We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming”
Review of Bernieres Tea Room

Bernieres Tea Room
Ranked #12 of 20 Coffee & Tea in Salisbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Small family owned and run tearooms offering morning coffee, light and main lunches and afternoon teas in the summer. Situated next to the military museum in Salisbury's Cathedral Close. Outside seating in summer. Sunday lunches require reservations and our cream teas are exceptional. Voted one of the best value establishments in the UK by Olive Magazine a few years ago.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very welcoming”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We arrived shortly before closing time but our waitress was very pleasant and friendly and brought our cream teas very quickly. Lovely quirky surroundings, great scones and very good service. Would come here again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 937KMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    26
    7
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fabulous food, friendly atmosphere, fantastic service and first class value for money”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Had lunch here on 11th September with my husband and dad. It was a spur of the moment decision as we were looking for a roast dinner and boy did we get an excellent roast lamb lunch. Beautifully cooked to perfection was the roast lamb accompanied by freshly cooked vegetables and accompaniments of mint sauce and redcurrant jelly.
The bread and butter pudding dessert was out of this world. So light and fluffy, hot and tasty.
An excellent place to eat and very popular. After we had taken our seats there were no seats left inside the restaurant. Would advise booking. A definite return visit will be on the cards when next in Salisbury and we will make sure we book!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndown, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cosy & friendly with good food at a reasonable price”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

although it was lunchtime when we called in & it was fairly busy they were happy to just serve us tea & teacakes which were yummy. The diners around us were tucking in to their chosen lunches & we heard several commenting on how tasty the dishes were. We will call back for sure for a proper lunch.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iam69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
480 reviews
260 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Delightful tea rooms in a great location”
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Pretty good value at £5 for a cream tea with two scones. Also plenty of jam and clotted cream....good to see when many places nowadays are so mean with their portion sizes nowadays. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Derek E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crediton
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Visited with friends on 21June - didn't intend to have lunch in Salisbury but saw the sign board in the Close and chanced our arm. Absolutely first class value. No pretensions but what you get is fresh food, home cooked and good quality at the right price. Friendly service and what a great site. Will become a regular

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Morchardbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bernieres Tea Room also viewed

 

Been to Bernieres Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing