We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cathedral View

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cathedral View
Ranked #1 of 58 Salisbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Can't say enough about this great B&B! Steve and Wenda were perfect hosts! Friendly and helpful, offering great sightseeing or restaurant advise (loved The Cloisters!) and lent us umbrellas when it rained. Lovely old home that exudes charm. We had room #4 on the third floor. Quiet, very comfortable and clean. Fresh flowers in the room and fantastic English breakfasts made this a perfect stop while in Salisbury. Wonderful location right across from the Cathedral and Steve's guide for the cathedral close and city were great! Sad to leave and hope we can return someday! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    540
    44
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
98
328
23
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Akron, OH
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Found Cathedral View using TripAdvisor and don't know why it isn't #1. Wenda & Steve make you really feel welcome. They can offer suggestions for things to see & do in the area. They have a great relationship with a number of local restaurants so customers can get deals because they are guests of Cathedral View.
Rooms are clean and comfortable but not large but who needs a large room when you are going to be out seeing the sights.
Located right across the street from the Salisbury Cathedral so it is easy to visit and take your time at this amazing sight.
Steve makes breakfast to your order and seems to take a real interest in making sure it is to your liking.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tireman9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Newbury, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Wenda and Steve have taken care of every little detail, from extra hooks in the bathroom to Wenda's homemade cookies on the tea tray. Breakfasts are cooked to order, with Steve's freshly made fruit salad to accompany them. Steve goes out of his way to provide tourist advice for those who want to go to Stonehenge, view the ancient cathedral, or just have a wonderful dinner. Go and stay here if you want to be well looked-after! Wenda and Steve are truly devoted to their inn. We will miss them.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SueJN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

The best compliment that I can give is to use Southern(U.S.) terms in the title to describe how wonderfully Steve and Wenda treat their guests. They are so friendly and gracious that they quickly move past being hosts, and become friends.

Our room was, of course, exceptional, as were the breakfasts. This year we stayed two days, because we found that one day of this great place wasn't nearly enough.

Steve has done a lot of research to provide guests with a full experience of Salisbury, from the fascinating Cathedral Tower Tour to the guided walks that allow you to see sights that you would otherwise miss.

We haven't been gone long, but we are already looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EVANSMONTGOMERY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Excellent B&B, couldn't do enough for us. Very good breakfast and Steve gave us lots of advice on walks, the Tower Tour, where to eat in the evening etc. We were upstairs facing away from the cathedral, but also away from the traffic noise. We were given a voucher to park outside, though getting across the busy road sometimes took a little while!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rod B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sgp
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

The B&B is indeed located just outside one of the gates to the Cathedral and is also within walking distance to town centre (7-10mins).
We stay in room #4 on the top floor, away from the main street, thus little noise. The walking space is little but the en-suite toilet is large, in comparison. The only minus point is the squeaky floor outside the toilet. The breakfast cooked by Steve was of hotel standard but with much more heart.
Will definitely recommend anyone to try this out when in Salisbury, with the very hospitable hosts as the top reason !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Guppy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cathedralfan, Owner at Cathedral View, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Our house was built in 1795 and still has the wooden floor boards and all the charm of an older building.
The ensuite bathroom is large as has a full size bath with shower over, toilet with soft closing toilet seat and larger than average wash basin.
The bedroom has a superkingsize bed which can be used as a twin bed.
The rooms with a Cathedral view are on the street but have very good soundproofing with double glazing. There are air coolers in those rooms.
We live in a City. I think it is unfair that people who have stayed in the back rooms should give their opinions on what the front rooms must be like.
I hope my response is helpful... Wenda and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Our visit to Salisbury was certainly enhanced by staying at the Cathedral View. Steve and Wenda were very friendly and Steve's advice on what to see, where to eat, the best walks, was invaluable. The Georgian house is a bonus and the location is excellent - right in th centre of everything. The free parking is also a great boon. Our room was at the front so we had a view of the cathedral. Rooms are also spotless and smart, with plenty of tea, coffee and milk provided. We cannot endorse this B & B any higher and we will be returning. We didn't have the breakfasts as we eat later, but that option suited us very well.

One point, book direct with them - it is much more personal.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.3 mi away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
3.1 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel
BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel
#10 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cricket Field House
Cricket Field House
#2 of 16 in Salisbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.4 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#7 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cathedral View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cathedral View

Property: Cathedral View
Address: 83 Exeter Street, Salisbury SP1 2SE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cathedral View 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cathedral View Bed and Breakfast offers you welcoming accommodation in Salisbury. Our guest house is a most convenient base for visiting the lovely City of Salisbury in Wiltshire. Overlooking Salisbury Cathedral, our Guest House is a Grade II listed Georgian Town House built in 1795. With a magnificent view of Salisbury Cathedral, our B&B is just a minute's walk from St Ann's Gate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Cathedral View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cathedral View Hotel Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing