We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sublime, can't wait to return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coworth Park - Dorchester Collection
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ascot
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Sublime, can't wait to return”
Reviewed January 4, 2011

We checked in for a two night, new year treat and were immediately impressed with the stylish decor; light luxurious fabrics, clever use of mirrors with beautiful statement pieces, the attention to detail was obvious even down to the fabulous Christmas trees, which were of course, decorated superbly.
Now for more important matters: Mr Campbell is a most generous host and no expense was spared! Sumptuous afternoon teas, delicious Champagnes left in your bedroom and served throughout the evening, a seven ( or was it eight? ) course gala dinner, which genuinely was SUBLIME, I just couldn't fault it. Intense, creative flavours with exquisite presentation, each course more delicious than the last, by the time the home made chocolate platter arrived I needed to be air lifted to bed! Still there is always the spa and the new year promise of a 100 lengths the next day. The spa is an amazing building, offering a real contrast to the Georgian mansion. It is a contemporary space, very zen like, all White treatment rooms with relaxation areas offering panoramic vistas, of a simply stunning landscape. The spatisserie offers an excellent healthy alternative menu.
However, there is no such thing as a "perfect" hotel and for me personally I felt somewhat deflated after my AMAZING massage only to find I simply couldn't swim as the pool was entirely occupied by children, boisterous, normal, happy children, but they cleared the couples contingency out almost immediately, they made full use of the steam and sauna areas, there was no escaping them and after an hour we gave up and left. The gym is very small and no studio for classes or yoga, which is sad as the spa is the perfect place for indoor and outdoor yoga and detox retreats generally, but I guess that is not the direction they wish to go, but please, do at least consider, adult only times, or better still, build a childrens pool.

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Marchmain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    690
    101
    31
    7
    4
See reviews for
173
400
15
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2010

My husband and I have just returned home from Coworth Park having enjoyed a very special 2 night Christmas experience. We were drawn to Coworth Park by John Campbell's reputation and we were delighted with everything about our stay. The food was just stunning, the hospitality was relaxed yet attentative, our room and the lounges were very comfortable and the grounds a delight to explore. The Christmas celebration package rivals any other we have experienced, including Le Manoir, and when it was time to go we wished we had booked for 3 nights so that we could sample the delights of The Barn too! Thank you to all the staff for making very happy memories for us as we celebrated both Christmas and our wedding anniversary. As this is not far from home for us, Coworth Park could well become 'our new place'.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlysonR2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
achainam
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2010

When we arrived at Heathrow, we chose to stay at Coworth Park for a couple of days before we went into London. It was great !! We stayed in the Stable rooms it was nice. Very well appointed in an idyllic setting. We went on a nightly basis for drinks in the mansion house. Very nice drawing rooms with piano player for evening drinks. We also ate at the John Campbell restaurant. We had the tasting menu, such an amazing meal. You must try the Hare. We also went to the spa, not for treatments, but for a swim. Their pool is very futuristic with the purple lights. There were a few hiccups with service in terms of getting room service and such. But we just thought it was due to growing pains. They had just been open 8 weeks.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank achainam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Water, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
526 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2010

I couldn't fault this place. Despite just opening two months ago, they have tuned in all their staff perfectly. The design and finish give the impression of being in a smart private home rather than a hotel. The rooms are all exquisite. The spa is huge with a purple lit pool. Treatments not too expensive either. Top of the list though is the John Campbell restaurant. I gather he had two Michelin stars at his last place, and it shows. We had the taster menu for lunch - £80 and had a recommended wine with each course (8 of them!). It was heaven on earth - we've not had a meal of that quality anywhere in London (including most of the usual 'top' places). Whilst not axactly cheap, this place is worth every penny. From arriving - the cheery Aussie doorman Sean sets the tone, and we left feeling as though we'd had special treatment - except they manage to give everyone that impression. Superb.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jw6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2010

....was the exact word I used to describe Coworth Park as I left with my husband only hours ago. From the moment we arrived it was an amazing experience. From the valet parking to the golf buggy to our stable block room, every step was just fabulous. One word of caution if you are staying in the stable rooms ask for a room upstairs, because unless you have the curtains closed in your room downstairs you are rather on show! The room had EVERYTHING you could want, from the lovely smellies to the heaviest dressing gown, magazines, unbrellas, well stocked mini bar and as I had said it was our anniversary we had a half bottle of Veuve Clicquot on ice and a cake waiting for us. We ambled around the grounds - all the staff were fabulous, all seeming as though they genuinely care and want you to have the best time - everyone was great but Vaughan particularly stands out for his fabulous service. We had cocktails in the main house and ate in the Barn restaurant - great food and service once again. Slept really well, unlike usual hotels it wasn't hot and stuffy. This morning after a wonderful breakfast we spent a few hours in the spa - again fluffy dressing gowns, tons of towels, water, magazines, lovely staff - I would have loved to experience a treatment. As we checked out and reluctantly got in the car to go home we were handed a bottle of water for the journey - it was the little extra touches that will make this stay so memorable. Yes it is expensive and you could easily spend a fortune here but we thought it was worth the extra as we came away revived and refreshed and ready for the outside world again.......!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nic040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
150 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2010

The hotel is now fully open (October) but is still undergoing some snagging and tidying up. I have assumed that any snags will be dealt with... The hotel is set in pretty parkland. Beautiful formal gardens at the back of the house, with a modern twist. The hotel public areas have been decorated in a light, bright, airy, contemporary style, yet still homely. Creams, natural woods, leather, fantastic lamps/lighting, lots of equestrian/polo touches. Big log fires were not yet lit, but I would hope that they will be when the weather cools down. It is perhaps how one might interior design your own country house if you had the cash, taste and a bit of courage. Staff were all excellent. Friendly and helpful, and seemingly well trained.
Many of the rooms are in a stable block, 2-3 mins walk or a brief golf buggy ride from the main house. If this bothers you, you can pay a bit more for a room in the main house. I was in a Superior Stable room (which I think is the cheapest). A little small, but still a fair size. Similar theme of decoration – contemporary, but homely. Good triple layer of black out blinds and curtains. Comfortable bed. Sitting area. Good B&O TV though I couldn’t get radio to work. Complimentary fudge, fruit, water, milk and great nespresso coffee maker. Good touches eg. stylish postcards for sending, and playing cards. Plenty of umbrellas and a rack for your wet wellingtons. The quietest aircon / heating system I have come across in any hotel in the world.
Ordered wake up call, and operator offered me a weather forecast which would have been a nice touch, if it hadn’t been completely the opposite of what I then found out the BBC, Met Office and newspapers were saying (it turns out she was wrong and they were all right).
Bathrooms are a good size. Every bathroom in the hotel has a copper free standing roll-top bath. Separate shower had an 18 inch “rain” shower head which was a bit feeble, and a separate wall mounted / hand held shower with more oomph. Underfloor heating. Mitchell & Peach toiletries were nothing special. Good heavy fluffy big towels, and robes.
I slept well, until I was woken by one of the staff delivering newspapers to the rooms or collecting breakfast orders (at about 6am or earlier). The stairs in the stable blocks have wood flooring (presumably to cater for muddy boots) which means that they can be noisy.
Breakfast was good. Good black pudding and excellent, crispy bacon. Didnt use spa, nor tennis, riding etc.
All in all an enjoyable stay. I wish it well. I hope that with all the creams, taupes, and leather fittings etc that it doesn’t start looking tatty after a bit of wear and tear.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Voyager212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ascot
5.2 mi away
Pennyhill Park, an Exclusive Hotel & Spa
2.0 mi away
Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Royal Berkshire Hotel
Royal Berkshire Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sunninghill
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 17 in Windsor
2,222 reviews
3.2 mi away
Great Fosters
Great Fosters
#1 of 5 in Egham
1,042 reviews
5.4 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coworth Park - Dorchester Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coworth Park - Dorchester Collection

Property: Coworth Park - Dorchester Collection
Address: Blacknest Road, Ascot SL5 7SE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Ascot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ascot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Coworth Park - Dorchester Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax from the moment you discover Coworth Park's picturesque parkland. This luxurious country house hotel on the borders of Windsor Great Park is high-end style without the stuffiness. It's an idyllic place for a romantic retreat and a favourite with families seeking a relaxing break with a dash of adventure. An understated palette of subtle colours lends an air of calm to the spacious rooms and suites. For Georgian style with an eccentric decorative flair, stay in the Mansion House. If you prefer a little more seclusion, opt for the self-contained converted Stables and Cottages. Restaurant Coworth Park's Best of British menu shows true passion for the finest locally-sourced seasonal ingredients. If it's comfort food you favour, sample The Barn's rustic charm where diners are more than welcome to keep their muddy boots on. Take part in quintessentially English activities such as tennis, croquet, go horse riding or take polo lessons with Guards Polo Club on one of Coworth Park's two professional polo fields. Head to the luxury spa for a refreshing swim in the inviting indoor pool, work out in the gym or indulge in a relaxing treatment like an aromatherapy massage. Having worked up an appetite, enjoy a healthy bite to eat and a chilled glass of champagne at The Spatisserie. Coworth Park Spa won Best Hotel with Spa 2015 by Conde Nast Johansens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Coworth Park - Dorchester Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coworth Park Hotel Ascot
Coworth Park - Dorchester Collection Berkshire/Ascot

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing