We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the drive.”

The Rainbow on The Lake
Ranked #31 of 269 Restaurants in Salisbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $22
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Well worth the drive.”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Can strongly recommend the Rainbow on the Lake at Steeple Langford. You try taking a lactose intolerant vegan out for a meal, it's not easy. The Rainbow's staff were so helpful and considerate. Nothing was too much trouble and the food was delicious and reasonably priced. Beautiful surroundings, wonderful interior and pleasant and polite staff. Tick VG. My only quibble - the online sample menu does appear to offer a good seven vegetarian dishes, which have not been adulterated by cheese but in reality, only two dishes were available and the delicious vegetable tagine that we all ordered, wasn't even on the menu.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shazza115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    62
    16
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“The best pub”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Loved this place!! We staying in the village for a week and had dinner here twice. The food was fantastic and everyone was very friendly. Some great choices on tap as well. If you are in the area I highly recommend that you stop in here. We were travelling around the UK for three months and this was one of my favourite places of the trip. Would stay in the village again just to go to this pub!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BrisbaneHoneyBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice place for a meal”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Have eaten here more than once, its a lovely place for a meal. The large conservatory overlooking the lake makes for some wonderful views whilst enjoying your meal.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Clive M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Post run fuel stop”
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

It's been sometime since I've been here, so having been in the area for a race, decided to go here for the post race refueling.
The service was quick, there was a pleasant atmosphere in the resturant with all but a couple of tables occupied.
The only comment I had was the website shown a menu with a good vegetarian selection & not all with mushrooms. The menu used on the day had just two, I decided on the pea & mint risotto.
They had a small selection of Ale my choice was the Sharps, Cornish Coaster.

Would I go here again...yes.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pjohnson0410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Lovely place, lovely people.”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Went to a meeting, and there were 15 of us, we had prebooked our three courses, and I have to say the food was absolutely deliciious and the portions were exceptionally generous. We had previously been to the restaurant in December, so it was very good to see the views in the light as opposed to the dark. We all thoroughly enjoyed our meals, the staff were attentive and nothing was too much trouble. I can really recommend this place as somewhere to have a thoroughly enjoyable evening with excellent food. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WTOtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rainbow on The Lake also viewed

Berwick St James, Salisbury
 
Quidhampton, Salisbury
Wilton, Salisbury
 

Been to The Rainbow on The Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing