We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal on Fri evening”
Review of Cranes Wine Cafe - CLOSED

Cranes Wine Cafe
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Dropped into Cranes on Fri pm hoping to get table just after 6pm after shopping expedition with a friend who cane over from Winchester. I wanted to try it after the change of ownership and name. It has has a much livelier atmosphere than the previous establishment. it's been refurbished and the food is very good. We had the sea bass and lamb steaks from the specials which were delicious. The sea bass served on a bed of crab mash. The lamb wasn't overcooked and was very richly flavoured with rosemary. We liked the mini dessert/shared platter idea. Overall friendly service, reasonable prices, attractive surroundings and good food/wine.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Brumas123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndyG69, Owner at Cranes Wine Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Thank you so much for submitting this review - sharing positive comments really does help business and it is much appreciated! I do hope that you will be back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (332)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

316 - 320 of 332 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2013

I have visited here twice now with friends who have recently moved to the area, last time with a group of girlfriends. Food is really exceptional, well done chef and prices very reasonable. Something for everyone. Will be visiting again next time I am there and would definitely recommend to others.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Explorer65england
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndyG69, Owner at Cranes Wine Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind words! We are just about to start our late spring menu next week so I hope that you will visit us again soon to sample it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Nice little place with nice decor and a pleasant atmosphere. So why the bad review? We booked a table for 5 people and when we arrived as 4 the manager became very agressive with us and very rude. He told us not to bother coming back. If that's the way they treat all their customers then they won't be in business very long.

    • Service
2  Thank 25DonnaM25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndyG69, Owner at Cranes Wine Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Thank you very much for your frank review. It is always disappointing when customers arrive with fewer diners than expected. Empty chairs that could have been sold to someone else result in lost revenue which no business wants. That said we would always strive to offer excellent customer service and hope that everyone who visits Cranes would look forward to their next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Visited while back in the UK on a break to catch up with my mum and dad. Staff were great, food was well presented and very good value. There's a good range on the menu without being overcrowded, and the chef was happy to do a special veggie dish for my dad. The conservatory is light and airy, and the garden looks like it'll be great when it opens in the summer. Marvellous!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndyG69, Owner at Cranes Wine Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

What a shame you live so far away! I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Salisbury and to Cranes - thank you for your kind comments. We are always happy to try to meet the needs of our diners and I am glad we could make something your Dad enjoyed!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic food at very reasonable prices great wine and beer selection too. The place was full with a lovely atmosphere but that did not affect the service and the time we waited for our 3 courses. Can't wait to go back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Craggenmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndyG69, Owner at Cranes Wine Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Its great to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us! Our chef Liam Mason works hard to come up with delicious items for the menu and we try to keep our prices affordable! Look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cranes Wine Cafe also viewed

 
Quidhampton, Salisbury
Berwick St James, Salisbury
 
Bishopstone, Salisbury
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing