We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“scrummy food, cosy seating, fast service”

Boston Tea Party Salisbury
Ranked #5 of 19 Coffee & Tea in Salisbury
Price range: $6 - $14
Cuisines: American, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Description: Boston Tea Party is a small family owned independent café group serving simple well-prepared food & drinks made with great ingredients, skill and love. Ethically sourced, affordable, feel-good & excellent quality - made from scratch onsite everyday by people who care about what they do. BTP Salisbury opened in one of Salisbury’s most historic buildings, the Old George Inn which dates back to 1314. It would be hard to overstate the historical significance & pedigree of this Grade 1 listed building. William Shakespeare is believed to have performed one of his plays in its courtyard, Oliver Cromwell slept here on his way to join the army, Samuel Pepys wrote about the Inn in his diary after a stay & both H G Wells & Charles Dickens made mentioned of it in their writings.
Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

habe been to this venue several times since we happened avrosd it in the summer of 2012... always enjoy the food, nice cosy seating upstairs.... would definitely recommend!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Wammy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick D, General Manager at Boston Tea Party Salisbury, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

thanks for the great review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (516)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

462 - 466 of 516 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2013

We have been to Boston Tea Party on quite a few occasions on Saturday mornings for breakfast as the menu choice is good and appealing breakfasts such as Boston baked beans and baked eggs with chorizo. The issue is that one week you go and it is excellent but on returning there is no comparison to what was once excellent Boston Baked Beans - spicy, crispy bacon and well presented turns into a mess just dumped on the plate partly hot partly cold with some dry lumps that had obviously not been mixed in when heated - I guess from a container in a microwave??? In fairness we complained and it was replaced and apologies given but having already waited over 20 minutes my partner had finished. We return in hope that it will be one of the good occasions with the extremely cheerful man serving not the rather abrupt female and the food not the thrown on the plate and no attention to the quality.
It is almost like there is 2 sets of staff and you take a chance which ones are working as to the quality of service and food you get. No doubt we will return this weekend with fingers crossed as when they are good the Boston baked beans are delicious.

Thank Zus9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick D, General Manager at Boston Tea Party Salisbury, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

glad to hear you like the food choices and come back regularly, however not so good that you are not getting consistant service and food. Keep trying we will get consistant!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

A querky venue with plenty of space/areas and friendly staff. Was disappointed with the portion size and there was a wee wait before the food arrived but enjoyed the taste of my pulled pork sandwich with chips. Would either recommend adding more chips/salad or reducing the price slightly to reflect the portion size. Great selection of cakes which look homemade. I would return to this place if I am in the area again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank T0P5Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Great little place for lunch with lots of variety of food, drinks and seating across 3 floors. Really liked the top floor with the floating tea pots and quirky touches. Had the veggie burger which was lovely and very filling alon with an ultimate bananna smoothie - all really nice. Only weird thing that I would change was the unisex toilets on the 2nd floor - odd and surely they have enough space for separate loos. Would recommend for a nice lunch.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ms-greeneyes5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick D, General Manager at Boston Tea Party Salisbury, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Thanks for the great review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I took my sister and her family here for lunch and everyone was very happy with the food. We were served quickly and all the staff were friendly. Knowing that this place can get very busy I was pleasantly surprised to find that we were served so quickly. The food was absolutely delicious.
Having read a few of the other reviews I was surprised to hear people complain about paying in advance, it's a cafe not a restaurant. Also, I think the prices are pretty standard for Salisbury, I don't mind paying it as I think the food is really nice.
The only criticism I have is that carrying a tray full of hot drinks up 2 flights of stairs isn't particularly fun. Not much you can do about that though!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JoMorris3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick D, General Manager at Boston Tea Party Salisbury, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Thankyou for your great review,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boston Tea Party Salisbury also viewed

Salisbury, Wiltshire
Salisbury, Wiltshire
 

Been to Boston Tea Party Salisbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing