We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of my all time favourites” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dessert Shop - CLOSED

The Dessert Shop
Price range: $6 - $19
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Seating
Description: The business is now under new management
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of my all time favourites”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

I found this gem just after it opened, and have used it as a regular stop for myself as well as introducing it to friends. The patisseries are delicious (macaroons are divine) and the staff are so lovely. A sweet place with quality food, a rareity alongside the plethora of chains out there

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ebrockbank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paullilly, Public Relations Manager at The Dessert Shop, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
We are really glad that you enjoy Colin's cakes and tarts and I agree that the macaroons are really mouth watering. Thanks for you comments which are gratefully received by both Colin and Maggie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    3
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
330 reviews
242 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“A touch of class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Get your map out and find this little gem at all costs, why this shop is not located on the main High Street I just do not know.

I understand that all the fantastic and amazing cakes are home made by the owner. There is a press cutting on the wall saying this guy was asked to supply no less than Harrods with his cakes.

This patisserie run by Colin who makes the cakes, would not be out of place in the heart of Paris, keep your eyes open or you will pass it by.

The Dessert Shop is for a light lunch and then a cake or two with coffee. The range of cakes and pastries cannot be described, I suggest eat one in house and then take a selection home.

The light lunch menu is good with a good selection of tasty bites. If you are visiting salisbury its worth noteing its open Saturday and Sunday. When we went it was lunch time on a Friday and seemed to be full of mainly locals who no doubt have kept this place a well kept secret.

En jo.................xxx

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank spencerstephen27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paullilly, Public Relations Manager at The Dessert Shop, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thank you so much for our kind moments which are greatly appreciated by Colin and Maggie. The reason why we are not on the High Strert is the large rents and the even higher business rates. The multi nationals can afford those by not the small indepentant shops. I have to admit that the cakes tarts and savouries that Colin makes are second to none and I agree that they can not be beaten in this country.Let us hope that more people will read Trip Advisor and find their way to The Dessert Shop. Just to note that we are no longer open on a Sunday. We trade from Tuesday to Saturday 10am to 6pm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Had salt beef on rye bread with gherkins, mustard, a little salad and a balsamic dressing, delicious! Then chose black forest gateaux, again delicious. We usually go at the end of an afternoon for tea and cake and take one or two cakes for my parents and maybe some for us. We come ready armed with a cool bag and freezer pack to keep them cool in the car. We shall certainly come again for lunch or afternoon tea.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Katharine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paullilly, Public Relations Manager at The Dessert Shop, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind comments which mean so much to both Colin and Maggie. Especially after the last really bad review( which we think came from local competition) it is so reassuring to know that we still have loyal customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice little place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Small but good food and drink - nice service - a little pricey but worth a try if you have time. Lots of competition in Salisbury but not the worst.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paullilly, Public Relations Manager at The Dessert Shop, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Glad to hear you enjoyed your visit to The Dessert Shop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not my favourite”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Just did not tick the box for me. It was just about average and have tried better in Salisbury. Service was passable but did not go that extra mile to make me feel special.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrman74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paullilly, Public Relations Manager at The Dessert Shop, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
We are sorry that you did not enjoy your visit to The Desert Shop. The cuisine is based on high standard continental pastry work, especially the cakes and tarts which are French inspired. Colin,a pastry chef of some repute, produces everything with no products brought in. We cater for customers with a discerning palate .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dessert Shop also viewed

Salisbury, Wiltshire
Salisbury, Wiltshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing