We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Teddy bears too”
Review of Cathedral View

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cathedral View
Ranked #1 of 57 Salisbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Healdsburg, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Teddy bears too”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The B&B was wonderful, my room was clean with a view of Salisbury cathedral and steeple. Although on a busy street the car noise was not noticible even when my room faced the street. Walking distance to the Cathedral and downtown stores. The hosts were most friendly and even put a teddy bear to visit on my bed one night. I loved this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    557
    44
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
102
337
24
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Really enjoyed my stay here - my only regret is that it was so short.
Steve and Wenda were very welcoming and made us feel at home.
I slept very well in the lovely comfortable bed in a room with a cathedral view, and some homemade biscuits!
The breakfast was really delightful.
If I could, I would move in!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderwanderwander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stalybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

When we retired our Daughter and Son in Law gave us the AA B & B Guide book inside was a post-it note telling us to have a treat on them, it was next to Cathedral View so we thought why not try it as it seemed to be very near the Cathedral, what a find! Steve and Wenda made us so welcome, it was a home from home, clean rooms, comfy bed, a first class breakfast, Wenda makes her own break fresh every morning it is delicious, what more could you ask for. Nothing is too much trouble and Steve has done his own guide on Salisbury which is so helpful when planning your day. We have recommended to our family and friends and advise any future traveller to book as early as they can, this little gem gets booked up quickly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We have been visiting Cathedral View for five years and have just returned from another excellent stay! It is always lovely to receive such a warm welcome from two such lovely hosts. The rooms are very comfortable, with thoughtful little touches such as homemade biscuits and fresh flowers. Breakfast is always first class and there is a super selection of fresh local and home-made produce. The location is perfect (for Salisbury City Centre, the Cathedral, the market, local walks etc), and it is always useful to have Steve and Wenda's local knowledge and ideas for days out and places to dine. Salisbury is a perfect place to get away from it all, and Cathedral View is the perfect place to explore it from. We look forward to coming back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuartandemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Clean. Well maintained. Friendly welcome. You know you're going to enjoy the stay from the moment you knock the door. en suite rooms are great, very comfortable beds quiet and spotlessly clean. Owners provide information on the area places to go things to do restaurants to eat in. Breakfast was perfect.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ButlerFamilyonTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We've recently spent two days in Salisbury and were very happy with this accommodation. Steve and Wenda are extremely kind and helpful and are ready to meet your need and requirements. The rooms are comfortable and the breakfast is very good. Cathedral View is definitely a nice place to stay in Salisbury.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Walter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
133 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Our stay at Cathedral View was wonderful. Excellent service, clean rooms, with a personal touch! The location was within five minutes of Salisbury Cathedral. Steve and Wenda assisted us long before our arrival. I had many questions about transportation, tours, rental car, etc. Not only did they answer immediately, but offered helpful suggestions as well. By the time we arrived I felt as if we had already met. Steve went out of his way to greet us and give us his personal written walking tours of Salisbury and the Cathedral area, a list of recommended restaurants (some offering discounts), helped with directions and answered our many questions cheerfully. He also made sure our pre-arranged taxi was on it's way even though it was before 6:00 am. The breakfast was delicious and ready when requested. When Steve and Wenda found out I had an allergy to one of the fruits being served they prepared a special fruit bowl just for me. These people welcomed us and we felt as if they were family by the time we left even though we were just there two nights. Location was behind the Cathedral so the view was mainly of the spire but just a few steps to the gate. Thank you Steve & Wenda for making our stay memorable! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
3.1 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
0.3 mi away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 16 in Salisbury
754 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cricket Field House
Cricket Field House
#2 of 16 in Salisbury
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
0.2 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
#10 of 16 in Salisbury
966 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#13 of 16 in Salisbury
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cathedral View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cathedral View

Property: Cathedral View
Address: 83 Exeter Street, Salisbury SP1 2SE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cathedral View 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cathedral View Bed and Breakfast offers you welcoming accommodation in Salisbury. Our guest house is a most convenient base for visiting the lovely City of Salisbury in Wiltshire. Overlooking Salisbury Cathedral, our Guest House is a Grade II listed Georgian Town House built in 1795. With a magnificent view of Salisbury Cathedral, our B&B is just a minute's walk from St Ann's Gate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Cathedral View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cathedral View Hotel Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing