We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of City Lodge

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
City Lodge
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good location value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

I stayed there for a couple of days over the summer solstice. The room was small and didn't have a great view, but it was comfortable, quiet and clean enough (I could have used a change of teaspoons). The only thing that wasn't too great was that there were no power sockets by the bedside, but only a couple about a meter away from the foot of the bed.
Location is ideal - 15' walking from the train station and about 5' away from the Cathedral. A stop of the tour bus to Stonehenge is even closer.
Staff was helpful: they proactively assigned me a room in the back because it was more quiet there, and provided me with a map with direction to the Boston Tea Party café when I asked where to go for breakfast, since it is not served on site, and it was a good choice.
I appreciated having bottled water, apples ad cookies on the tea tray on my arrival.
I would say it's good value for money. Salisbury and Stonehenge can be comfortably visited in a couple of days, so one doesn't need to stay very long.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank faerie_queene87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    121
    64
    24
    20
See reviews for
25
132
43
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stayed here for a night before heading to the Chalke Valley History Festival. The location is very central for exploring Salisbury on foot which we really enjoyed doing - lovely place. Parking was easy with a multi-storey very close by and with no charge overnight or on Sundays. The receptionist was very welcoming and helpful.

We had a room at the back of the hotel which was very quiet even on a saturday night. Our double room was spotless as was the bathroom. The room was well equipped and very comfortable. The provison of biscuits and fruit was a lovely and welcome touch to banish the early morning munchies before heading off in search of breakfast.

At £60 for a double room on a Saturday night we felt we had had excellent value for money and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back - no nightclub noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emm78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

My wife and I were here for a few days recovery after the solstice party. It was great. Excellent Service, wonderful staff. Great location. We would stay here again. The solstice was not to be missed.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kihcrag L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed here for one night after seeing Stonehenge and were really pleased with the hotel, clean, modern, comfortable and conveniently located with lots of parking nearby, Staff were friendly and helpful, fantastic value for money... Had no problems with noise at all, would recommend for short stays.

Room Tip: We stayed in room one, ground floor and at the back of the hotel so no noise from highstreet etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

If your are going to Salisbury for a nice relaxing vacation this is not the hotel for you but if you are just doing 1 night to see Stonehenge it is great, a lot cheaper than the other hotels in the area.The hotel is conveniently located and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was average for the price it isn't dirty or anything but it is an older building, however the bathroom was updated and clean! The only downside to the Hotel are the paper thin walls, YOU CAN HEAR EVERYTHING, all night long.

Tips-
Try the Kings Head Pub- Cheap good food and great atmosphere! This is part of a chain of pubs called Wetherspoon pubs in the U.K. Each with their own individual name. Once we ate here we ate at a Wetherspoon pub almost every day we were in the U.K.
Also try the apple donut at Reeve's the baker!!!!!!!!! It was perfection, and only 1 pound.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tardis03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

Really pokey rooms with cardboard walls and a nightclub bang opposite that kicks out at 3am so all I could hear was thumping followed by noisy guests coming in at 3 and people in the street... think I got about 2 hours sleep in a row max. Cant open window properly so was stuffy and the noise was dredful.. Worst part is im stuck here for another 2 nights because they took all my money upfront at checkin. Has ruined my weekend away and I cant wait to go home!! Oh and they say on the website that they have on street parking. This is a lie... you get an hour at £1.40!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Petitemoi18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityLodge2, General Manager at City Lodge, responded to this review, January 12, 2016
Dear Sir/ Madam,
Thank you for your review, we always appreciate guest feedback.
City Lodge Hotel is located right in the town centre with bars and restaurants on the door steps. Yes, it can be noisy on occasion at the front of the hotel however we have plenty rooms available on the back where you can’t hear the noise from the street. Those rooms could be pre booked contacting us directly.
We are more than happy to provide parking option upon request via email or over phone. Best option would be to use the 24h multi storey car park on the Culver Street (2 min walk from City Lodge Hotel)free from 3pm until 8a.m. On street parking right in front the Hotel is free from 6pm. Also there is an open public car park on the Brown Street free from 6pm.
We provide all the necessary information on our website like possible noise issues if the room in facing main street and we clearly state that we don’t provide any meals including breakfast. There are tea and coffee facilities with complementary biscuits, water and fresh apples on arrival. Also we are more than happy to help you with breakfast arrangements especially as some of the restaurants offer varies discounts for our guests.
It’s hard for us to deals with the issues if there are not raised at the time. Our aim is to make our guests comfortable during their stay. We can move guests in to a different room on the back of the hotel, we also offer ear plugs on request if we haven’t got any other rooms to move you.
We advise our guest to book the rooms directly with us so we can meet your expectation better and discuss all the options over the phone or via email.
Once again thank you for your feedback and I really hope you will visit us again.
Best Regards,
Agnieszka Z., General Manager at City Lodge Salisbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Salisbury hotels

Dawlish, Devon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

Nice easy going hotel, bang in the middle of Salisbury.
Plenty of rooms all clean & tidy........
Only downside for some may be is no breakfast !
Oh, and other problem, parking is a nightmare in this town !
Parking is limited to 'residents only' everywhere or 1 hour max on street.
Turn left out of hotel and take 2nd right before bridge, small road takes you to
entrance for multi-storey car park...... free between 6pm and 8am but make sure
you put ticket on car at 8am or you're gonna get done

Good priced hotel £59.95 for twin or double
£39.95 on a Sunday....... Can't argue with that.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KingBri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.3 mi away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel
BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel
#10 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#12 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
4.1 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#9 of 16 in Salisbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.7 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#7 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge

Property: City Lodge
Address: 33 Milford Street, Salisbury SP1 2AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — City Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within a recently beautifully refurbished and redecorated 15th century building, this hotel provides comfortable, modern accommodation in the heart of Salisbury, within easy walking distance of all that the town has to offer. City Lodge provides 25 non-smoking newly redecorated bedrooms with brand new Hypnos beds, en suite bedrooms, with both a bath and power shower, flat-screen digital TV with 32 free digital TV and radio channels, and free wireless internet access. City Lodge has a 24-hour reception for your comfort. Stonehenge is just 20 minutes' drive and Old Sarum is only 2.5 Miles away. New Forest National Park can be reached in 40 minutes by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your City Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing