We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Traditional Friendly Pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The New Inn

The New Inn
Ranked #44 of 269 Restaurants in Salisbury
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Traditional Friendly Pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

Great traditional pub food, great value, great atmosphere. Most importantly friendly staff who cared rather than just served. Helped us choose local beers and informed us politely to get our order in before a large booking would arrive. I recommend a cheese platter to finish your meal.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EuroTwenty_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    79
    31
    11
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely old pub, convenient for city centre but just off the beaten track”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

We often stop here for lunch on a Saturday after shopping in town. We love the cosy bar area. Okay prices and very good food. Like the fact you can read the newspapers for free!!!! Will be coming again. Thankyou

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ilike2travel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“What a lovely Olde Worlde Inn.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

Once again I visited the Inn with family and sat outside in the gardens while we ate. The service and staff were excellent and I would recommend it to any one.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fabulous Christmas Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

Eight of us had a wonderful Christmas meal at the New Inn. They went to a huge amount of effort to decorate our table and the room in which we ate. We had the entire room (small and cosy) to ourselves with a lovely fire keeping us warm and adding atmosphere - yet due to the structure of this remarkably "old inn" we were not isolated from the buzz in the rest of the pub. Food was delicious. Service was excellent. Would not hesitate to recommend - for special meals or just a quick bite, or even a drink or two.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Moyra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lovely family bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

This is a lovely pub with a real local feel, beautiful garden for summer evenings and a roaring log fire for winter warmth...yummy food too!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Whitbred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The New Inn also viewed

 
Salisbury, Wiltshire
Salisbury, Wiltshire
 

Been to The New Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing