hope for. I suppose that's why people find your opinions so helpful.
Since you came for the races at Ascot, you might like to consider the Royal Ascot Week. It's the jewel in the racing crown and the atmosphere is extraordinary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We were re-located because of overbooking at the DeVere. A great little hotel with modern clean rooms and super breakfast. Not disappointed at all. Very quiet. Selection of Pubs and Restaurants within easy walking.

Room Tip: Family rooms available with a Double and a Single Bed with privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highclere_Hotel, Owner at Highclere Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Jeremy H. Thank you for your kind words. We hope to serve you again soon. Kind regards, Phillip Curtis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belper, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed at Highclere for a family wedding and booked 4 rooms, and we're very glad we did. All rooms were spotlessly clean and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and accommodating and even the weather was nice!
This is a lovely family run hotel with ample parking, a refreshing change from the national chains, and perfectly placed for so many things, Ascot racecourse, Wentworth Golf Club and Windsor Castle to name a few.
Can also recommend The Duke's Head pub just up the road for food and drinks

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigMazzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highclere_Hotel, Owner at Highclere Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear Mr Blount

Thank you for staying, and for bringing your friends & family as well. It was a pleasure serving you and your kind review of our performance and hotel is most welcome. We hope to see you again soon.
Phillip & Sandie Curtis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

The recently renovated Highclere Hotel was a fabulous home away from home when I stayed there for two nights in June, 2012. My room was great - large, quiet, clean and comfortable with a terrific bathroom. The owners could not have been more helpful or welcoming. It is a lovely small boutique hotel not far from Royal Ascot racecourse. I enjoyed it so much I have already booked again for next year.

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Highclere Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. From your review, and profile name, unfortunately I could not work out who you are; so cannot personalise this message as I would like to.

We look forward to welcoming you again next year

Kind regards,
Phillip Curtis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
notting hill
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

This newly refurbished hotel was a pleasure to be at from the moment we walked through the door, the staff were very helpful an friendly they realy couldnt do anymore to make our stay a joy. The hotel was very clean the rooms were very comfortable and welcoming with all the facilitys we needed. Breakfast was superb plenty to choose from with morning papers, it set us up well for our day ahead at Royal Ascot. We have even booked again for next year. Can highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beth l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highclere_Hotel, Owner at Highclere Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear Beth L. Thank you for staying and for your kind comments. We hope to see you again next year.
Phillip & Sandie Curtis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ascot
0.9 mi away
Royal Berkshire Hotel
Royal Berkshire Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sunninghill
647 reviews
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
Coworth Park - Dorchester Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Stirrups Country House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Sunningdale Park
Sunningdale Park
#5 of 6 in Ascot
956 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hilton Bracknell
Hilton Bracknell
#6 of 7 in Bracknell
1,897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highclere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highclere Hotel

Property: Highclere Hotel
Address: 19 Kings Road | Sunninghill, Ascot SL5 9AD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Ascot
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Ascot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Highclere Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in Sunninghill village near Ascot, 10 minutes from the M25, M4, M3 & the A30. Conveniently located with shops, restaurants and pubs close by. Heathrow Airport is just 20-minutes away.Main business areas of Bracknell, Reading, Staines, Windsor nearby.Flexible check-in times (please call to discuss), Free WiFi and Free on-site parkingLocal attractions include: Royal Ascot, Wentworth GC, Windsor Castle, Windsor Great Park, Virginia Water Lake, Saville Gardens, Legoland, Thorpe Park ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Highclere Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highclere Hotel Berkshire/Ascot

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing