We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cricket Field House”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cricket Field House
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Certificate of Excellence
West Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Cricket Field House”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We booked late but were glad to find this gem, a professional & friendly Guest House, It is close to Salisbury & we walked there for an evening meal, guided by Brian who supplied a useful map too. The room was neat, tidy, quiet and well laid out & comfortable, breakfast was top class. Close enough to Stone Henge to get there in time to beat the crowds or make the most of your day in Salisbury, shopping or sight seeing. If you have time, the gardens are beautifully laid out & cared for.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheWeezle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    88
    16
    6
    7
See reviews for
50
228
19
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nr Bristol
Level Contributor
86 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

A most courteous and helpful greeting at Cricket Field House Reception set the scene for a brief one day visit to this most pleasant cathedral city.
Our room very comfortable and had a modern and spotless bathroom. We had a very good night's sleep.
A wide choice was offered on the Breakfast menu. It was served quickly and was delicious.
The politeness. attention to detail and high quality service which this family business offered provided all the ingredients for a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2weekenders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, MN
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012 via mobile

Free wifi, comfortable newly decorated room, good location, helpful staff, delicious breakfast, ample parking. Just right for our two nights in Salisbury. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank stillwaterlocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, NC
Level Contributor
569 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We stayed at Cricket Field house on our first night of touring England. As we were going to Stonehenge early the next morning, we wanted somewhere close and this fit the bill nicely as it was 7 miles away. Upon checking in, Andrew helped us with our luggage and gave us a recommendation for dinner. He recommended a quaint country pub named Victoria and Albert's that was about 5 minutes from the Cricket Field House. In case I cannot rate Victoria and Albert's under the restaurant section of TA, let me say how great it was. Maggie the owner, and her son Taylor who is the Chef were very friendly. the food was great, there is a nice wine list and the pub is exactly what you would imagine a country pub to look like.

Back to Cricket Field House- the rooms were very clean and welcoming, the bed was comfortable, there was plenty of hot water with excellent water pressure ( we have come to realize this is not the norm in England.) we had a lovely view of the cricket ground next door.

We had to get up extremely early to tour the inner stones of Stonehenge and we came back to Cricket Field House after our tour and had breakfast. Once again, Andrew was on hand to serve us our breakfast. The full English breakfast was great and we enjoyed it. The family that own this B & B were all exceptionally friendly and helpful. We had a wonderful stay and it was great to have our first experience at a B& B be so positive. If we are back in Salisbury we will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Get a second floor room with a view of the cricket fields.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank iamstoked22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

This hotel is situated very conveniently to the sites around Salisbury. We walked into town to see the Cathedral, market day etc. Room and food was good. The staff were wonderful and quick to help.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen2Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Excellent, convenient location for exploring the sites in and around Salisbury, including Stonehenge which is only 10 minutes away. Very easy to find and drive to.
Very comfortable, clean and cozy room with great amenities.
A wide variety of food available for breakfast, which was cooked very well.
Best of all was the extremely friendly, helpful and welcoming staff (including the resident pet dogs!) who made our stay truly memorable.
Would definitely go back and stay again, and would highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenji S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

AMAZING - I stayed at Cricket Field House for two weeks as I was on a course that was being held in their spacious meeting room. I was greeted by Margaret and shown to a clean and well-presented room (which was cleaned daily), the bathroom was spotless and the bed was lovely. The variety at breakfast was lovely if you didn’t fancy a heavy breakfast but the English was beautifully cooked and presented well. Margaret and Brian go out of their way to help with any little detail to improve your stay; they made me feel so welcome and could not do enough for me. The location was perfect to local amenities or a stroll into town. After 14 days of being at Cricket Field and enjoying my stay so much, I was a little sad to leave as they are such warm and caring people who work so hard at making your stay as comfortable as possible. Thank you Margaret & Brian for everything you did, you are such lovely people and made my two week intense course more relaxed. Love Nicky xxx

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nt4ph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
1.6 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
1.3 mi away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 16 in Salisbury
754 reviews
1.3 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#5 of 16 in Salisbury
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#11 of 16 in Salisbury
278 reviews
1.6 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#7 of 16 in Salisbury
864 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cricket Field House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cricket Field House

Property: Cricket Field House
Address: 1 Cricket Field Cottages Wilton Road, Salisbury SP2 9NS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Salisbury
#2 Romantic Hotel in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cricket Field House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cricket Field House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cricket Field Hotel
Cricket Field Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing