We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great light lunch, business meeting”

The White Horse Inn
Ranked #94 of 270 Restaurants in Salisbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $23
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The White Horse Inn welcomes you and your family to our historic pub and gardens. Whether visiting Salisbury or heading to the New Forest or South Coast we are ideally situated. Serving delicious meals 7 days a week, with thirst quenching local ales and a varied wine list we have something for everyone here at The White Horse Inn.
Salisbury, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great light lunch, business meeting”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

My business partner and I arranged to meet someone for a light lunch at the White Horse, very pleasantly surprised at the quality of both food and service. Despite a good looking menu, we kept it simple and opted for sandwiches. Excellent bread and fillings and served with tortilla chips on the side. Comfortable, spacious surroundings, good Wi-Fi and friendly, efficient service. Would highly recommend, we will certainly be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew W, Manager at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Hi Jonathan,

Thank you for your review! It is great to see that people are using us for business; with free wifi, free parking and our great location we are ideally suited to meetings. The bread for sandwiches comes from the bakery in Downton and is marvellous isn't it! We certainly are glad that you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    18
    6
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Milford on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We visited this pub today on the basis of the reviews on Trip Advisor and have to say that I wasn't disappointed. The service is great and very friendly. The food was of a high quality - we all had the roast Sunday dinner and it was delicious. Reasonably priced and attractively served. I only wish more people would frequent this pub as it is really worth it. Small point - please put a home made pie on the menu!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew W, Manager at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for your kind words! It is wonderful to know that people are using TripAdvisor to find us and then leaving more comments! It was our pleasure to have your dine with us on Sunday, and we are thrilled that you enjoyed the food and service here at The White Horse Inn.

We did have a lovely homemade shortcrust pie on our winter menu, I will ask Chef to make sure that it appears on the specials board frequently, but if you let me know a week or so before you come next, I will have him prepare it for your visit!

Looking forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very friendly place for Sunday lunch”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I took the advice of people on this site and tried the White Horse for lunch today. We were not disappointed. The staff were very friendly and the service was excellent. The food is pretty standard pub fare but well done and good value for money. This is a pub where you can get a good meal rather than a gastropub which really wants to be a restaurant. As a result its a relaxed place for a meal or a drink and we will certainly be going back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew W, Manager at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Linda,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your thoughts here on TripAdvisor, and thanks for letting us know that you found us here!!
We are proud to be a traditional pub, serving good food with smiles and passion, and it is very rewarding to know that people appreciate what we are trying to achieve here. We had fun hosting you and look forward to the next time we can welcome you to The White Horse Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cuckoo Fair”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Called in for dinner and catch up with friends on the evening of Cuckoo Fair. The bar was buzzing , great atmosphere. The staff were plentiful behind the bar and in outdoor area, they had obviously had a manic day but were still on their game delivering excellent , speedy service , with smiles and humour. My friend and myself both ordered burgers which were massive! Well cooked and presented, will be returning again for Steak night.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew W, Manager at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
You certainly picked a good day to come in!!! We had a great time working the Cuckoo Fair and I am glad that showed to the customers, even the guests we had in the evening. Good choice with the burger, we think they are delicious and I am so glad you and your friend enjoyed them! Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us and we can't wait to host on our fantastic Steak Night!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopton on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Cream Tea”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Excellent cream tea here yesterday.Family gathering after funeral
Staff very friendly
and helpful
Nice decor and very clean

  • Visited May 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne1943_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew W, Manager at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
We are very happy that we could help on this sad day. I am glad that everything went well, and that you enjoyed the cream tea. I hope that we can meet you again in happier circumstances.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White Horse Inn also viewed

 
Salisbury, Wiltshire
Salisbury, Wiltshire
 
Redlynch, New Forest National Park Wiltshire
Quidhampton, Salisbury
 

Been to The White Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing