We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hosts and a room with a view!”
Review of Spire House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Spire House
Ranked #7 of 57 Salisbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ghent, Belgium
1 review
“Great hosts and a room with a view!”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

While doing a two-day trip in December 2012, we decided to do a stop in Salisbury and were lucky to find a room in Spire House. The hosts (Lois and John) were very friendly from the moment they opened the door to the point when we left. They gave great advise on finding a good place to eat. We had a cosy room that was nicely decorated and from our window, we could see the wonderful Cathedral. The breakfast is strongly recommended (we took the continental breakfast). No negative remarks whatsoever, we will book a room in Spire house again if we visit Salisbury in the future!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NickHerweyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    76
    16
    1
    2
See reviews for
122
293
30
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
West Mids
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Just back from another wonderful stay at Spire House. Lois ad John Faulkner are lovely hosts, very welcoming and friendly - nothing is too much trouble.

We had the lovely room at the back, beautifully decorated and it seems that at every visit the rooms have been redecorated yet again in Lois's lovely, quirky style - the little touches everywhere in the building are amazing!!!

A bonus with a Christmas stay are the Christmas decorations- the tree differs from year to year!

Looking forward to our next visit. Thanks for the umbrella this morning-it was raining cats and dogs!!!

Room Tip: Agree, back rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joolz_parker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

My brother, parents and I stayed at the Spire during a recent 15 day trip to England. This was the first of 6 B and B's we stayed in, and was a top notch experience. The location is perfect to explore Salisbury by foot. Lois and John were very accommodating, friendly, and offered great suggestions for things to do in the local area. Restaurant recommendations were excellent, too!

I will definitely stay there again when visiting Salisbury.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lturner7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed at Spire House for one night in mid-September. It seemed nice and central, had overwhelmingly good reviews, and was listed with Purple Roofs as being gay-friendly, which was encouraging.
It was fairly easy to find, though the street was extremely busy when we arrived. It was late afternoon, so there was a fair amount of traffic and students from a nearby school were streaming out, with parents trying to stop to pick up their children, which made parking tricky. However, we did manage to park almost opposite Spire House, and, once inside, we were warmly greeted by Lois, who gave us a parking permit which allowed us to leave the car where we had parked until the next morning, so that worked well. (Once the school rush was over, finding a parking spot would have been easy.)
We had booked a twin room and Lois had confirmed a twin, but she had assigned us a double. She said she could add a bed if necessary. This sounded like the additional bed might crowd the room and be less comfortable, so we declined the offer, but it made us feel slightly uncomfortable that our confirmed preference for sleeping arrangements had become a complication. Still, the double bed was plenty big enough, so it wasn’t really a problem.
The room was nice – large and cozy with a four-poster bed and amply furnished, like a room in someone’s house rather than a utilitarian hotel room. The bathroom was not at all cramped and everything was clean. The window overlooked the street, beyond which you could see the cathedral spire – a beautiful view at night when it’s lit up!
When we returned later in the evening, we found that even with light traffic in the street below, the noise was too disturbing to leave the window open. As it wasn’t an especially warm night, we didn’t think this would be a problem, though we would have preferred to leave the window open a little. Unfortunately, we didn’t sleep particularly well, even though we were tired. The traffic wasn’t heavy (it got much busier very early in the morning), but it sounded like it was going right through the room and we’re not used to that. The window was only single-pane glass and I think a double-glazed window would have made the room quieter.
Breakfast the next morning was ample and excellent.
Lois and John are charming and hospitable hosts. Lois made excellent suggestions as to where we could eat and obviously knows Salisbury inside out. The location is also excellent, as it is right in the heart of Salisbury and only a few minutes walk from the cathedral. It’s a very nice B&B, and we would have given it a higher rating except for the difficulty we had sleeping with the traffic noise. I’m sure we would have been much happier with a room at the back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back if traffic noise bothers you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdnguyOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spire, Owner at Spire House, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Hello from Spire House
Thanks for taking the time to write. To be honest I was frankly confused by your comments. The room you stayed in was our Triple (a 4 poster and a single bed) we do make the effort to disguise the appearance of the bed(rather too well in this case) so it looks like a sofa but it is a real bed.
Spire House is a building that is listed for its historic interest, we are not allowed to have Double glazing although I have installed some 'state of the art' acoustic glass.
I am sorry that your nights sleep was disturbed, I fear people imagine that Salisbury as a quiet place. It is in fact a vibrant City that attracts many visitors from across the world and as you saw from the local school children and their parents its also a busy place where people live and work.Spire House is right in the centre of the City, this enables our guests to walk to places of interest and not have to drive their cars. We are very proud of the city we live in and I hope that one day you might return and get to know us a little better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Our room was comfortable, breakfast was great, and Lois was a wealth of information on where to go and what to see. Parking was a bit of a trick, but once we were checked in, Lois provided a pass and directions to a private car park a short walk away. The cathedral is right across the street, an easy walk. In fact, everything in town is an easy walk! Too bad our plans only included one night here!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NS7C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Great welcome, great room. Lois and John could'nt have been more accomodating and friendly. Lovely room with quirky decor throughout the house! Breakfast was first class. All in all a fantastic stay, look forward to our return visit!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay. Great sized room, clean and with every thing you need. Great welcome and really nice service. Gave great ideas for a running route and places to eat.
Fantastic post stay service when realise to my embarracement had left my running thermal top there. They were so kind to get it back to me! Really went beyond the call. Great service and really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan12345678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.3 mi away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 16 in Salisbury
753 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
0.2 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#4 of 16 in Salisbury
754 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cricket Field House
Cricket Field House
#2 of 16 in Salisbury
396 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#12 of 16 in Salisbury
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spire House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spire House

Property: Spire House
Address: 84 Exeter Street, Salisbury SP1 2SE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Spire House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Spire House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spire House Hotel Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing