We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small portions, not great quality.”
Review of Silver Plough

Silver Plough
Ranked #40 of 270 Restaurants in Salisbury
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Silver Plough is a traditional country pub set in a village just outside of Salisbury, we have a wide variety of seasonal homecooked food, selection of Badger Ales, friendly staff and overall welcoming atmosphere.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Small portions, not great quality.”
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Went for Sunday lunch, very disappointed. Two very thin slices of cremated lamb, a small portion of over cooked veg and three potatoes for nearly £13. Desserts bland. We will not be back and I would not recommend this place to anyone!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    79
    35
    21
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury
Level Contributor
52 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Reliably good!”
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

Went here for lunch on a rainy Monday with a friend. The welcome from Sue and Stephen was very warm and genuine. My friend had a ploughman's, which was very generous, big chunk of good quality cheddar, big chunk of fresh and warm bread, plus the usual bits and pieces. I had the king prawns in garlic butter with focaccia, which was, on first sight, fairly small (although it was a starter), but the flavour was gorgeous and it was plenty big enough. I didn't bring my dog this time, but he's always very welcome too (in the back bar). Highly recommended!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank TheOriginalRobochick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
363 reviews
232 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Warm and Welcoming”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

The building and interior is homely and comfortable and my 12 year old loved it on first sight. No matter the weather it has a roaring fire. Steak and ale and mushroom pie is brilliant, special Sunday lunch roast pork also FAB, the bartenders are friendly, service is speedy, drinks selection also good. Skittle Alley great fun. Don't miss this, go again, great for families. My daughter's favourite pub!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marianne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A bit pricey”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Joined some friends for sunday lunch. Very friendly staff and a nice ambiance.
Unfortunately the roast lamb dinner was very small. £13.95 for 3 small pieces of fatty lamb, 5 small roast potatoes and small amount of veg, which I could not identify. A bit disappointing.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sven606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pewsey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The best fish and chips I've had in years!”
Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

Delightful pub, excellent fish and chips, beside a warm log burner with wonderful service. We were late and desperate for something to eat. The kitchen had closed but they still made us lunch with big smiles! Brilliant on all fronts and wish it was nearer.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dordee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Silver Plough also viewed

 
Salisbury, Wiltshire
 

Been to Silver Plough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing