We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and clean”
Review of City Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
City Lodge
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cheap and clean”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Very good considering the price. The room was small, but clean and comfortable,and had a good night's sleep despite being opposite at least 2 nightclubs. It's a shame that they don't provide any food, but at least they provided a decent amount of milk to have with tea and coffee. It's in a great location for shopping and sightseeing and would probably stay again if they can sort out the TV signal and wi-fi.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Debbie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    128
    66
    29
    23
See reviews for
27
144
45
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic priced room right in walking distance to the shops, pubs, clubs and restaurants.
Room was good, although a little cold, but the staff were helpful with extra blankets.
We were In a back room so didn't experience any noise, except for the heavy footed guests in the room upstairs!
Would definitely stay again if visiting Salisbury again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Great value for money. Very clean and comfortable, nice white cotton bedding.
Staff very helpful. Would thoroughly recomend and will use again. Tea coffee and biscuits
provided. Nice en suite bathshower room, towels could be a bit larger but adequate.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roadrunner791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I stayed on Jan 17 for one night. The location is excellent. It is indeed very closed to the coach station and within easy walk to the city centre and the Cathedral. The room is also very clean and neat.

Note that wifi is not available in all rooms. I spoke to the receptionist who claimed it was a signal issue and suggested that I connect at the reception before going back to my room. It still didn't work that I ended up checking email at the reception area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bettyw2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Wasn't sure what to expect when we saw the outside as it Is right opposite a night club but the inside was fine. Friendly receptionist and the rooms were very clean and comfortable. Bathroom nice too. Towels a bit small but sufficient. Water, tea, coffee, biscuits and apples in the room is a nice touch.
If staying during the week I reckon it would be fine anywhere in the hotel, but if staying on a Friday or Saturday definitely ask for the quieter rear rooms if you are a light sleeper. We had a front room on a Saturday and the music was still banging away at 5am!
We had a great price and would recommend it as a simple, clean, comfortable stop over and good base for exploring Salisbury but just be aware of the noise and if you go clubbing it's perfect for you!

Room Tip: Room at the back unless your a party animal and will be coming in late or won't mind the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpktrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I stayed at City lodge because I had to be in Salisbury early on a Monday morning for work. I booked via laterooms.com and got a very decent rate of £29.95 for a double room.
The accommodation was small but neat and tidy, the bathroom was suitably equipped and the bed was very comfortable. My main negative point was that I couldn't get the wifi to work at all, though I was at the back of the hotel so perhaps that was just my room.
The staff were friendly and helpful, and I would recommend this hotel if you are in the area on business and just need a clean, quiet place to sleep for the night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMayAtem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

My husband and I just wanted a bed for the night as we were only in Salisbury for a short break. We paid £38 through Booking.com. There was a problem with the tv in the first room they gave us but we were moved to another room as it would not be possible to get it fixed.
The room was clean and the beds comfortable, just annoying to have the room lit up all night with the blue light on the tv which is on stand-by all night & you can't turn it off. (If we ever go back we would use plasters to stick over the light)
The towels are rather small and we only had two which were small bath sized, I would suggest that people take their own. The metal rack they were sat on in the bathroom was rusty underneath.
The young lady on the reception desk was friendly when we arrived, in the morning there was a different person and we just gave in our key card and said goodbye she took the key and said goodbye and we left.
Over all I would say we got what we paid for and would recommend it to anyone who wants just an overnight stay.

Room Tip: no choice of room you get what they give you
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elemand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.1 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#13 of 16 in Salisbury
396 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#11 of 16 in Salisbury
284 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
#10 of 16 in Salisbury
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
0.5 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#5 of 16 in Salisbury
760 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Old Mill Hotel
The Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harnham
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge

Property: City Lodge
Address: 33 Milford Street, Salisbury SP1 2AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — City Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within a recently beautifully refurbished and redecorated 15th century building, this hotel provides comfortable, modern accommodation in the heart of Salisbury, within easy walking distance of all that the town has to offer. City Lodge provides 25 non-smoking newly redecorated bedrooms with brand new Hypnos beds, en suite bedrooms, with both a bath and power shower, flat-screen digital TV with 32 free digital TV and radio channels, and free wireless internet access. City Lodge has a 24-hour reception for your comfort. Stonehenge is just 20 minutes' drive and Old Sarum is only 2.5 Miles away. New Forest National Park can be reached in 40 minutes by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your City Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing