We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cozy, welcoming place to stay”
Review of Cathedral View

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cathedral View
Ranked #1 of 58 Salisbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Thank you Wenda and Steve for your lovely hospitality! We felt welcome and enjoyed our visit so much. Salisbury is a place to return to again and again. The B & B was centrally located for walking and transportation. The breakfast couldn't have been better - fresh ingredients meticulously prepared. Restaurant reccomendations were good and local info was priceless - we never could have done it on our own! Thank you again! Frances Hayes, Leslie Hayes and Haleigh Bolter

Room Tip: The windows were double paned which kept out the cold and any street noise so we loved having a wind...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (624)
There are newer reviews for Cathedral View
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

351 - 357 of 624 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2012

I recently stayed at the Cathedral View with a friend for a couple of days. I travel frequently - and here are the things I found to be great on this B&B that I look for on all of my journeys:

1. The room was quiet. The road outside is not busy at night - plus the double windows keep the warm inside during the winter and the noise out. There are no late night bars around - so sleeping is no problem. To me, nothing is worse than a room where you toss around all night due to noise outside.

2. The location was great. You can walk from the train station (an easy 15-20 minutes) and you are right outside Salisbury Cathedral and just a short block from the main pedestrian shopping street/bars/restaurants in town. I usually take the train and walk places so I always look for a location where I don't have to take a cab or local bus to go see things.

3. The owners were great. Steven and Wanda were very friendly and nice. They have a nice balance of being helpful (they give out a local map when you check in, explain some good restaurants to visit, tell you what you need to see that day in case things aren't open the following days, etc.) - but they also give you space and privacy to enjoy your breakfast or come and go from the B&B without bumping in to them.

So, those are the top 3 things I look for in a place to stay (hotel or B&B). Other things to note about the Castle View - the breakfast is outstanding. I actually delayed my trip back a few hours so I could have the Full English again that morning. They have free wifi and the rooms are clean. I think they may have parking too (I don't know for sure since I didn't have a car - but they asked me if I did when I checked in).

I plan on going back to Salsibury and will definitely stay here again.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
3  Thank Seattle_Mooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

The Cathedral View in Salisbury is tops in every way. Steve and Wenda are welcoming, friendly and very knowledgeable about their community. Steve has prepared personal guides for local attractions and restaurants. The rooms are spotlessly clean and while not large, they feel roomy. Every necessity was taken care of. There is nearby parking. Cathedral View is across the street from the entrance to the Cathedral- so location is quite convenient. Breakfast is complete- and delicious.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimWDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

My Husband and I (sounds like the Queen) recently stayed at Cathedral View on a trip to Salisbury to celebrate our 30th Pearl Wedding Anniversary, and we could not have chosen a better place to stay, not only is the bed and breakfast so well situated for the town and all the places you may wish to visit.
Our host Wenda and Steve could not have done more to assist us with our visit, providing very useful information and even booking us a table at an Indian Resturant called Anoka *- well worth a visit.
We have no hesitation in highly recommending anybody whom is visiting Salisbury to stay at
Cathedral View, as we shall if we visit again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BERNADETTE D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Really friendly hosts, and a lovely room in a great location. I was only staying a night but would love to visit again. I was over-nighting for business, and had my car which I was given a parking permit for and could park opposite. My bedroom was very nicely decorated - warm and homely but with everything thought of (and all very clean). Not only was it a fabulous breakfast in the morning, but so nice to just cross the road and visit the Cathedral. I look forward to booking in again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank destiny1071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

This Guesthouse is ideally placed for visiting both the town and the cathedral as it is a 2 minute walk to both. Steve and Wenda keep very clean and pleasant accomadation. Steve is very helpful and informative when it comes to knowing all the interesting places to visit, eat or stay in the town and surrounding area. He also produces helpful walking guides to ensure you miss nothing. One thing not to miss is the cooked breakfast!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tennysons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Very friendly, very professional, and the breakfasts were excellent! Steve and Wenda went out of their way to be helpful and informative. I would highly recommend them to anyone planning a stay in Salisbury.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KEN C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
3.1 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
0.2 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#13 of 16 in Salisbury
417 reviews
0.3 mi away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 16 in Salisbury
795 reviews
0.4 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#8 of 16 in Salisbury
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cathedral View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cathedral View

Address: 83 Exeter Street, Salisbury SP1 2SE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Salisbury
Price Range: $129 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cathedral View 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cathedral View Bed and Breakfast offers you welcoming accommodation in Salisbury. Our guest house is a most convenient base for visiting the lovely City of Salisbury in Wiltshire. Overlooking Salisbury Cathedral, our Guest House is a Grade II listed Georgian Town House built in 1795. With a magnificent view of Salisbury Cathedral, our B&B is just a minute's walk from St Ann's Gate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Cathedral View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cathedral View Hotel Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing