We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Salisburys best kept secret”
Review of Number 64

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Number 64
Ranked #24 of 58 Salisbury B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 4, 2013

My partner and I stayed whilst visiting Salisbury for a performance at the Playhouse Theater. I can honestly stay I was a lovely experience. John and Jill are the perfect hosts. We stayed in the loft room which was tastefully decorated, spotlessly clean with tea, coffee, fresh fruit and biscuits.
The optional breakfast was plentyful and worth every penny.
Having never stayed at a B&B before I was a little sceptical, however, it was fantastic choice in great location close to the town centre with parking adjacent. Lots of pleasant bars and good quality resturants near by. I look forward to booking again next we return for a theater break.
Big thank you to John and Jill for a lovely stay. Shaun & Renee

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renee2013_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
There are newer reviews for Number 64
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 59 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2012

We came to Salisbury for only a couple of days to visit the Christmas Markets, the Cathedral, Stonehenge and Old Sarum and chose this BnB due to a very central location and the many great reviews.
I can now say that they truly deserve them! What a lovely and clean room (we had the Main Suite) with complimentary fruits and biscuits, Wifi and a lovely spacious bathroom. John was very friendly and also helped with finding longer term parking. We really did not want to leave and had a great time.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lioba86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We stayed here for one night in June in the main suite. The room was very pleasant and charming with lots of space and nice decor. It even had a bathtub as well as a shower. There was also free wi-fi, which worked very well.

The location is convenient, just a few minutes walk to the market square and bus station and a 15-20 minute walk to the train station.

Important tip: ** Watch your head when going into and out of the bathroom - the top of the doorway is very low and we each hit our head a couple of times even after being warned by the owner when he showed us the room!! ** They should really post some sort of visible warning sign in the room, since it is easy to forget...

Nice extras in the room included a lovely fresh fruit basket, biscuits/candy bars, and coffee/tea facilities. The fruit was especially appreciated.

We had the optional breakfast and it was very good. There was a small extra charge, but it was worth it. Very pleasant breakfast room and a good full hot breakfast.

The owners were very friendly and helpful. They served breakfast at our choice of time, kept our luggage for us for a few hours after check out, and called us a taxi.

I would highly recommend this place, but watch your head :-)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goodtrip77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

My wife and I stayed for one night in order to visit Salisbury itself and then Stourhead National Trust property. From reading reviews we were expecting top class accommodation and breakfast. We were not at all disappointed, as others have said spotlessly clean, delicious fruit bowl (and biscuits!) perfectly cooked breakfast - serviettes provided :-). My wife often finds it difficult to get a good night's sleep when we are away; in this case she slept like a log!
Finally, the hosts - John and Jill are really lovely people, very genuine. What John doesn't know about Salisbury isn't worth knowing.
Overall exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterSmithBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Elaine and I stayed here on a visit to Wiltshire. It was an ideal location to explore Salisbury and John was a mine of information and both John and Jill were excellent hosts. Breakfast was lovely - only shortcoming no serviettes. The room was spotless and comfy alhough the low door to the bathroom was a peril.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPP12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed for one night in the loft room at Number 64. The room was spotless! It was very cosy and had everything we needed. The little fruit basket was a nice touch. Location could not have been better! Only a couple minutes walk to the bus station and the square. John and Jill were awesome hosts! Very kind and hospitable. They helped us with everything from finding restaurants to electronics stores. We had a very good breakfast in the morning. We had a lovely time and would definitely stay at Number 64 again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miseyama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

My partner and I stayed for one night at Number 64. The owners were very helpful, providing plenty of information on the local area. The room was spotless and very comfortable and the facilities were great. The location is also great- just a short walk from the centre of Salisbury.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.2 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#13 of 16 in Salisbury
418 reviews
0.7 mi away
Websters Bed and Breakfast
Websters Bed and Breakfast
#9 of 58 in Salisbury
263 reviews
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Huntsman Tavern
#52 of 58 in Salisbury
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Chapter House
The Chapter House
#6 of 58 in Salisbury
621 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sarum College
Sarum College
#14 of 58 in Salisbury
102 reviews
0.3 mi away
Byways House
Byways House
#37 of 58 in Salisbury
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number 64? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number 64

Address: 64 St. Edmunds Church Street, Salisbury SP1 1EQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Salisbury
Price Range: $82 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Number 64 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the heart of Salisbury. This central accommodation at Number 64 St Edmunds Church Street SP1 1EQ is conveniently situated for visits to the Cathedral (15 minutes walk), the City Centre (2 mins walk) with its wide range of shops, pubs, bars and restaurants, Salisbury Playhouse, the Odeon cinema. The house is only 100 yards from Salisbury Arts Centre and Salisbury Registry Office. It is an easy 5 minute walk to join the Bus Tours to Stonehenge. The Main Suite (first floor): a double room with bathroom (shower and bath) en suite. Tea and Coffee making facilities and well stocked hospitality tray including fresh fruit. Flat screen TV with Freeview and DVD player. A free 150 Mb WiFi facility is available The Loft Room (second floor) a double room with shower room en suite and a rooftop view of Salisbury. Tea and Coffee making facilities and well stocked hospitality tray including fresh fruit. Flat screen TV with Freeview and DVD player. A free 150 Mb WiFi facility is a available. Optional English Breakfast: £8.50 Per person Fruit juice, cereals, locally sourced bacon, sausage and egg (fried, poached or scrambled), toast, marmalade, tea or coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Number 64 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing