We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cricket Field House
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2014

We stayed for one night and had two rooms. Both were very clean and tidy, had tea and coffee making facilities. The beds were very comfortable. The bathrooms were very clean and the showers worked well. Our rooms were at the back of the property and were very quiet. There was car parking available at the front of the house. The staff were very pleasant and friendly. The room where the breakfast was set up was very light airy and there was a lot of choice. Full English breakfast, fruit, cereals, toast etc. The position of the property was excellent and even though we had a car, it would have been in walking distance to the town center. Would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carnoaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (433)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 434 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

We have just had the pleasure of staying here between 11th-13th July. The room was clean, lovely decoration, quality beds & bedding, in fact everything in the room was off a top standard. Breakfast was outstanding with so much to eat & lot's of choices.
The position of the house was ideal for us, as is it was central to where we wanted to visit. The town is about half hour walk, but I am lazy so we drove.
The owners were so friendly & helpful, they recommended many places to eat.
We will be defiantly going back.
well done all at Cricket field House fantastic job

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tracy68worthing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Stayed here overnight while passing through town. The room was clean, plenty of storage and all the usual amenities were provided. We were greeted in the morning by a family of ducks wandering through the yard - quite English countryside! The team at Cricket Field were all professional and very courteous and it made the stay just that much better. Breakfast was good too. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Back room by patio and yard - needs a keycode to enter, but is away from everyone else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank aaronlynnme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed at this B & B on our visit to England in June & were not disappointed. Our hosts were so helpful as it was my husbands birthday & he booked a restaurant in Salisbury for us that he reccommended & it was fantastic (Jade, Cantonese!) Our room was perfect, a comfy bed and very quiet. The breakfast was superb, we would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: I'm sure all the rooms would be great, we had a choice between a king size bed with a small show...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JacqueAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stayed in this lovely comfortable and well appointed B&B for 1 night on our way up to the midlands on 27th June 2014 and can't praise it highly enough !. The welcome is warm, friendly and professional and the room, which was spotless, had the biggest and most comfortable double bed I have ever seen. Breakfast the following morning had an excellent choice of cold buffet and traditional English breakfast with once again friendly, helpful and professional staff who ensured you had everything you needed to start the day.
A very big well done to all at Cricket Field House
Salisbury is a delight with a great local market held every Saturday morning

Room Tip: Good food to be had at Cranes Restaurant in Salisbury which was 20 minutes walk from The Cricket Fie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We picked the Cricket Field House because of its ratings and its proximity to Salisbury. In addition parking was available at no cost. We were not disappointed in our choice. We loved the Cricket Field House. Let me start with the accommodations themselves. The hotel was pristine in its cleanliness. I appreciated the walk-in-shower because of my knee problem. We were on the ground floor and overlooked the garden. The beds were very comfortable, the breakfasts were excellent and Matthew was friendly and efficient in his service of the meal. the breakfast room itself was delightful. It was sunny and beside the cricket field. However, the highlight of the whole experience, I must say, was our interaction with Andrew, in particular. He was efficient, helpful (he was able to get us tickets to Stonehenge since we didn't know one had to book them online and neither of us brought a computer). He was warm and very witty. We enjoyed our many conversations with him throughout our three day stay. He called for taxis for us and we loved the drivers. It was easier to have taxi service to get to Salisbury, for example, then to worry about parking the car, etc. in the city. Aside from our Salisbury excursion the drivers took us to the incredible pub nearby that Andrew suggested. That would be the Victoria and Albert. It was a true country local pub with excellent food. We ate there every night and enjoyed the food, our conversations with local folks and particularly with the pub operator, Maggie. She is wonderful. Everyone should have the experience we had at the Cricket Field House and at the Victoria and Albert, not to mention the Cathedral, Wilton House, Old Sarum, Avesbury, Silbury Hill and of course Stonehenge. We did meet Bryan and Margaret, Andrew's parents, and they were also delightful. In addition I must mention meeting Snoopy. He was rescued by Andrew as a mite of a pup and has grown to be a friendly and happy adult in the care of the James family. This is a wonderful family. They are hardworking and know how to treat people. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.
Barbara M. Fahy

Room Tip: We liked the ground floor. no steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbarafahy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We stayed for one evening and had room number 1. We were welcomed by Andrew and felt flattered that he remembered our name the next morning when we left - great customer service!. The room was very comfortable and breakfast was freshly made and really tasty.

Would definitely return if we were ever in the area again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linandmike2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
1.6 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
1.5 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Old Mill Hotel
The Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harnham
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
1.3 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel & Spa
Milford Hall Hotel & Spa
#8 of 16 in Salisbury
818 reviews
1.3 mi away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 16 in Salisbury
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cricket Field House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cricket Field House

Address: 1 Cricket Field Cottages Wilton Road, Salisbury SP2 9NS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Salisbury
#2 Luxury Hotel in Salisbury
Price Range: $110 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cricket Field House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cricket Field House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cricket Field Hotel
Cricket Field Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing