We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tepid”
Review of Strada - Salisbury - CLOSED

Strada - Salisbury
Price range: $19 - $32
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Since opening its doors in March 2007, Strada Salisbury has proven hugely popular with both locals and visitors to the area. The restaurant overlooks the market place and is within easy walking distance from the Salisbury Playhouse and Salisbury Cathedral. Strada Salisbury is a part of the well-known group of contemporary Italian restaurants located on the high street serving good quality, simple, freshly prepared dishes using the finest seasonal produce available. The menus offer hand stretched pizzas, fresh pastas and risotto, as well as grilled meat and fish dishes.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Tepid”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We called in here on a busy Saturday lunchtime and even though the restaurant was fairly full we were able to get a table.

Being lunchtime we did not want starters or puddings but both of us had the Pollo Funghi main course. One meal was served on a barely warm plate and was not very hot but the other was what could only be described as tepid on a totally cold plate. Perhaps foolishly we decided to eat what had been provided rather than send it back and have to wait for replacements.

It was a shame the food was not hot as it really was very tasty and could have been even better at a more appropriate temperature.

I did mention the concern to our very attentive waiter when he asked if we were enjoying our food and after feeling the cold plate he understood what we were saying. Of course he offered to replace the meals but as I said earlier we declined. I asked though that he mention it to the chef.

When the bill came an adjustment had been made to recognise the problem and this whilst only to be expected was nevertheless appreciated.

Hopefully this was a 'one off' mistake. It has meant though that another time we will probably give the Salisbury La Strada a miss.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank kaleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    67
    40
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Don't bother pre-booking!”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

I booked a table for a special meal with a friend - booked on 18.10.12 for meal on 1.12.12, just to be sure of getting a table on a Saturday night. First problem - no reservation in their diary! Proved it by showing them my text confirmation and then they found us a table. Next problem - table was right near the entrance to a 'backroom' area and it was freezing sitting there. The lighting was very odd too - I was under a bright spotlight and my friend was in deep shade - could hardly see their face! We asked if we could move and they did accommodate this, but next table was close to some double glass doors which had a big draughty gap down the middle, so not much warmer than the previous one, but couldn't be bothered to move again. Next problem - my starter of mushrooms and polenta (supposedly grilled) was more likely to have been zapped in a microwave and it was completely tasteless - no point eating it really, so I didn't after a couple of mouthfuls! The polenta was like slabs of yellow play-doh or chunks of school eraser - yukky! The main courses were better and my dessert was really nice - tiramisu. However, my friend had the vanilla pannacotta, which was supposed to be served with a coulis and exotic fruits, but was just encircled by about 5 or 6 raspberries - not very exotic, we thought! On the plus side, our waiter (Matt B.) was great, the gin & tonics were fab and the meal cost us very little as we used Tesco Clubcard Reward vouchers to pay for most of the food! The Xmas decorations looked beautiful. So apart from going home feeling a bit like we'd just had a meal outside rather than inside, on a cold December evening, it wasn't too bad, but we won't be hurrying back!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TJP1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Average is not the full picture”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We had popped into Strada during the day to book a table prior to a show. A very friendly waiter wrote our name down. Having wandered around Salisbury we returned to the restaurant a little earlier than we had expected. At this point we encountered a woman member of staff who I can only describe as hostile - when we announced we had a table booked for pm but were a little early, she audibly 'huffed' saying she had a table but we'd have to wait while she cleared up. We excused ourselves for 20 minutes to give time ( this despite numerous tables for 2 being available) for her to clear the table. When we returned, the table she had indicated was still as it was. There was no recognition - oh, were you the table for 6? was all we got. No smile, no apology. It implied somehow it was all our fault. We continued to be served by the friendly male waiter who was trying his best but by now our visit was slightly tainted. The food took ages to come, although it was very well cooked. We would have had dessert but it had taken so long that we ran out of time. I asked for a glass of tap water - obviously not a priority as it never came. Having recently returned from France where 2 or 3 staff can keep an entire restaurant full of people happy and satisfied, we were disappointed. All in all, a bit uncomfortable.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lou1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abertillery
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“More than just pasta”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Very good range of Italian dishes well presented and tasty, very efficient and friendly staff. Decided to give this restaurant a try as we had been to the Odeon cinema and on the back of the tickets was a main meal offer for £2.50 when purchased with a full price meal, other offers are available if you don't go to the Odeon all of which provided value for money, highly recommended.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Pretentious idea”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We have often had a good lunch here whilst shopping in Salisbury and have always enjoyed the food. Today we were very disappointed as we had what looked like part of a pizza, with a pile of salad on it, served on a tile of slate! We both hate pretentious things like this and they were tricky for the waiter to lift. The slate was horrid to cut on and must be difficult to clean! I wonder why these people don't realise that plates were invented for a purpose, both in shape and material. The food was tasteless and only the very pleasant waiter cheered us up. He wasn't impressed either we felt!
Srada please think this through and serve good food properly again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scribbleboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Strada - Salisbury also viewed

 
Salisbury, Wiltshire
 
Quidhampton, Salisbury
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing