We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Alabare House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alabare House
Ranked #33 of 58 Salisbury B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 30, 2008

Alabare House is a Christian retreat center in Salisbury that also offers bed and breakfast rooms. Our room was a family room and it was large and pleasant with a view of the cathedral from th window. Breakfast was good. This was an excellent location for walking into town from . . . we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank pearlie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 71 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2007

I found this property by searching some B&B website, then went to the hotel's own site for more info. When I discovered it was a retreat house that rented rooms out when not hosting retreats, I was sold. This wouldn't be a good choice for party animals, but if you're Catholic, it's a must-do.

We stayed in Wessex Room, a double with en-suite bathroom. It was huge by English standards, good-sized by American standards.

While the hotel looks a bit out-of-the-way, the maps don't show the pedestrian undercrossing that makes a good shortcut to the train station. We took a cab ride there for under six pounds because it was raining hard, but walked around town and back to the train station.

Stayed: February 2007
4  Thank Richard320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2006

We booked this guest house via the tourist information office at the train station in Salisbury. We were told it was a Christian facility, but had no conference going on right now. Being heathens, we were a little hesitant but in a hurry to find a room. The price was reasonable, but not cheap. When we checked in we learned that we would be charged 5% extra for using a credit card. Our room was huge, comfortable, and very clean. The bathroom contained a bottle of liquid hand soap. That was the sum total of amenities provided--not even a bar of soap! Location was actually quite handy to Salisbury sights, bus and train stations. With luggage it was best to take a taxi from the train station. We found the owner who checked us in to be a bit distant, but he did warm up at breakfast time next day. Breakfast was full English and quite good. Generally, it was very quiet, being set back off the street. Our room was on the second floor not far from the entryway and facing the driveway. Except for latecomers who talked outside the entry and cars on the crushed stone, it really was quiet.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dincy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank elconey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
Thank noeliazul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank JessB2B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Cobocu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterSalisbury_UK, Assistant Manager at Alabare House, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2015
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.8 mi away
Peartree Serviced Apartments Salisbury
0.3 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#13 of 16 in Salisbury
565 reviews
1.0 mi away
Websters Bed and Breakfast
Websters Bed and Breakfast
#9 of 58 in Salisbury
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
St Ann's House B&B
St Ann's House B&B
#27 of 58 in Salisbury
20 reviews
0.5 mi away
Qudos Hotel
Qudos Hotel
#16 of 58 in Salisbury
266 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Huntsman Tavern
#52 of 58 in Salisbury
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alabare House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alabare House

Address: 15 Tollgate Road, Salisbury SP1 2JA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Salisbury
Price Range: $90 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alabare House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer a warm and friendly Christian home. All rooms have TV and tea/coffee making facilities.Wi-Fi internet access available for guests with their own laptops.Set well back from the road and within easy walking distance of the Cathedral and City Centre. Cyclists welcome. Private parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Alabare House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing