We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern, contemporary B&B”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of 2 Park Lane

2 Park Lane
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
2 Park Lane
Ranked #28 of 58 Salisbury B&B and Inns
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
205 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Modern, contemporary B&B”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed for just one night at 2 Park Lane at the start of our holiday which we had booked online. It's a modern yet contemporary B&B about 20-25 minute walk from the centre of Salisbury with a very convenient, large car park to the rear of the property. It's down an unadopted rather bumpy road which is very easy to miss - if you do miss it and take the next turning, you have to bump along it much further than if you do see the turning!

Nat met us in the car park and very kindly let us check in much earlier than anticipated which was a real bonus.

We had booked a Superior room, which was very nice and spotlessly clean with a comfy chair and Fairtrade refreshment tray, but I'm afraid we were both somewhat underwhelmed to discover that WiFi was an extra (rather expensive) charge at £5 per night and that despite it being a superior room there were only bath towels in the very large and otherwise beautifully done en-suite bathroom. We couldn't help but think that if you've paid the extra money for a superior room then it would be good if these 'luxury' items were included.

Nat was really helpful with directions into town and we had a lovely walk along the river into the centre where we climbed the Cathedral Spire - an amazing view from the top and a great dinner at a lovely Indian restaurant later that night.

Unfortunately we didn't sleep very well as despite having the sash window as wide open as possible, we were just far too hot - the bed was very comfortable but the 10.5 tog duvet was just too heavy for July in our opinion. We did mention this in the morning, and we appreciate that some people say it's too hot and some say it's too cold, however in July we both think that a 4.5 tog duvet with the option of a nice blanket or too would solve the problem.

Breakfast was good, the choices that we had made on a little sheet the night before were very well cooked and presented.

In summary, this is a spotlessly clean, professionally run B&B which could give most hotels a run for their money - I would describe it more as being run as a 'proper business' rather than a 'chatty over your breakfast 'what are you going to do today duck'' kind of B&B.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tinkerbell013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    22
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
45
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Wales
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Very clean & comfortable house run by Helen & Nat Cole who happily welcome you to their home & can give local directions & recommendations. Lovely white linen & towels & excellent shower in our en-suite. 2 Park Lane has private parking to the rear & is only a 15 - 20 minute walk into Salisbury via Victoria Park & along the River Avon. Stonehenge is only a 15 minute drive to the north.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsLSouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

No 2 Park Lane is in a perfect location for a stroll into Salisbury town centre. Opposite Victoria park perfect for a stroll or if you are active enough a run in the morning/evening (subject to british weather)
Bedrooms reasonable size, one negative is that the beds were not too comfortable (bit springy) bathroom smallish but adequate. Breakfast room very clean and light and the food is spot on. Helen and Nat are wonderful hosts and extremely accommodating. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Everything was perfect in this clean, bright and modern B&B, with its very welcoming hosts. Comfortable and modern room. Clean pure white bathroom. Delicious healthy cooked breakfast. Private parking at rear of house.
We highly recommend this B&B to anyone wishing to stay in Salisbury.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GisellaFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
high wycombe
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 10, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights and the service was excellent. Rooms clean, bright, airy and very comfortable. Our room had a bath and shower and after a lot of walking a bath was very welcoming. Breakfast was excellent. Helen was very informative on places to eat and how to get to the town. Both Nat and Helen was very welcoming and friendly and would highly recommend this hotel to all our friends.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HighWycombeAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Only spent one night, but the room was lovely and the staff (Nat) was very friendly and accommodating. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L8nmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 7, 2012

I’ve stayed in Salisbury numerous times and I must have stayed in most of the guest houses and hotels. This place has the warmest welcome, cleanest rooms, nicest breakfast and with Nat being a Personal Trainer in the local gym, there isn’t an ounce of grease on the excellent breakfast. The times that I didn’t stay in 2 Park Lane were because they were full and I had to go elsewhere. The guest house is located 10minutes walk out of the busy centre that gives you chance to walk your dinner off and has its own off road parking. Most off the other hotels in the centre of Salisbury don’t have car parking and you have to leave your car on the high street or a public car park. These central hotels also provide you with earplugs for sleeping as it does get busy and noisy on the high street later on at night; but there is no need for those at 2 Park Lane because it is of the main road and set back a little with the local park in front of it.

Well done, Nat and Helen and many thanks for your great hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren-Stockport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
1.4 mi away
The Old Mill Hotel
The Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harnham
249 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
0.5 mi away
Sarum Heights
Sarum Heights
#23 of 58 in Salisbury
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The White Lodge
The White Lodge
#8 of 8 in Salisbury
6 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Edwardian Lodge Guest House
0.2 mi away
Avonlea House
Avonlea House
#4 of 58 in Salisbury
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 2 Park Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 2 Park Lane

Property: 2 Park Lane
Address: 2 Park Lane, Salisbury SP1 3NP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — 2 Park Lane 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 Park Lane is an elegant, warm and welcoming family run guesthouse within walking distance of Salisbury city centre. The beautiful Victorian house overlooks Victoria Park down a quiet lane off the A345. Beautifully refurbished where unique styling of modern contemporary meets Victorian elegance. Park Lane is an ideal choice for both leisure and business travelers alike. 2 Park Lane has six comfortable en-suite rooms with flat screens TVs and broadband wireless connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your 2 Park Lane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing