We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved this place!”
Review of Spire House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Spire House
Ranked #7 of 57 Salisbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
chicago, il
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“We loved this place!”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I decided to stay at Spire House based on reviews I read on Tripadvisor and am very happy I did. Four of us stayed in two rooms on the top floor and we were able to keep the doors open when we were not sleeping, so it was like a suite. The rooms at Spire House are super-cozy, beautifully decorated and very clean. Hosts Lois and John could not be nicer and more accommodating. The location is a short walk to the center of town and just across an old walled entrance to the area of the Salisbury Cathedral. The room I was in had a lovely view of the cathedral's spire (hence the name of the property). We also felt Spire House was a very good value for what we got--a beautiful, historic location without the impersonal feel of a larger hotel.Thank you John and Lois for helping make our stay in Salisbury a memorable one!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wander&wonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    76
    16
    1
    2
See reviews for
122
293
30
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dunstable
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely stay in this beautiful b&b. Breakfast very filing, rooms clean and interesting! Loads of books to read and bits to look at. Tea & coffee in rooms with fruit & chocolate biscuits. Easy walk into Salisbury and directed perfectly to local pubs, shops and the market by Lois. Will certainly come again!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MidwifeSharan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventnor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
236 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Wonderful welcome. Really comfortable, clean, quiet rooms that are beautifully decorated. Loads of extras such as fruit and chocolate bars. Right opposite the cathedral and very close to all the sho ps, bars and restaurants. Can not recommend it highly enough! Ideal for couples and families

Room Tip: We had a room at the back which was really quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corinne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We felt we lucked out finding this hidden gem. It was cheaper than the other options and had real character - with cosy corners, quirky decorations such as a teacup lamp as well as beautifully elegant wallpaper.
We were made to feel really welcome and were given some brilliant tips of how to make the most of our stay and the breakfast was fab.
If there was a complaint it would be the main road outside was pretty busy but this also meant you were as stones throw from the Cathedral and can see the famous spire from some of the rooms.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 13, 2013

As soon as we arrived at the Spire, me and my friends felt instantly welcomed, and this carried throughout the stay. The room was beautiful, clean, and had everything we needed to be at home. The view out of the window as lovely as we could see Salisbury Cathedral. The location for us was excellent, as we were in Salisbury to attend a gig at Salisbury's City Hall, which was about a 5-10 minute walk, depending on how slow or fast you walked. The bed's were very comfortable, and I had no trouble having a good night sleep. Breakfast in the morning was delicious, and was catered to however we wished it to be cooked. I highly recommend this B&B, and would definitely love to stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emyoungerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberhausen, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Lois and John Faulkner do everything they can to make their guests happy and comfortable - from providing parking permits (a great luxury in Salisbury) to serving splendid breakfasts, as well as by being nice and cheerful! The beds are comfortable, the situation excellent. Run, don't walk, to this B&B.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biographer759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We wanted to interrupt our stay in London to enjoy a few days without the hustle and bustle of the big city. Scanning the web for a nice B&B in Salisbury Spire House caught our eye. And it was really a nice stay. Lois and John proved to be very nice and helpful hosts, our room was cosy and immaculate, and it had a great view of the cathedral.
The city centre with its market as well as the cathedral close are within short walking distance. Sort of a problem was the daily choice for the next breakfast since it was mouth-watering (we mostly skipped the freshly baked pastries, eggs and ham and opted for the really delicious porridge).
Exeter Street is located between Spire House and Salisbury Cathedral and it can be quite busy sometimes, so there was a some traffic noise. But not much, so we were not disturbed at all (and one of us is quite sensitive to traffic noise). So this was only a small price to pay for the great view.
Would we choose Spire House for another stay: Absolutely!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoubleOpenDiapason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.3 mi away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 16 in Salisbury
751 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
0.2 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#5 of 16 in Salisbury
754 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cricket Field House
Cricket Field House
#2 of 16 in Salisbury
396 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#12 of 16 in Salisbury
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spire House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spire House

Property: Spire House
Address: 84 Exeter Street, Salisbury SP1 2SE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Spire House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Spire House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spire House Hotel Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing