We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely comfy bed and very friendly owners”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cricket Field House
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely comfy bed and very friendly owners”
Reviewed March 2, 2010

Stayed at the end of Feb for a quick break, When we arrived the lady at reception was so friendly, went out of her way to try and book us a table for dinner in town and made us feel very welcome.

Room was sunny and clean, decorated beautifully with a really warm modern bathroom. Bed was very comfortable and had a very good nights sleep, would defiantly stay again if I went back to Salisbury

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sparkle49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    91
    17
    6
    7
See reviews for
50
235
19
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2010

I booked this B&B solely on the basis of trip advisor reviews, and if honest, I was a little bit disappointed. Mainly this is due to the slightly outdated feel of the the decor, both in our rooms and the breakfast area. Our bedroom was nice and spacious, although I think it was a deluxe room (£75 per night) - from what I could see peeping through other windows, the ordinary rooms looked quite compact. The bed was huge, but turned out to be two singles pushed together. It was very comfy though. The whole place was very clean and tidy, but swirly artex ceiling, very dated furniture, red carpet and charity-shop style paintings on the walls, really let the place down. The bathroom was small, with no bath, but again was very clean with nice white towels and basic toiletries. However, the shower was not very powerful and not really adequate in my opinion. The location of the B&B is good if you want to escape from the hustle and bustle of the city, which I know from experience can be noisy on a Saturday night. Its only a 20 minute brisk walk into the centre, so perfectly manageable. The B&B overlooks a cricket pitch and village church, and despite only being set back from the main road a short distance, it was very quiet. Several of the rooms are round the back in a pavilion style annex. These are motel style, with their own front doors, which is ideal if you are coming in late. However, this impersonal style might not suit everyone. The gardens to the B&B are lovely and pretty, although probably best enjoyed in summer, not January! The hosts were friendly and welcoming, providing a map, taxi phone numbers, restaurant recommendations etc. The breakfast was just as good as any top range hotel I have ever stayed in, although the plates could have been warmer. Delicious sausages. Plenty of parking at the front of the building. It is NOT a hotel, but definitely a B&B - Im really not sure why they call themselves a hotel..... I might stay there again, but would probably look around a little bit first.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScaryCanary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merseyside
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2009

If you are looking for an immaculately clean, lovely decorated room with friendly hosts and staff then "Look no further" than Cricketfield House.
I trawled the internet for some hours checking reviews on B&B's in Salisbury and always kept coming back to Cricketfield House as being "The One" to stay in.
And indeed was not disappointed.
A few minutes from Salisbury centre by car (Approx 25 min. walk) with parking (lots of B&B's in city centre do not have parking) and being treble glazed lovely and quiet at night.
I read some reviews from other B&B's in the city centre and most said be aware of noise especially Friday & Saturday nights from the "Clubbers".
Breakfast was very good with variey of cereals, fruit, fruit juices and the full english was cooked beautifully.
I think the cost was very reasonable considering the quality of cleanliness (Very important to me) food and the convenience of parking on site.
If we were to be travelling to Salisbury in the future we would definitely be staying at Cricketfield House.
Thank you Margaret for your attention to detail.
Leslee & John Malloy
Wirral
Merseyside.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ff2405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2009

Stayed here for 2 nights in mid Sept 09 on a driving holiday around England.

Our room was clean, comforatble and quiet. Pleasant garden courtyard. Adequate off street parking. Pleasant helpful staff and good breakfast.

It is a big B&B rather than a full hotel (i.e. no restaurant or bar).

Price reasonable (95 pounds with breakfast) .

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramble9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2009

My husband and I recently spent two nights at the Cricket Field House and will be eternally grateful for all of the help we got there. The proprietors essentially explained EVERYTHING to us because we were quite clueless.

Our room, number 12, is spacious, comfortable, and has a great bathroom. The bed was fantastic--we so often wake up with bad backs from hotel accommodations, but this bed was as comfortable as can be.

The full English Breakfast was more than expected--in addition to the usual items, which were wonderfully cooked, there was an expansive table full of fresh fruit, cereals, yogurts, and other items. The Breakfast room was beautifully decorated--clean and comfortable. The morning newspapers provided included most of England's top daily offerings.

The proprietors were friendly and very helpful. They told us about services (such as Park and Ride) that we would not have discovered on our own.

The location is ideal: adjacent to a real cricket field, all rooms are off the road and very quiet. The views are spectacular. We would not hesitate to stay there again and if we return to Salisbury, a delightful Cathedral city with a great proximity to many of the great stately homes of England, we will stay there again with great pleasure.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2009

Have never written a review before, but having stayed at 'Cricketfield House' this weekend i felt i had to write a comment - very clean spacious room with comfy bed, - pleasant staff, - brilliant freshly cooked breakfast - and i would definately recommed it.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joandcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2009

Our return visit to Cricketfield House turned out to be just as good as the first, which, when we thought about it was four years ago!! It still cannot be faulted for friendliness, cleanliness and value for money. The 'full english breakfast' really sets you up for the day ahead whether it be sightseeing, relaxing or travelling home. Its location was just right for us as we like to walk although the town is only a few minutes by car, bus or taxi.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank the_taffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
1.6 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
1.5 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
1.6 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#9 of 16 in Salisbury
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#7 of 16 in Salisbury
776 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
#10 of 16 in Salisbury
986 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Old Mill Hotel
The Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harnham
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cricket Field House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cricket Field House

Property: Cricket Field House
Address: 1 Cricket Field Cottages Wilton Road, Salisbury SP2 9NS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Salisbury
#2 Romantic Hotel in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cricket Field House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cricket Field House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cricket Field Hotel
Cricket Field Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing