We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wouldn't go back”

Market Inn Salisbury
Ranked #35 of 278 Restaurants in Salisbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Enjoy contemporary relaxed surroundings, or visit our Juniper bar with 37 different types of Gin to try, or sample food from our sumptuous menu, complemented by our extensive range of beers, ales and fine wines. Look out for our daily offers pie and a drink for £10 to 25% off prosecco (terms and conditions apply)
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Arriving hungry on a Saturday evening, it took around 20 mins to take our order. The friendly waitress asked us to bear with them as they were busy that night. Fair enough, but this "bearing with" turned into an exercise in patience, taking over an hour before we received our starters and over two hours before our mains arrived. Our servers checked on us a few times for refills (nothing complimentary offered for the excessive wait) and we were offered dessert before our mains and given the next table's drinks, despite being half way through our own. It lead to an uneasy sense of not knowing whether anyone was even aware of what was going on. We weren't the only ones and tensions seemed to be growing in the room as diners politely struggled not to "make things worse" and lose their sense of humour. Food, when it arrived, was tasty but not worth the wait (not quite the stellar standards some reviewers have suggested). Overall, it was an unenjoyable experience and I would try elsewhere next time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nickgod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike H, Owner at Market Inn Salisbury, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

I am sorry that your evening was not the enjoyable experience that you had hoped for, I can only but agree with you that our service was slow on that Saturday evening, mainly due to the fact that we were under staffed (not our finest hour).
Having only taken ownership of the Market Inn within the last three months, I did not anticipate how busy we would be on that particular evening.
I have now however increased Saturday staff cover (front of house and Kitchen) to ensure we do not find ourselves in the same embarrassing position again.
Once again apologies for your long wait and if you do ever visit us again, we would appriciate the opportunity to prove to you that we are in the business of making our customers happy.
Yours Sincerely,
Mike Hutchinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (409)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

354 - 358 of 409 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2013

The recently revamped Market Inn proved to be the perfect location for a work dinner night. They comfortably accommodated 32 people upstairs on our own with a private bar in what is an extremely pleasant venue.

The food was absolutely first class and amazingly good value, on average we each paid £25 for a starter, main and half a bottle of wine. I will certainly return to the Market Inn in a smaller group to enjoy the food and atmosphere.

The standards of service were second to none from the moment I first contacted the restaurant to the evening itself, the staff could not do enough to help me with the organisation and execution of the evening. This cannot be over emphasised when organising a dinner for 30+ people and made the whole experience considerably less stressful.

A truly top class restaurant that I would heartily recommend; either as a venue for a function or simply as a delightful place to eat.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank fdcm1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike H, Owner at Market Inn Salisbury, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

Many thanks for your kind review, it was a pleasure to have you and your guests here for dinner at the Market Inn.
We look forward to seeing you all again soon, kind regards Mike Hutchinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

For those that remember the old market inn...wipe those memories from your mind.

For the uninitiated, this is a bistro-pub which is knocking out food at a quality which probably warrents a star at rock bottom prices.

I'd advise you fill your boots before an inevitable price hike.

There are two menus. One is an all day pub style menu which I can't comment on. The other is the 'bistro' menu served from 6 which is awesome. Enjoy!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jimmy_Wilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike H, Owner at Market Inn Salisbury, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

Many thanks for you kind review, I'm very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our Bisto menu and like the new look of the Market Inn.
Kind Regards, Mike Hutchinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

The food was excellent and reasonably priced, room was full but did not feel noisy, staff busy on Saturday lunchtime but friendly and helpful and the manager couldn't have been more welcoming. Our two toddlers did what toddlers do best (got under everyone's feet and climbed up and down the stairs 100 times) but we were never made to feel they were a pest.

Thank Anne Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I organised a family get together in Salisbury and decided to choose this restaurant based on trip advisors previous comments and what a great decision I had made. As there were quite a lot of us we had to pre order our menu choices and the restaurant were very helpful, friendly and extremely accommodating! Waiter was friendly and helpful and the food was fantastic! We had a great time and the atmosphere was great. Not a bad word to say! Everyone had really enjoyed themselves, we will definitely be returning when we visit Salisbury again!

Thank Stacey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike H, Owner at Market Inn Salisbury, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

It was a pleasure to welcome you and your family here at the Market Inn and we look forward to seeing you again when you return to Salisbury.
Kind regards, Mike Hutchinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Market Inn Salisbury also viewed

Salisbury, Wiltshire
Salisbury, Wiltshire
 

Been to Market Inn Salisbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing