We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Distinctly average”
Review of Qudos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Qudos Hotel
Ranked #13 of 58 Salisbury B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Cheap and cheerful option for an overnight stay in Salisbury. Our room was pretty basic and the decor had seen better days. The bar downstairs was good and live music was on. Probably not ideal if you want a quiet or early night (not a place to stay with children). Food was overpriced but tasty. Just OK!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graeme T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (263)
There are newer reviews for Qudos Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 263 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2012

We found Qudos ideal for visiting the centre of Salisbury as everything was nearby. The room was clean and the bed very comfortable as I had the best night's sleep in months! We were on the top floor which is a must if you do not want to hear the live music being played in the bar.

The only drawback was that the website I used to book the room stated the room had a hairdryer and refrigerator. The room did not have either and as breakfast was not offered; Clients might have chosen other accommodation. I certainly would have taken my hairdryer and not taken a coolbag with breakfast items to store in the fridge!

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor are quieter.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Val L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Great little hotel in Salisbury. When I arrived they'd given me a room on the top floor - just as I'd asked for. Views of the town from the windows, and located right in the middle of the town, just a few yards from the market square. Clean, nicely furnished and comfortable. You can also get parking for £5 a day. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor have good views across the town and are a bit quieter
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GHKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexmanager, Manager at Qudos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Many thanks for your kind words , we are glad the service was up to standard and you had a great stay in one of our rooms, hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I have been staying here for months, having tried many places in and around the city. Rooms are clean and comfortable, the beer is good, the food is smashing (Steakstones are an idea I never tire of), and if you want to run to something a bit more lavish there is a rather super Haut Medoc available from the wine list. The location is pretty much ideal, very handy for pubs and restaurants, and buses easily to hand. There are frequent live music events, and I have found the staff not only good at their jobs but also very friendly. For me, it's a real home from home. I heartily recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John_D_Salt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexmanager, General Manager at Qudos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Many thanks for your kind review. We encourage our team to not just serve, but go that extra mile and get to know the customers to make their stay as comfortable and relaxing as possible. We are glad you enjoy our steak stones as we think it is a unique and delicious dining experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I found Qudos very friendly clean and very compfy and attractive. Our room was very pleasant and spacious and the bed was awsome! The staff were very friendly and helpful and the bar was just right for a good night of music and entertainment by far. It is situated right in the centre of town and about 15 to 20 mins walk from the local train station, depends on how fast you walk. But all in all I would surly recommend this place to my friends and family. There are always plenty of places to eat out if your prefer, but they do have their own resturant. We had our meals out, but best to shop around for the bet deals of the day. Best advice,don't go to any dark lighted resturants!! Thank you Qudos, look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Ask your preference and size, or which floor you prefer as no lifts. Don't forget music night yo...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deniselikes20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexmanager, General Manager at Qudos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Many thanks for your kind review and we are glad to be of service. We hope you will consider us again for future visits to Salisbury.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed for one night at the Qudos , spacious room resonable price. The bar downstair had a good vibe .Parking only had 4 spaces but must reserve when booking but other paking available close by . Would stay there again

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tradav2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexmanager, General Manager at Qudos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments . We really appreciate guests taking the time to leave a review as it helps us to push the business forward and see how we are treating our guests. We are happy you had pleasant stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Ate here on the reccomendation of a friend. The service was very good and the meal was Brilliant. Wasnt sure about the Steak Stones when we ordered but was impressed and wil definately be coming back. Also nice to have a choice of real ales

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank JohnHopkirk182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexmanager, Manager at Qudos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Many thanks for your review, we are very happy to hear you enjoyed your steakstone meal. We also appreciate your comments on our real ales as we always try to keep a varied ,local choice of ales to compliment our menu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.2 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#13 of 16 in Salisbury
418 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
0.2 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#6 of 16 in Salisbury
782 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Lodge
City Lodge
#14 of 16 in Salisbury
318 reviews
0.8 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#8 of 16 in Salisbury
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Qudos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Qudos Hotel

Address: 38 Castle Street, Salisbury SP1 1BN, England (Formerly White Horse Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Salisbury
Price Range: $78 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Qudos Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Qudos, located right in the city centre is a quintessential Victorian Hotel which has recently been refurbished to a high standard, whilst retaining its original period charm. The downstairs has been extensively refurbished to provide a chic new bar and contemporary restaurant. Qudos proudly promotes the venue as unique having a dedicated area where musicians can come and perform playing all music styles from Blues to Jazz, Acoustic Rock to Classical music. We are a live music venue, so please note the music from the bands will be audible until midnight on Thursdays, Fridays and Saturdays. Residents are invited to enjoy all the music offered whilst being assured we keep strict guidelines on the times of the music to ensure the quiet enjoyment of our guests. Our rooms have recently been refurbished, boasting all of the modern amenities one would expect, whilst having the relaxed feel that one desires. Parking is extremely limited on site, however there is on street parking directly adjacent on Scots lane and the central car park is a 2 minute stroll, with free parking overnight between the hours of 6 pm and 8am, and daily parking from £7.40. We are able to offer pre-booked parking at a cost of £5 per car. Qudos is an excellent place from which to visit Salisbury and its surrounding countryside, whilst being able to sample some fantastic music in what is Salisbury's premier over 25's bar and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Qudos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qudos Hotel Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing