We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cricket Field House
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Certificate of Excellence
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Wonderful B&B”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We stayed for one evening and had room number 1. We were welcomed by Andrew and felt flattered that he remembered our name the next morning when we left - great customer service!. The room was very comfortable and breakfast was freshly made and really tasty.

Would definitely return if we were ever in the area again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linandmike2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    90
    17
    6
    7
See reviews for
50
232
19
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

We spent 2 nights here in May this year. We were welcomed by Andrew who couldn't have been more charming and helpful. Our room was extremely comfortable with a lovely terrace and view of the pretty garden. The ducks that plodded around the garden added to the charm. Inspite of Cricket Field House being on a busy road we were not disturbed by any noise from the traffic. We will certainly return here. If I had any criticism it would be that there was skimmed milk in the bedroom for tea and coffee.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Langford07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2014

After 3 months working away from home in Salisbury, the Cricket Fields House became like a second home to me and Brian Margaret and Andy really felt like family by the end of my stay.

Always courteous and genuinely friendly and kind. The breakfast was outstanding and the rooms very comfortable. Nothing is too much trouble for them.......if only all hotels operated like this...........a fantastic family run hotel.

A big thank you from Nick, Danny and Steve

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NickCL500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2014

We stayed at Cricket Field House over easter weekend and cant speak highly enough about it.

We checked in after a long day at Longleat and were welcomed as if we were old friends rather than people who had never stayed there before.

The rooms were very comfortable and well decorated and had everything we needed for our one night stay including free wifi which always helps.

We had never been to Salisbury before and staff were very friendly and helpful advising us where to go for food and drinks in the evening and how to get there as it is a short walk into town.

It took us 10-15 minutes to walk in to the town centre which we knew about before going and had no issue with.

One touch that i want to mention is that all the staff called me and my wife by our surnames which although small made us feel very welcome.

Breakfast was great, freshly cooked and a great selection of items available to suit all needs.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AaronG86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rustington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

We stayed two nights at Cricket Field House for a weekend away. I can quite honestly say the staff are some of the nicest, most polite people I've ever met. Nothing was too much trouble and we were really made to feel welcome. We had a deluxe double room that was on the first floor and overlooked the cricket pitch. The room was a really good size with arm chairs, a desk and on suite shower room. Everything was really clean, and in good condition. The breakfasts are excellent, made with good quality ingredients and a large choice from fruits, cereal and yogurt, to full English, mushrooms on toast, etc.

The property is slightly out of town, which didn't bother us. I would say that you could walk into the town but we chose to take taxi's in the evening (about £6 each way). Salisbury is packed with pubs, bars, cafe's and restaurants as well as some lovely architecture. There is also plenty of parking in the town. We used the central car park which was about £6 for the day, or £1.70 for the day on Sundays.

All in all I we would highly recommend the Cricket Field House.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We highly recommend Cricket Field House as we stayed for 2 nights recently, having booked the 'Valentine Offer'. The room was beautiful and the owners friendly and welcoming, we could not fault the service provided and the breakfast was excellent. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

The view over the cricket ground, with the church in the South-West corner, is an arresting site as you turn off the road and go down into the carpark. It's a little bit out of town, but first of all, staying in-town in Salisbury (as I found out) can be a nightmare, as many hotels are opposite noisy venues that thump and pulse into the wee small hours from Thursday night onwards; the second thing is that being a little bit out of town in Salisbury is a short walk in any larger metropolis, and the ways you can get to the place can take in some really lovely views of the town and its environs.

In terms of a warm welcome, I would consider the owners as having given me one of the warmest welcomes I've ever had in England: courteous, affable, genuine and never over-the-top. They represent a type of great kindness and hospitality that the media would probably say is 'dying out', but actually it's not: it's just guests and owners alike can be impatient and money-grabbing in this age, and class is hard to maintain unless you are in it because you love it.

I loved my stay. The room was great for my needs (though perhaps a bottle of water might be nice, as the tap flashes hot and then cold when it's on cold), the bed was comfy, and the shower invigorating. The walls were a bit thin, but that's shouldn't provide too much of a problem, as long as you're not staying next to a couple on their honeymoon.

The breakfast was comprehensive and you could be healthy or indulgent, or both, There were daily papers to peruse, people from all over the world to exchange a 'good morning' with, and a convivial atmosphere if you wanted it, though solitude was just as easy to find.

I would recommend this to individuals and couples alike, though I don't know if there are family-friendly rooms. I would also thoroughly enjoy the opportunity to go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DiscerningDaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
1.6 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
1.3 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#5 of 16 in Salisbury
760 reviews
1.3 mi away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 16 in Salisbury
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#8 of 16 in Salisbury
871 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#11 of 16 in Salisbury
284 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cricket Field House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cricket Field House

Property: Cricket Field House
Address: 1 Cricket Field Cottages Wilton Road, Salisbury SP2 9NS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Salisbury
#2 Romantic Hotel in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cricket Field House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cricket Field House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cricket Field Hotel
Cricket Field Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing