We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic traditional tavern” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Haunch of Venison

Haunch of Venison
Reserve with OpenTable
Haunch of Venison is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 264 Restaurants in Salisbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $21
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Drinks, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: One of the city's most historic pub, and listed on CAMRA's National Inventory as one of the most historic interiors in the UK, The Haunch is packed with history, reputedly haunted by the ghost of the cheating card player, whose mummified hand is displayed in the upper 'House of Lords' Bar, with the snug 'Horsebox' allegedly the meeting place of Churchill and Eisenhower whilst planning the D-Day landings! With a spacious first floor restaurant, and a recent ownership change, The Merchant's House dining room on the first floor (entrance through pub) features a contemporary British menu specializing in local ingredients which include our famous venison casserole, superb selection of local meats and fish. Complemented with a specialist whiskey list, fine wine list and local hand - pulled real ales, as well as very friendly service, The Haunch is a definite 'must see' on your visit to Salisbury!
Braughing, Ware United Kingdom
Level Contributor
764 reviews
309 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
“Fantastic traditional tavern”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

If you like real ale with attitude, visit the haunch. Lovely real ales served in the traditional way in gorgeous surroundings. Lovely old, small rooms with open fires and low ceilings. All you could ever want. Just lovley.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank ChefCliveM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    166
    42
    35
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“great find!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

We had the early bird menu which was not as was stated in the window. portions were small but absolutely delicious, we had the 3 course menu (before 7pm) wine was a bit pricey but we would still revisit, quirkey delightful little gem of a place

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fayesnanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“December Treat!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

We were visiting Salisbury for the New Year and visited the Haunch for dinner on 30th December 2013. I booked the table for 6 (three couples) via email - quite painless and simple and Tracey was very helpful (including giving us directions from our hotel).

On the night we arrived on time - there was only one other table booked (which we found quite surprising) but the open fire was lit and all was well.

The food was excellent - we all went for the £25 set Christmas meal, excellent value. The service was attentive but unobtrusive (Tracey was quite happy to take photos for us).

All in all a very nice evening with a great meal. I would be happy to visit again

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rainbowsix1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sad”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

We went here for a family lunch last new year. It was quiet but there was a roaring log fire. This year we returned. We were the only people there and there was no fire - infact without a coat on it was rather cold. The food was fine, although perhaps a little more expensive than one would have thought. It just seemed like a sad place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MignonetteEtheldreda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hedge End, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Xmas Meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

Attended a work's evening meal (about 12 people in total). Food was of a very high standard...and hot! All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We sat upstairs and had the room to ourselves. All in all, a great night out.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haunch of Venison also viewed

 
Salisbury, Wiltshire
Salisbury, Wiltshire
 

Been to Haunch of Venison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing