We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So pleased”

The Boat House Cafe Bar
Ranked #143 of 269 Restaurants in Salisbury
Cuisines: Bar, British, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“So pleased”
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

We have lived in salisbury for over 20 years and the boat house has changed hands many times, their reputation terrible at times. We walked in on a Sunday to give it a go after new people took it over in April. We had the most amazing two course Sunday lunch with excellent friendly service throughout. Delicious whitebait and beef that melted in your mouth. Great value. We will be back.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    52
    30
    18
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Surpassed our expectations!”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We visited The Boathouse as we could use in on a Saturday night with our Tastecard.

We were more than pleasantly surprised, I visited the restaurant at 6pm with my husband and 7 year old son.

My husband had pate and I had scallops with pea purée and bacon, they were lovely but for four scallops and at £7.95, almost £2 a scallop seems pretty steep.

To follow I had duck which came with mash and loads of vegetables. The meals as lovely, my only slight criticism would be I asked for the duck to me served to be pink and it was slightly over. My his husband had a steak and ale pie which he said was delicious. The only problem would be the kids meals, they're pretty uninspiring, we had a list of four or five things which were only served with chips or new potatoes. My son had chicken goujons and chips which, without any vegetables or salad made a pretty beige plate of food. He enjoyed in nonetheless.

Finally, we had a blueberry cheesecake (which had more of a moose like consistency) and a lemon tart between us. Both were delicious.

The whole meal including two rounds of soft drinks came to just under £40. The service was attentive, the food hot and good and surpassed all expectations. We'll definitely be back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
83 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great food and nice location”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We arrived in Salisbury in the rain and our Hosts at the Edwardian Lodge recommended this as a good place to eat. Upon arriving the restaurant was busy but we were seated immediately. The service was excellent the food was excellent and the food portions a good size for any appetite. The evening was a pleasant experience after wet journey. Would recommend if in the area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Made an impression”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Good pub food, good service and reasonable prices for food and drinks. Nice location, lovely outside sitting area by the river for the sunny days. As I was expecting the average pub fare, it has made an impression.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good riverside pub”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Good food good outside seating on the river but please please employ more staff to speed up the service, it's just that bit too s l o w .

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AimeFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boat House Cafe Bar also viewed

Salisbury, Wiltshire
 
Salisbury, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Boat House Cafe Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing