We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff - great location - great value”

The Kings Arms Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Kings Arms Hotel
Ranked #16 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Reviewed June 21, 2010

The hotel is in a perfect location, right by one of the gates to the Cathedral and just a few yards from the main shops. In addition, the hotel has free (secure) parking in a nearby office premises - a real bonus. The staff are fabulous - couldn't be nicer or more helpful. By nature of the age of the building the rooms are very quirky but we were upgraded and had a spacious bedroom and large bathroom with very efficient shower. We didn't have dinner there but can recommend the breakfast - good choice and quality and plentiful helpings. All in all I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again or recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anth11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 105 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2010

A place to stay with a personal touch...from the start we were treated warmely by Lawrence who was both professional, friendly and very helpful... he ensured our stay was memorable and enjoyable. The service is excellent and he was always on hand to deal with any queries we had... We had a lovely room with a four poster bed which was spotless, very comfortable and spacious...The hotel itself was also full of character.. winding staircases and oak beams... Breakfast was to die for!!!!..... will definately book again for a return visit....It was nice to be treated as a person and not a room number..

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teenypoppet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2010

I started a business trip and spent two nights in the Kings Arms. I had planned two more nights in another hotel in Salisbury for holiday with my husband, but after staying at the Kings Arms, I changed my reservation. I prefer to stay at the historic establishments with character and ambience. When I saw the King Charles Suite I knew it was where I wanted to stay the additional nights.

In addition to the historic hotel, and the terrific location, the staff did all they could to ensure our stay was the best. I had two nights in Salisbury, one night back in Bristol, then back to Salisbury for two more nights. I left the bulk of my luggage at the hotel in Salisbury taking only a night bag back to Bristol. Such convenience and kindness was appreciated. The staff also looked into booking tours for me to Stonehenge and helping out on other matters. It was a great time.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jed90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2010

As indicated in other reviews, this place has plenty of charm. The staff on the whole were very helpful and friendly. The room was nice, the bathroom was ok, however the toilet was dirty and could have done with a good bit of bleach and a good scrub. Ate in the restaurant in the evening and the food was great. Breakfast was good, however the staff got my order wrong both mornings, they also ran out of things each day, even though we were one of the 1st down. Bar was very quiet on Saturday night.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bristolkevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2010

made to feel welcome from the moment we arrived. staff were great. room was a good size with lots of character. had a home cooked curry in the evening which was really tasty, also the full english breakfast before we checked out was well presented made with local produce,fab. will definately stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boyracer366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2010

The staff at this historic and quirky establishment were fantastic! The food in the restaurant was of excellent quality and plentiful. If someone is looking for cookie cutter modern, they won't find it here. The King's Arms has uneven floors and interesting staircases. The lounge area was comfortable and welcoming.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JustClio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2010

Stayed in the hotel one night,we wanted to browse around the town and take in a visit to the cathedral over a weekend.
We were upgraded from superior to Kings room,by the hotel so no extra cost.
The hotel is a very historic building with lots of period features and the room had interesting stone coat of arms above fire place,irregular shape floors,small windows hanging over the street etc and all was very comfortable. Staff were very helpful and food in the restaurant was good,both in the evening and at breakfast.
Traffic a little noisy first thing Saturday morning,but this a minor criticism,with a location right in town opposite the cathedral,this is to be expected.If King Charles had no double glazing why should we.
We found Salisbury very pleasant,and the Cathedral and Close are wonderful.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank watties57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
0.3 mi away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 16 in Salisbury
871 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Old Mill Hotel
The Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harnham
341 reviews
0.5 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#6 of 16 in Salisbury
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms Hotel

Address: 9-13 St. Johns Street, Salisbury SP1 2SB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Price Range: $104 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the stunning medieval city of Salisbury and facing its beautiful Cathedral this 16th Century Tudor building allegedly housed Kings Charles 1st&2nd. The Kings Arms Hotel lies within easy reach of some of Southern England's foremost treasures.This Salisbury hotel offers accommodation in 17 individual ensuite rooms with original features such as oak panelling and beams, stone fireplaces & four poster beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The Kings Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Arms Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing