We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (682)
Filter reviews
682 results
Traveler rating
630
49
3
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
630
49
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews homemade jams great hosts wealth of knowledge fresh fruit salad walking tour helpful information large table exeter street each morning the location is perfect b and b fellow guests parking permit breakfast was delicious bed and breakfast wonderful stay surrounding area
Filter
Updating list...
396 - 401 of 682 reviews
Reviewed April 7, 2013

On our arrival, Steve greeted us warmly and went to no end of trouble to explain Salisbury's spectacular features, accompanied with homemade "city guides" which were extremely helpful as it was our first trip to this "jewel" of Wiltshire. In addition, he provided us with free parking permits for the duration of our stay.We parked directly opposite the B&B.Our room was spacious, clean and cosy with a lovely view (as the name of the B&B suggests!) of the cathedral spire. Steve asked us if there was anything else he could do for us during our stay and we enquired if there was an interet café so we could arrange our online check-in the next day for our return flight to Germany. Steve explained that there were no internet cafés in the town but offered to do our online check-in himself. We took up his offer and he kindly obliged & booked us the best seats on the plane - thank you, Steve! Another highlight was, of course, the full English breakfast which was delicious and served by Wenda whose charm, sense of humour and warmth contributed to a very pleasant start to the day. Wonderful homemade jams and marmelades complimented the toast and Steve made an appearance at breakfast enquiring if everything is ok. We thank both Wenda and Steve for making our stay a delightful experience and plan to return to Salisbury at some stage and definitely stay at "Cathedral View"

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We came to stay at Cathedral View during the Easter long weekend and were greeted by chocolate bunnies, baby chicks and lovely homemade, lavender shortbread. Our son was very impressed with the little toy chicks and the chocolate and my husband and myself were impressed with the first queen sized bed we have slept in since arriving in England. Unfortunately I was very sick with a cold during our stay however Steve and Wenda were extremely kind and helpful, bringing drinks to our door, helping us find the health clinic, it felt as if we were staying with friends. The breakfasts are really good with lots of fresh ingredients and homemade jams not to mention the huge selection/menu. The pancakes are a hit with my son! Steve is a wealth of information about the area and is more than happy to make suggestions of places to visit. Thanks Wenda and Steve for helping to make our stay in Salisbury better.

Room Tip: Room #3 is nice and bright and has a great view, may not be good if you like a cool room at night.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gillianioco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Just returned from a Easter break with Wenda and Steve at Cathedral View. Room 2 at the back of the house was comfortable with a large bed (2 twins pushed together) and ensuite shower room. Hospitality tray included home made shortbread and small choclate eggs and bunny on Easter Sunday. Breakfast was excellent with a choice of home made museli, pancakes, jams and marmalade, scrambled eggs with smoked salmon, and of course full english. Location was 2 minutes walk to the Cathedral Close and another 5 minutes to the centre of town. Parking was in the road outside with a Residents Parking Permit provided by Steve. Steve also provides a map with recommended pubs and restaurants and they will also be happy to book a table for you. There is also Steves walking guides to Cathedral Close and the town highlighting places of interest.
We chose to eat at night at The Cloisters a couple of minutes up the road which served a good selection of pub grub. We also ate a light lunch in Greengages cafe, which is just up the road, a couple of times which was also very good.
Steve and Wenda have a excellent knowledge of Salisbury and the surrounding area. All in all a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Very good, welcoming and friendly. Excellent bedroom facilities, beautiful fresh local produce used at breakfast. Would strongly recommend it as a B&B stay. Wenda and Steve are really good hosts and nothing is too much trouble. They were able to answer all our queries and had lots of literature about places we could visit in the area. Cathedral View is in a good location and it was easy to walk to places of interest.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

My sister & I arrived at Cathedral View on Friday afternoon to be greeted with a very warm welcome by Steve. He carried our bags up to our room, asked if we needed anything & then left us to unpack. On our way out to meet our brothers for lunch, Steve gave us a parking pass so that we were able to park in the vicinity of Cathedral View. On the Sat. & Sun. mornings we were treated to a magnificient breakfast, which kept us going all day until our evening meal. My sister Carolyn & I think it is the best B&B we have ever stayed in. Steve & Wenda have a gift of hospitality, nothing is too much trouble & their easy to understand maps, & informative literature of places to visit in Salisbury were excellent. This is a gem of a place, & Wenda & Steve are absolute treasures. Worth every penny. Thank you for making our weekend so enjoyable. Elizabeth H.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking back garden quieter. Comfortable looking furniture. Always check website pictures of rooms, what do they show ?
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews