We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super Italian!”

Il Restaurant Alpino
Ranked #61 of 269 Restaurants in Salisbury
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Family Owned Italian restaurant in Salisbury city centre. Serving Traditional home style Italian Cuisine
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Super Italian!”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Don't be put off by the unprepossessing appearance.

There is just a door on the street leading up to the restaurant and it looks a little run-down from outside. But the food is absolutely superb, the prices a very pleasant surprise and the service excellent. I would definitely go again next time I'm in Salisbury.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank B1iggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    48
    15
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ripped off!!”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We went for a family meal with a party of 12. Knowing we didn't have a lot of money to spend, we told our kids not to order a starter, and kept an eye on the drinks tab too. When it came to paying, we attempted to split the bill but the owner caused a lot of confusion and wouldn't allow us to sit down with a menu and work it out. We thought we had probably overpaid for our share, and now we are home and have worked it out, we realise we have been charged 50% more than our bill should have been. We've heard this had happened to other people who have tried to split their bill here so beware!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 0wlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Italian in Salisbury- Not a chain for once!!”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Have eaten here a couple of times, and always find the food lovely and great value for money. Decor is really outdated, but I like that about it, they're not trying to be something they're not. Nice to have an Italian which isn't a chain as Salisbury has quite a few of them! Staff sit you in the bar area where you can have a drink and look at the menu, and take your order, they take you to your table when the food is ready, which is a nice way to do things. Don't be fooled by its appearance, it's a great little place!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank goatinaboat44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very very poor. Expensive, but cheap. Terrible food.”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Wanted a reasonably priced Italian family restaurant for a birthday celebration. Party of 10, including 4 kids. All had main courses and starters, 2 bottles of wine drunk, kids had dessert. Bill £290! Cheap it ain't. Wouldn't have minded paying except: food was overcooked and bland, restaurant had table of 30 drunk middle-agers having a good time, swearing and shouting, and another table of 4 where one diner was so drunk he fell over. Then his partner got up and shouted to the whole restaurant "Oi! That waitress isn't Italian, she's 'Ungarian!"... On top, they got the order wrong twice and then brought it to the table not all at the same time, so some had finished before others had got theirs. Despite making us order our meals in the very dingy little bar below before we even sat down in the dining room. On the topic of the bar - resembled a skanky drinkers bar circa 1976, not the sort of place to give a first impression of your restaurant. Loos were filthy, broken and smelly, and that was at the beginning of the evening. Anyone who likes this restaurant is bonkers. Avoid.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank from_hants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Have walked past many times - should have gone in sooner!”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Just had a lovely lunch at Alpino. The entrance is rather dire and the decor dated, which is kinda what has put me off going in before. However, ignore all that and get ready for a warm welcome at an authentic Italian restaurant. The food was wonderfully simple and tasty, just what I would have expected. I had the calamari which had the lightest batter and was cooked to perfection, my partner had a delicious stonebaked pizza. It is really reasonably priced. Will definitely be going back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Restaurant Alpino also viewed

Salisbury, Wiltshire
 
Salisbury, Wiltshire
 

Been to Il Restaurant Alpino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing