We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Let down by their Pad Thai!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Thai Orchid

Thai Orchid
Ranked #16 of 268 Restaurants in Salisbury
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Romantic, Special occasions, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Let down by their Pad Thai!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Went here after I couldn't decide on which was the best Thai place in Salisbury. We have just moved here and had an amazing Thai restaurant where we used to live. I checked out the website and all looked good, so I booked a table. When we got there it was a lovely atmosphere and the lady who was our waitress was lovely and a big smile on her face. When we looked at the menu we didnt see the two courses for £10 which I remembered seeing on the website, so we asked and they produced a smaller menu with the offer (guess this is something they try to keep back only for people in the know!) The chicken skewers were nice and came very quickly. Then for the mains, we ordered chicken pad thai which is usually a sticky sweet and quite dry noodle dish... well this one tasted like noodles which had ketchup through it and lots of sauce- not like any I've ever had so we were pretty dissapointed. We told the guy who took it away as it was soooo tomato ketchup flavour and he made an excuse to do with something about pinapple :-O not a usual ingredient in pad thai... strange! The other mains were ok we had the duck which was really tasty and the beef which was just ok. All in all it was quite enjoyable, but we are continuing our hunt for an authentic Pad ThaI and probably wouldnt go back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenjenjens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    87
    10
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
110 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Thai Orchid-great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

I loved the food at the thai orchid in Salisbury .I had the chicken curry and my friend had the lamb one.really good food and the decor was quite nice,very comfy and how they served the food was so cute.Will definitely go back when I visit England again

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rose L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautifully presented delicious Thai cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

This little gem is easy to miss but should not be. Tucked behind the Salisbury Playhouse it offers incredibly good value authentic Thai dishes at a very reasonable price and waitresses who seemed pleased to serve. During the weekdays it's possible to have a 2 course meal for £12 per person on one of their offers. I am surprised at Leemob's review it's certainly not our experience but then perhaps if you have eaten in Thailand you may agree... I have not. But it is certainly worth a try.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Esther N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very average food and costly”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were rather disappointed with the food due to the lack of authenticity, small portions and costly menu. The starters were all pre-prepared and the main courses lacked fresh ingredients - a bit of an expensive let down for us

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pebblehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Regulars”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

We go here every time we go out in Salisbury. Really good Thai food, good service, nice atmosphere and a reasonable price. It's quite small so you can get overpowered by louder groups, but there's a good feeling there. Coconut prawns particularly good. Try it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank The_Travel_Bunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Orchid also viewed

Salisbury, Wiltshire
Salisbury, Wiltshire
 
Salisbury, Wiltshire
 
Salisbury, Wiltshire
 

Been to Thai Orchid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing