We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb food, service mediocre” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hox Brasserie - CLOSED

Hox Brasserie
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $22
Cuisines: Indian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Buffet, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Salisbury, UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Superb food, service mediocre”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

It's been a couple of years since we have eaten at Hox.

The food remains superb, but service was disappointing (I heard people at a table close to is complaining).

Although it was pretty quiet in the restaurant, the waiters were just not attentive enough and we even had to ask to get our coats back after paying and before departing.

Perhaps it was an off night...

Helpful?
Thank Newton_Tony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    66
    16
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Nice place to visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

Every time Me and my friends visit Hox it gets better and better, the food is Halal and the biriyani and the dry chicken Tikka I have it's excellent. Keep the good work.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Abdulrahman2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Out of town visitors who know exquisite food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Each meal we had was exquisite! Compliments to the Chef!! We are from Staffordshire. Birmingham and our surrounding areas are full off all sorts and varieties of excellent restaurants in Cosmopolitan Indian and Asian foods full of spices and exciting flavours. This restaurant is one of the best we have encountered on our travels for interesting food. The surrounds are comfortable, very relaxing and more to the point each meal was exquisite.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Good food at a reasonable price, a cheaper alternative to other more expensive Asian restaurants in town.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“very enjoyable evening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Very good food, plesant atmosphere, very busy but service was a bit slow seemed short on staff.So misses out on 5 stars

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mark w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hox Brasserie also viewed

Salisbury, Wiltshire
 
Salisbury, Wiltshire
 
Salisbury, Wiltshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing