We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good fun and great food”
Review of The Chapter House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Chapter House
Ranked #5 of 57 Salisbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Good fun and great food”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

The place is quirky in a good way - rooms are small but different. The staff were friendly and the location in town is perfect. My room was full of logs and antlers. They have Tea pigs drinks and the best biggest white bath towels ever.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    153
    64
    43
    35
See reviews for
94
331
11
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Really really nice room - excellent size and fabulous facilities but it was freezing cold and the radiator was not working. In fact one of the staff came into my room looking for a heater !!
In the morning I waited almost an hour for a simple cooked breakfast and in the end I just checked out without eating breakfast; I simply couldnt wait any longer !! This is a pity because this could be a fabulous place to stay and the staff are really helpful but but attention is needed to put right these simple but very very important issues.

Room Tip: Make sure if you stay here that the room is actually heated. Be aware that you may have a very long...
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

My partner and I stayed for two nights at the Lazy Cow in June. We stayed in one of the black and gold rooms and it was great. From the moment you walk in through the ‘astro turf’ grass covered entranced you are blown away. The hotel is really old and has maintained plenty of period features. The stairs are old and bendy but the rooms are really modern and fun. There are lovely toiletries provided plus tea pigs and a coffee machine which my boyfriend loved!!!

The hotel has a steak restaurant, we ate here one night and the food was ok but very expensive. The steak was not amazing, in fact it was slightly cold and seemed over priced.

On the plus side we also tried plenty of their cocktails and these were lovely! Apart from the unusual, quirky charm of the hotel the other reason I booked this was due to its proximity to Longleat Zoo. Just half an hour drive away so that was super handy!

On the whole a really great little gem of a hotel. The only reason I’m not giving it five stars is the expensive food menu but on the whole it was a great experience! Would definitely go back! Plus Salisbury is a lovely place to visit!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleOne2728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Came here for a Sunday lunch, and was both pleasantly surprised and disappointed. The selection of steak on offer was excellent, but the options of 'not steak' were limited and unappetising.

We ordered one steak and a beef stirfry. The presentation was original- a hot plate brought out and the steak served onto your plate from a hot skillet along with the accompaniments, and the stir fry served in a take away box as seen in New York take sways. It did mean you had to wait for the steak to be put on your paktw in front of you- ok I suppose for two, bur I can imagine slow and difficult for a larger group.

The steak was cooked beautifully, and the chips looked delicious, but the other side dishes, a little lambs lettuce and a very small and cold corn on the cob were not really adequate and dissapointed. The stir fry was in a lovely sauce, but there was far too much of it in the bottom of the box that it was more like soup. The menu promised it was served with fresh sautéed vegetables, but this seemed to consist a few measly peppers, and not the array of mushrooms, beans and peas as traditional with a stir fry.

The service was good and the decor lovely. The offer of potentially good steak will probably draw us back but my expectations will be much lower

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garthvadar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I stayed on Sunday night with my wife, the room was great, stylish but not in your face, lovely bath robes.
I had a steak for breakfast, it was gorgeous and perfectly cooked.

The staff we met were all great, it appeared as though nothing would have been too much trouble, but as we wanted for nothing we didn't get to find out! Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blusea3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We were charged £60 for a shared steak on the bone. It was worth £30, and that's still being generous. Meat was average and arrived cold and unappetising. I hold the management responsible. Staff need to have proper training and you need a reality check on what is value for money. We will not be eating there again nor recommend it to friends. Up your game!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Morgan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I have visited the lazy cow for my wedding anniversary for the past 2 years. We came back because the first weekend was amazing. After telling all our family and friends we did wonder if the hotel and staff could match our first year stay, and they did excelling themselves again. We asked for the same (black and gold) room and that was not a problem. The staff cannot do enough for you, and to top it off they have a fantastic steak restaurant downstairs which I am impressed with every time I dine there. I will be booking again soon just not sure if I can wait until my next anniversary!

Room Tip: We love the black and gold room 9 I believe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucajames08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.0 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
0.3 mi away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 16 in Salisbury
759 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
#10 of 16 in Salisbury
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
0.5 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#8 of 16 in Salisbury
871 reviews
0.6 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#5 of 16 in Salisbury
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chapter House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chapter House

Property: The Chapter House
Address: 9-13 St. Johns Street, Salisbury SP1 2SB, England (Formerly The Lazy Cow)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chapter House 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family-run Chapter House is situated in the heart of picturesque Salisbury. This 16th century boutique hotel boasts 17 en-suite rooms, with the executive range of rooms featuring unique standalone charms, from wooden wall-panelling to original stone fireplaces to freestanding baths. All rooms offer fluffy down duvets, Egyptian cotton linen, designer toiletries and flat screen TVs. The bustling gastro pub is renowned for its outstanding grills, serving a range of real ales and lagers on tap, as well as a quality international wines and spirits. Traditional roasts are served on Sundays. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout The Chapter House. The perfect base when visiting Wiltshire's historic sites, The Chapter House is also an ideal stop over en route to the coast or as a home-from-home option when on a business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your The Chapter House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lazy Cow Hotel Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing