We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”
Review of King's Head Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
King's Head Inn
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Certificate of Excellence
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We read some of the reviews and were concerned but we thought it was excellent and were very glad that we ignored the moaning. The staff were friendly and helpful, the location was perfect and the room was a good size with a queen sized bed and roomy bathroom. Being able to drink and eat by the river was a bonus. We found it quiet even though we went to bed before the pub closed on one of the nights we stayed.

Room Tip: We were in 116 which had no view but was very quiet and suited us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janet p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    317
    102
    25
    31
See reviews for
124
396
57
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed for two nights Friday and Saturday 16/17 August. Very typical Lloyds Bar with Wetherlodge attached. Great value but if you are looking for a mid range hotel with a nationally available menu and drinks selection. Staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. Room was large but tired, with clean ensuite and shower. Good supply of hot water at all times. Well worth a second visit when in area. Lively bar after 9.00pm till late with disco. Very popular with locals.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room when booking if staying over a weekend
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynton B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

That last review is totally unfair. My wife and I were staying this weekend and saw everything. Yes there was an assault, but the first on the scene was a young bouncer who crouched near the victim and used his radio to contact others. Then two or three other bouncers attended, discussed things very briefly with witnesses including myself, and the bald one administered first aid. He was covered in blood as he crouched next to the victim, yet kept the victim conscious, kept checking his breathing and seemed to organise everything via his radio. My wife was outside smoking and saw bouncers run out and detain the other man. The bouncers outside called the police and ambulance on their radio. I don't see how it could have been handled better, yes two stood around speaking to us witnesses, but everything was under control and calm. I would definitely stay here again and drink in the pub.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank wiffers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I fancied something to eat on Sunday so ordered a Tuna Jacket potato. I had to give a table number but because I hadn't decided where to sit I had to rush off and pick a table. I read it upside down and thought it said 21 turned out there was a black paint mark over the 5 so it was really table 521 which seemed to cause more confusion.
MY food came promptly served with salad.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IssieBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Firstly the pub part of the hotel is horrible, yes its cheap however it is dirty and scruffy and the bar staff want to learn some manners!!!!!

More importantly i am writing this review about the hotel.

A friend and i came down to enjoy the solstice in july, however we had our two days away spoilt by rude and quite frankly apalling hospitality and managment.

We were not advised as when to check out and having had a three hour drive down to the hotel all we wanted to do was to crash out into the room before going out for lunch. so bearing this in mind we checked in and made sure when breakfast was served until which was 12pm.

We had a great day in salisbury and evening at the solstice however we both retired quite early and the next day went down for breakfast and as i said before though the breakfast itself was ok the surroundings left alot to be desired!!!!

On leaving our room we went to reception to hand in the key, where a very imature girl was on the telephone chatting, she didnt even acknowledge us!! we waited the best part of 10 minutes to finish the call, when finishing the call she then rudly told us that as we had not vacated the room at 11am that we were to pay £20, we apoligised and said that we were not aware that we had to leave at this time and knowone had specified this.... to which she replyed i dont think so we tell all our guests and the girl who was on when you checked in would of said so youve gotta pay it!!
apalled and embarrassed we apoligised again and said that we would like to see the manager as we had only stayed over 20mins and 10 mins of those was waiting for this girl to get off the phone.

The manager came and again we both felt we were both being put into a very awkward position both embarrasing and uneccessary.

Then another person thencame from knowhere and again shouting their mouths off..... told us we were to pay this money!!!!! £20 for a 10 minute overstay which was an accident as we didnt know we had to leave at 11am together with fact breakfast is served until 12pm is very misleading.

Can i just say the way inwhich we were spoken to was appalling and the appearance of these people who are supossed to be infront of house was disgracfull.

The air conditioning didnt work or they hadnt bothered putting it on, the room was unbearably hot and when we raised the issue with the gentleman in charge.. he just said SO its a warm night my flats hot get over it!!!!

I cannot believe we stayed in this god forsaken hole!!!!!!!

The manager said well lets leave it at that then and we went to leave as we understood he was going to for good customer relations waver the £20.... oooh no he wanted that money !!!

We took the number of head office and called them explaining the situation, the lady inwhich we spoke to was sympathetic and said she would sort it out..

Now ive just checked my bank account and i find that they have taken without my permission £20

I am reeling!!!!!! (1) we were told that the matter would be sorted and (2) what gives them the right to go into my account and take money im sure this is illegal apart from anything else.

I hope to get this money refunded asap!!!!

Please do not stay in this hotel unless you want to be spoken to as if your a piece of dirt and of course robbed not to mention stifled to death from the lack of air conditioning.

Can i just mention the rudness of one of the receptionist the day prior to this event, as we had never driven into salisbury before we called ahead for directions, anyone would of thought we had of asked for her kidney!!!

I do not want to see a wetherspoons again!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Just one night. If you don't have other options it's ok but not for more... Great location, that's true but not the cleanest hotel. If your room has views to the main room in Salisbury, take earplugs.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Poor website directions meant driving round the city twice before finding the hotel (which has no car park). Check in service friendly but slow. Told if we wanted to read the contract terms they were 40 pages long so just sign... Not a great advert!

Room large. Shower room minuscule. Both shabby and out dated. Comfy beds with good linen but lots of botched repairs, light fitting hanging off and writing on the basin lowered the standard; but it was the lack of any view from the window other than internal rooves, no air-con and worst: the loud, thudding, bass of incessant overnight that spoiled our stay.
Breakfast is the usual Wetherspoons' choice in the bar (unfortunately accompanied by the early morning drinkers) but good value.

Overall the accommodation and service were adequate for one night but not enough plus points to stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LegalEagle100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
0.2 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
#10 of 16 in Salisbury
986 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#9 of 16 in Salisbury
882 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#13 of 16 in Salisbury
412 reviews
0.4 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#6 of 16 in Salisbury
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King's Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Head Inn

Property: King's Head Inn
Address: 1 Bridge Street, Salisbury SP1 2ND, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — King's Head Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The site of this Wetherspoon pub has been occupied by an inn since the 15th century. By c1520, it was known as the King's Head, and it retained that name until it was rebuilt in the 1880s. The County Hotel was, itself, a change of name some time during the 1880s or 1890s. Before then, it was the Kings Head and Brewery. We have 33 individual bedrooms. All of our rooms are en suite and include tea- and coffee-making facilities, air conditioning, a hair dryer, TV and free Wi-Fi, also available in the pub. Please be aware that we are a Lloyds No 1 bar so we will be playing music in the pub from Thursday to Saturday nights. Limited quiet rooms are available so please telephone in advance to request one. We have no onsite parking but there is a city centre car park we recommend that is only a 3-5 minute walk away. You are able to stop on the pub entrance to unload your luggage before you go and park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your King's Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King`s Head Hotel Salisbury
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing