We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Hotel in Salisbury”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cricket Field House
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Certificate of Excellence
newport isle of wight
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Best Hotel in Salisbury”
Reviewed November 20, 2010

I cannot praise the stay at this hotel enough, the owners Margaret and Brian made us so welcome. Rooms were spotless and the service we received was faultless. The day started with a " Brian's breakfast "which set us up for a days Christmas shopping in Salisbury or Wilton Shopping Village, both of which are served by frequent bus services.
This hotel is well situated whatever the reason for your visit to the city of Salisbury.
I am so pleased we found this hotel and will be booking in here again without doubt.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chatwin3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    88
    16
    6
    7
See reviews for
50
228
19
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Irving, Texas
1 review
Reviewed November 16, 2010

Beautiful room. Excellent Breakfast. Wonderful hosts. Helped two very tired travelers celebrate my wife's birthday with a cake and flowers waiting in our room.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonandGayle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2010

Brian and Margaret are such friendly superb hosts and everything about the hotel is excellent! It was clean, beautifully maintained and the breakfast was deliciouly prepared and served! My wife and I stayed there on a recent trip to see Salisbury and we could not have chosen a better place! We were met at Reception by Brian and their dog, who is a real character. I was surprised when he sat up at the front desk to welcome us ... the dog not Brian! :-) See photo if you don't believe me!.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiteMarlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2010

A great hotel with fantastic service - breakfast was marvellous!
An easy walk to the centre. Margaret and Brian were superb hosts.
Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue_Storey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2010

I arrived during a torrential rainstorm and received a much needed friendly welcome. I was very quickly checked in and given the broadband code. As a lone traveller I was asked if I'd feel more comfortable in the main house - very considerate and thoughtful. Upon being shown to my room I was pleased to see a cozy, spotless room with a homely feel. After an excellent night's sleep I enjoyed a wonderful full English breakfast served by another friendly polite and attentive member of staff. Throughly great experience and a refreshing change in a world of mediocre hotels.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Supatraveller34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liphook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2010

I booked Cricket Field House as I was tired of staying in the generic hotels, which lack character and, once you had taken the fact that breakfast was included in the price, Cricket Field Hotel was very competetive. I travelled with my parents and my daughter and her boyfriend, so our age range was between 23 and 65.

The rooms were impeccably clean and tidy and each of the three rooms we booked was individual in its taste. There was a lovely garden and my father thoroughly enjoyed watching a local cricket match from the window of his room.

The furniture was tasteful and comfortable with plenty of room to store clothing and also tea and coffee making facilties in each room.

Breakfast was fabulous. Full English breakfasts were freshy cooked to order and you could choose whatever you wanted, rather than ordering a plate of food, If you wanted the wonderful fresh mushrooms on toast, then that would be brought to you. If, like me, full English breakfasts are not your thing, there was plenty of fresh fruit, yoghurts, cereal and toast made to order. My incredibly fussy family all found a sumptuous feast on both mornings we stayed at the hotel which sustained us until our evening meal!

Finally, this is a family run hotel, with support staff. Everyone was polite and friendly (including a lovely dog called Snoopy who snuck out of his bed to greet us in reception). The whole atmosphere of the hotel was calm, friendly and a real pleasure to stay in.

There was plenty of parking in front of the hotel and it was in easy reach of Wilton House, where we had tickets for concerts and Salisbury.

I would recommend this hotel to anybody - particularly if you are bored with the same old chain hotels - and I would book to stay again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank odipup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2010

As the name suggests, this B&B is located next to a cricket field. There is free parking at the front of the building. On arrival, we were given a local map and advice of where to go and how to best get there. It is approximately a 25 minute walk in to Salisbury town centre, with plenty of pubs, shops and eating options nearby.

This B&B is well maintained, impeccably clean, tastefully appointed with beautiful gardens and an overall charming feel. Our room was large with a built-in robe, shower with 2 heads, hairdryer, 2 arm chairs, kettle with tea/coffee making facilities, large TV, plenty of storage space and a large, comfortable bed with luxurious crisp, clean linen.

The breakfast was excellent with a continental buffet selection and cooked meals to order served politely and efficiently.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Turkeyjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
1.6 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
1.3 mi away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 16 in Salisbury
754 reviews
1.3 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#5 of 16 in Salisbury
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#11 of 16 in Salisbury
277 reviews
1.6 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#7 of 16 in Salisbury
864 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cricket Field House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cricket Field House

Property: Cricket Field House
Address: 1 Cricket Field Cottages Wilton Road, Salisbury SP2 9NS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Salisbury
#2 Romantic Hotel in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cricket Field House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cricket Field House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cricket Field Hotel
Cricket Field Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing