We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet retreat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brockenhurst

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brockenhurst
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Ascot
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Quiet retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

I recently stayed here during a long weekend away to visit friends locally and have a quiet couple of days with my wife. What a lovely old building this was to stay in, not overly technological but they do have free wifi which worked well in all areas of the hotel. Not forgetting the friendly & charming staff both young and old.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank j k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    15
    12
    9
    12
See reviews for
5
14
10
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

I spent one night at this hotel in january 2013. Everybody was kind and the room simple but comfortable. It was a short stay but i would go back again. I would ask a room at the back as it is on a very busy road.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank federspil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

On my way to Windsor Castle i happened to come aross this old style hotel, set in a beautiful area just a couple of miles away from Ascot Station.

I stayed two nights in a very spacious room and was well looked after.

I enjoyed the hotel bar, where I had a chance to chat with some local residents (regulars!)

Good value, good price.

I

Room Tip: Suggest upstairs for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We booked this hotel as it was near to Ascot racecourse where we were attending the Autumn flat meeting.
The Hotel looks from the outside to need a little TLC. There is plenty of parking space and once inside a cosy if slightly dated feel. Our room was spacious and recently refurbished comfortable bed and views of the garden. There is a large comfortable sitting room and a bar on the ground floor. We were able to check in early and get off to the races in plenty of time. I think at the price a full English breakfast should be included but as we were lunching with friends didn't matter to us.
The owners wife is very hospitable and very helpful and all in all I felt comfortable here and enjoyed our stay and would definately stay here next time we go to Ascot for the races.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerryh227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Well, its not a 5 star place, thats for sure. But comfortable, and nice to enjoy a drink. They dont serve dinners, but the breakfast was not that great...
its cheaper than others (or at least should be), so a good location to stop at.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gear433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Wonderful experience at this hotel.

We stayed here for a visit to the Ascot races. It's close to the racecourse and much cheaper than others in the area. It's not a five-star hotel, but is perfect for the purpose. The welcome was extremely friendly, we checked in early, and the room at the top (no. 9) was charming, airy, clean and comfortable to stay in. I can't understand many of the negative reviews left before, unless people are expecting to have lifts, room service, a swimming pool etc. It's a small place that does the right things very nicely. And the cooked breakfast for 7 pounds was well worth it, though the included continental breakfast also had good ingredients.

Our room had twin beds, as I hadn't specified on booking.com that a double would be better. The owners offered to make it into a double, which was very kind and we said that it wouldn't be necessary for a one-night stay.

Room Tip: Only saw no. 9, which was at the top with some stairs to climb, in case someone is not too mobile. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leafhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

This was cheap compared to other hotels in the area - I was simply looking for somewhere to stay the night of a wedding so was not terribly bothered about dated furniture etc. What I found disappointing however was the appaling attitude of the owner and his staff. Oh - and the dead cockroach on the bathroom floor was not terribly impressive!

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeremiah40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ascot hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ascot
0.6 mi away
Highclere Hotel
Highclere Hotel
#4 of 6 in Ascot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Royal Berkshire Hotel
Royal Berkshire Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sunninghill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sunningdale Park
Sunningdale Park
#5 of 6 in Ascot
3.0 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
2.2 mi away
Coworth Park - Dorchester Collection
3.3 mi away
Hilton Bracknell
Hilton Bracknell
#5 of 7 in Bracknell
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brockenhurst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brockenhurst

Property: Brockenhurst
Address: Brockenhurst Road, Ascot SL5 9HA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Ascot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Ascot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Brockenhurst 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets so you can book your Brockenhurst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brockenhurst Hotel Ascot
Brockenhurst Berkshire/Ascot

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing