We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing weekend”
Review of The Chapter House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Chapter House
Ranked #6 of 59 Salisbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Our return trip to the Lazy Cow was even better than the first one from a year ago. The staff were incredibly attentive, the setting continues to be amazing and the food was as good as ever. I have read many of the reviews and understand how it can be quite noisy at times but we expected that in the centre of a city. Ok, I agree that they could have better sound proofing on the windows but overall the quality of the room, bed, sheets and lighting made up for it and we slept well. Any small mistakes at dinner (missing onion rings) were rectified quickly and compensated for. Excellent weekend, I would recommend it completely. Just take ear plugs for some rooms.........

Room Tip: Room 15 was good as it had a living room and bedroom which made it easy to get away from any noise a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (633)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

407 - 413 of 633 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was comfortable and relaxing, perfect location if your planning on looking round the cathedral.
We were in the annexe, the room was clean and inviting as soon as you opened the door, and having an iPhone docking station was a relief as we had forgotten our charger.
The little things do make a difference.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Markw1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed at The Lazy Cow for 1 night checking in on Sat 23rd Nov.

The building is very qwerky being so old but truly superb.

First impressions - Staff were incredibly friendly and helpful when checking in & out.

Room was clean and spacious. I stay in "branded" properties all over the world and this beats most of them hands down. Great Bar and restaurant as well with a breakfast that outstanding.

This is not a boxed clone type hotel like so many around so if you are looking for a change in a unique old English style building this is recommended. Great value, great food and an all round wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carl_ward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

Good food but never enough staff to serve. Have been a few times now and say never again each time as the service is so poor I have been offered free food as apology. To be great they just need a extra pair of hands. Also have had glass in the ketchup and finished main an waited 30 mins and then got onion rings. Shame really.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank SionE_QQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We were given a voucher for a free one night stay at the hotel as we had a bad experience the previous time we were there!

As we needed to spend a night in Salisbury in November we thought we'd take up the offer!

Positive - staff are amazing and very helpful.
Our room was very small but clean. The hot water took an age to come through!

We decided to have a meal at the pub - disastrous!

Waited an age for our steaks and when they arrived they were cold, along with the bernaise sauce. Apologies from staff and steak heated. Sauce still cold!! The meals were not cheap and the standard is poor.

The Manager did apologise and took some money off the bill.

Breakfast next morning - disastrous. We opted for eggs benedict. This came out cold too so we sent it back and had nothing and left!!!!

I would not stay at this hotel again, although it is a shame as the location is good and the staff are very friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beverley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Maybe they are getting the money too easy on the back of being right opposite the Cathedral and on the edge of the wonderful city of Salisbury ,or just work on the basis that a one off hit from tourists they will never see again is a good earn, but this website does not paint a pretty picture for this Pub Restaurant's future.
We booked a week in advance as a party of ten, a surprise 50 th Birthday, travelled 20 miles on recommendation of someone that had lunched there, but I can't say we were at all impressed by the way the Kitchen or Chef turned out the food.
The staff were okay, but a bit too laid back as we had to travel to the bar many times to order our own drinks as no-one seemed to be keeping an eye, not busy enough to have any excuse for the lack of attention.
Fabulous pieces of steak beautifully cooked, but who adds Salt to steak to the extent that you can taste it the next day, the same for the Chips or Fries . Good meat does not need a flavour enhancement, as per the web site Seasoning maybe, but not unwanted salt in large quantities .

15 minutes passed for some of us between, the arrival of the lonely Steaks and other basic mains and the rest of the sides, I had to have my steak re-heated as it was cold by the time the other bits and pieces arrived. Some of us were almost finished as others started, getting some Mustard was a big task.
I was told afterwards, we were told the Chef wouldn't want to know about our complaint and as one of the ladies had started her steak it could not be sent back or changed !

The host, paid begrudgingly after a some lengthy discussion, £500 of a £588 bill. He slipped off and paid for it quietly as a treat to everyone, if we had been paying attention we would have all contested the bill.
Fortunately the Birthday Girl was so wrapped up in the surprise I think she hardly noticed.
I know six of us definitely won't be going back, nor will anyone I am talking to if the place comes up in discussion.
As a Salisbury business person with 60 Staff, about 35 customers in and out of my premises every day 7 days a week and various business lunches in the year, the L C did too much to live up to its name for me to suggest returning.
If you want a good meal in Salisbury there are plenty of Privately run good pubs that will turn out an excellent menu and would thank you very much for a tip on half the bill we received at the LC, to mention one, try the Victoria and Albert in Netherhampton 5 minutes out of town, character, characters and very wholesome and worthwhile food. Service is everything !

Room Tip: Stay in Lenny's Lodge (Premier Inn), you are guaranteed a clean smart room with all the necessit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We paid £130 for a room and a £40 VIP uplift to have Champagne in the room when we arrived, Breakfast and a room upgrade if available. When we arrived we were told we couldn't check in till 3pm, which is ridiculous if you have had a long journey. When we did get our room it was small and so filthy that we didn't want to remove our shoes. The staff were disinterested and unhelpful and only bought a cheap bottle of Prosecco up when I found some one to complain to. We booked a restaurant table for 8:15pm and by 9pm still hadn't even been given any bread. In the end we walked to the burger shop up the road because we were so hungry. We didn't sleep all night because the room was so noisy and cold and the bed tiny with a rock hard mattress. We ended up leaving at 6:30 and driving home, ruining our weekend. I feel like I have been completely ripped off and I am furious. How these con artists can call this a Boutique hotel is beyond me, this is 2 star maximum and should have cost less than 50 quid.

Room Tip: Stay in a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gibstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.0 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
0.5 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#8 of 16 in Salisbury
910 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Old Mill Hotel
The Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harnham
324 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
0.6 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel & Spa
Milford Hall Hotel & Spa
#5 of 16 in Salisbury
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chapter House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chapter House

Address: 9-13 St. Johns Street, Salisbury SP1 2SB, England (Formerly The Lazy Cow)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Salisbury
Price Range: $111 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chapter House 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family-run Chapter House is situated in the heart of picturesque Salisbury. This 16th century boutique hotel boasts 17 en-suite rooms, with the executive range of rooms featuring unique standalone charms, from wooden wall-panelling to original stone fireplaces to freestanding baths. All rooms offer fluffy down duvets, Egyptian cotton linen, designer toiletries and flat screen TVs. The bustling gastro pub is renowned for its outstanding grills, serving a range of real ales and lagers on tap, as well as a quality international wines and spirits. Traditional roasts are served on Sundays. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout The Chapter House. The perfect base when visiting Wiltshire's historic sites, The Chapter House is also an ideal stop over en route to the coast or as a home-from-home option when on a business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Chapter House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lazy Cow Hotel Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing