We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ideally located for Salisbury, Old Sarum and Stonehenge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cricket Field House
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed 2 nights here on a last minute post-Easter break at the beginning of the coldest April in years. There was snow in the air, a 35mph wind straight from Siberia, and Old Sarum and Stonehenge were perishing, but our room and the dining orangery were both blissfully cosy.
Andrew gave us lots of useful information such the best places to eat (the Victoria and Albert in nearby Netherton - oh, the home-made pies...!) and how to get to the cheapest city car-park. Breakfast was superb with plenty of choice for a small place.
Our room was designed for disabled access with a sliding door to the bathroom which had no bath but an an enormous shower (with both rainwater and riser-rail shower heads) with a seat. There was a walk-in wardrobe, a sofa at the foot of the double bed which faced the tiny TV, and an armchair placed in typical hotel fashion - right next to the door with no way of seeing the TV, and blocking the heat from the radiator!
The car park was free and just big enough, although a little walk to the rooms. There were steps but ramps as well for disabled access.
There was so much to see in and around Salisbury that we would come back again, and we would stay here again. We'll just choose warmer weather next time!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank autumntrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (421)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

269 - 275 of 421 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed for one night at this hotel on 12th April 2013.We had a doorstairs room overlooking the cricket field and next to open country. Our room was very clean and well furnished with fitted wardrobe , easy chair , dressing table.There was a snack menu avaiable withwine or beer which was priced very reasonable.The breakfast was excelent with full english including black pudding.Plenty of cereal yogurt, fresh fruit ,toast, and preserves.The staff were friendly and helpful and we will certainly stay here again as we visit Salisbury every year.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the ground floor and don,t forget to have a walk in the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

My husband and I spent two nights in Room 11 and were very pleased with everything. Room was large enough for three armchairs and a 6' bed (ie two single beds joined together) with good quality bed linen and mattress topper - very comfortable. The weather was very cold but room stayed cosy. Everything very clean. We asked for fresh milk for our hospitality tray and the owner provided this in a flask and this was replaced on the second day without us having to ask.

I had been assured during my phone booking that providing gluten-free cereals and toast would be no problem. There was a choice of the three best (in my opinion) breakfast cereals and a good quality bread which was toasted separately from other bread as it should be. Everything was laid out nicely in the conservatory breakfast room with a good choice of juices, fruit, yoghurt etc for helping yourself - plus an excellent cooked to order breakfast which included treats like smoked salmon, kippers, full English etc. Good coffee too.

The couple who own the hotel were very nice and helpful. I agree that it is a 20/25 minute walk into Salisbury and one route does indeed skirt the edge of an industrial estate (although we enjoyed looking around the car showrooms on the way!) but visitors could always drive into the centre of Salisbury as there were plenty of carparks. We didn't have a problem with walking each day. If it had been wet, we could have used taxis if necessary.

We were here to see a concert at the City Hall (Eric Johnson - top guitarist from Austin, Texas) and explore Salisbury. Loved the Cathedral and all the historic buildings everywhere. Plenty of good restaurants, coffee shops, charity shops and posh shops. Particularly impressed with Greengages in Catherine Street - very clued up with gluten-free options. Ask Italian were helpful too.

So to sum up, we would definitely recommend this hotel. It ticks all the boxes. However, it's on the edge of Salisbury heading out towards Wilton and the walk to and from the centre isn't the prettiest but that's not the end of the world. The many advantages definitely outweigh this. In addition it overlooks a cricket pitch, there's an excellent antique centre a few minutes away if that is what interests anyone and there is plenty of space to park your car.

Room Tip: We liked Room 11 on the lst floor facing the cricket pitch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vegetariantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here with my daughter, accommodation very clean . Spa bath in bathroom but out of order. To awake each morning early to the smell of breakfast cooking not very pleasant . Breakfast good with vegetarian sausages provided. As I understand the owner was absent and the lady at reception had very little local knowledge and was of little help in suggesting places to visit .If in the area again I would look elsewhere to stay as although the weather was good and we both enjoy walking the trek via an industrial estate to Salisbury was not the most pleasing !

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CathyB710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Wonderful staff who were very welcoming. The hotel twin bedded room was to a very clean standard and our request prior to arrival, for change to blankets instead of duvets was dutifully carried out.
Breakfasts were plentiful and offered a wide selection of choice.
My wife and I would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

We have just stayed at The Cricket Field for the fourth time. As usual the room, service and food were amazing! The family are friendly and helpful and make us feel welcome on every visit. Thank you very much!
The Swifts

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Waitressinwaiting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

The deluxe double room was of a good size with tea making facilities and very clean.The location on the A36 is easy to find and well set back from the main road so noise isn't an issue.The breakfast was good and the waitress was extremely pleasant and attentive.I would recommend this b & b if you are looking for good value in the Salisbury area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanfoin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
1.6 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
1.5 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
1.6 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#8 of 16 in Salisbury
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel & Spa
Milford Hall Hotel & Spa
#5 of 16 in Salisbury
796 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Old Mill Hotel
The Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harnham
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cricket Field House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cricket Field House

Address: 1 Cricket Field Cottages Wilton Road, Salisbury SP2 9NS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Salisbury
#2 Luxury Hotel in Salisbury
#2 Romantic Hotel in Salisbury
Price Range: $97 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cricket Field House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cricket Field House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cricket Field Hotel
Cricket Field Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing