We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fresh and tasty” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Henderson's Artisan Bakery & Cafe

Henderson's Artisan Bakery & Cafe
Ranked #1 of 6 Bakeries in Salisbury
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Award-winning bakery & cafe in the heart of Salisbury's historic Market Square. Real, artisan breads, organic flour, sour dough, delicious pastries and cakes, fresh coffee and light lunches. Everything made on the premises. Voted Salisbury's Favourite Independent Food Retailer 2015.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fresh and tasty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

We first visited the bakery in its first week of business and I have to say in the past few months it's really grown as a bakery and eatery. The breads and cakes are fantastic. I even ordered a Victorian Sponge for my husbands birthday because he enjoys it so much. Very fresh and tasty and as we have been their a few times we have also enjoyed the beetroot soup, cheese ploughman and cream tea. On the go the variety of veggie rolls or pizza breads are handy too.

It's great to have an eatery serving real ingredients right on your doorstep. Be quick to grab a seat and enjoy.

Helpful?
Thank Colleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, Owner at Henderson's Artisan Bakery & Cafe, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Thanks for your feedback Colleen, we are glad you enjoy your trips to the bakery. We make everything on site and work hard to make everything as fresh and delicious as we can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    23
    4
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Eating a Victoria Sponge cake now...It's outrageously good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

We just popped into this place to grab something sweet to go with a cup of tea when we got home. Sat on my sofa now eating a victoria sponge cake and it is by far and away THE BEST CAKE EVER!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank yogiontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, Owner at Henderson's Artisan Bakery & Cafe, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thanks for your kind comments, I'm delighted that you enjoyed the cake.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Fantastic service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

I ordered at very short notice, some large strawberry and raspberry frangipan tarts.
They were amazing .
Thankyou so much
Sharon

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank abendigolove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, Owner at Henderson's Artisan Bakery & Cafe, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
You're very welcome Sharon, so pleased we could help.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Ok but could do better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

The food was nice and freshly prepared but if I order very clearly one of the very few vegetarian ingredients that you have why then ask if I'd like bacon with it? Wouldn't I have mentioned that? Yummy giant biscuit, tea and coffee were fine.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 937KMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, Owner at Henderson's Artisan Bakery & Cafe, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thanks for your review. I'm pleased to hear that most of your visit was positive. Some of our sandwich suggestions include bacon as an option, so perhaps the staff member was thinking of that when they suggested the bacon. I'm sorry it was inappropriate. I am also a vegetarian and we try to offer a suitable range including soups, cheese, salads, hummus, tarts and pizzas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Resent visit on route to Devon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

We can just as the shop was closing we were given a wonderful welcome and lots of help in choosing our loaf. It is wonderful bread and there cakes were just delightful.
We are in Salisbury again this weekend and hope to be able to pop in for some more goodies.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Virginia-t2feltham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, Owner at Henderson's Artisan Bakery & Cafe, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for such lovely feedback, I'm delighted you enjoyed your visit. Hope to see you when you are in Salisbury again.

Regards, Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Henderson's Artisan Bakery & Cafe also viewed

Salisbury, Wiltshire
Salisbury, Wiltshire
 

Been to Henderson's Artisan Bakery & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing