We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food and Atmosphere”

The Cathedral Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #180 of 268 Restaurants in Salisbury
Price range: $4 - $31
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located in the heart of the Salisbury, just a short walk from The Cathedral, shops, restaurants and Theatres. We offer free WIFI throughout and some great meal deals. The bar and restaurant area are of a contemporary style with a traditional feel. We want you to enjoy a relaxed friendly experience while you eat some great freshly made dishes. Our aim is to offer service that is second to none, while offering great choice and value. We also have a great outside dining and drinking area.
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Food and Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

We visited the Cathedral Hotel last night for an evening meal. Arrived early so grabbed the table by the fire, revisited our child-hood by playing Operation and Snakes and Ladders, then the food arrived. The starter was lovely, loaded potato skin, the main meals were a good size and tasty, and the apple pie desert a good size and home made. The bill was under £50 for 3 of us, excluding the first round of drinks but including coffee. Service was attentive, but not intrusive. I think we were in the quieter part of the pub and it was lovely just to sit and catch up with our friend. We hope to return as we loved it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CathedralHotel, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Chhunter

Thank you for your great review. We will aim to score 5 out of 5 on your next visit. I am delighted you enjoyed relaxing by the fire and chatting with your friend without the bar music intruding on your evening. It is great that you enjoyed some of the home made dishes we offer and you found them to be reasonably priced. Once again thank you for visiting and we look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards
Tony Negal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    39
    19
    15
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
208 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great food, nice place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

This hotel/restaurant was not far from our accommodation and we had passed it by a couple of times to eat at another pub but on our last night decided to give it a try and it was well worth it. Meals were very large and definitely seemed fresh produce etc. My husband had the lamb and said it great, I had seafood which was very good but we should not have ordered the entrée because it was just too much. Reasonable prices and pretty good beer. Service was excellent.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rodgerskay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CathedralHotel, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear rodgerskay

Thank you for your great review. I am delighted that we were able to help you enjoy your overall experience of Salisbury. It is great that you enjoyed the food and thought the service was excellent. I hope you visit us again soon.

Kind Regards
Tony Negal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not inspired”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

My wife received a meal voucher to eat at this hotel in Salisbury, if your into pub grub it would pass I suppose. I request the chops and was asked how would I like them done, medium rare was my request. Look on my face book picture and see the whole meal not very appetising. My wife loves her Scampi when it is Scampi there were certainly no langoustine tails here or even a decent shrimp. What she received was battered gloop. Would not ever recommend this place as an eatery may be OK if you have had a dozen beers and don't care what you eat. The young people doing the service and clearing the tables were excellent.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatMac253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CathedralHotel, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear PatMac253

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your visit to our hotel restaurant. It is unfortunate that you did not inform us of any issues during your visit. I hope we make it easy for guests to give us feedback during their visit so they can give us the opportunity to correct any poor quality food standards. I can assure any potential visitors to our bar restaurant our kitchen team are made fully aware of any shortcomings with regard poor food standards and we analyse every review to make any improvements that are required. We also inform them when we receive great reviews. Thank you for your great comments about our serving team. I hope you will visit again and let us show you that your experience was not the norm.

Kind Regards
Tony Negal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Sticky tables and they can't make a sandwich.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Went for lunch here earlier and...oh dear. I assumed that it was difficult to get a basic sandwich wrong, apparently not. Sat at a table, which was sticky - i'm guessing from the night before. Ordered two sandwiches on white bread, both ended up on brown bread with no explanation. The menu states that the bread is freshly baked from reeve the baker - it was anything but. As for the weird left over poppadom thing they try and hide the old dry salad with...i could go on. If you're looking for lunch go elsewhere...

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stockbridge123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CathedralHotel, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Willberj

I would say to any reviewer who receives the kind of quality and service that this reviewer has described to ensure they ask to speak to a member of staff and return their food and ask for replacements. We work very, very hard to ensure we serve good quality, fresh, good value for money food and service. We gratefully appreciate when customers give us positive feedback, but we also need customers to tell us when and if it is wrong. We serve all our sandwiches with home made Tortillas Crisps sprinkled Chilli powder which are very popular.

Regards
Tony Negal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morgantown
Level Contributor
121 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent food & service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

We arrived earlier than planned in town after a day of sightseeing and were very hungry. After walking around the downtown area we found that it would be awhile for most places to open for dinner. We decided to give this place a try and had a wonderful meal. The staff were friendly and polite, the service very good. The food was very good and a good value. The restrooms very clean. We would definitely recommend for dinner.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mgtnjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CathedralHotel, Owner at The Cathedral Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear mgtnjm

Thank you for your great review. I am delighted you had Dinner with us and enjoyed both the food and service you received so much. I hope if you are in Salisbury again you will visit us. We try very hard to help visitors and locals alike to enjoy their experience of Salisbury.

Kind Regards
Tony Negal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cathedral Hotel Restaurant also viewed

 
Salisbury, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Cathedral Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing