We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Room, great service and great food.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Chapter House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Chapter House
Ranked #5 of 58 Salisbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Room, great service and great food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

We stayed for a couple of nights. The hotel is in a very old building that must date back from the 18th century so it has all the charm of such a place and also all the problems which previous reviewers have mentioned; uneven floors and thin walls where you are at the mercy of your neighbours. There was music coming from the restaurant but this finished at about 11:30pm on the nights we stayed and was not too intrusive. The room we stayed in was lovely; quirkily decorated with a free bottle of wine and a nespresso coffee maker. Comfortable bed too. The staff are not always at reception but by wondering into the bar we could always find someone to help and they were always friendly and helpful. On the second day there were no more nespresso pods in our room. When I went down to request some, they apologized that a delivery had not come in and arranged for two coffees to be delivered to the room for free. Good food (quality and quantity) and service in the restaurant which was moderately expensive but we thought it was still good value and returned the second night. Even on a Wednesday and Thursday the place was full of locals which is always a good sign.
What else to say? The place is across the road from the cathedral grounds and you can park at the Mercure hotel (The White Heart) next door for £10 per night (they seemed quite happy with this when I went in to pay). Great place to stay but probably not for you if you are very sound sensitive or want to go to bed at 10pm; but if you want somewhere quirky and memorable, highly recommended.
Overall one of the highlights of our short trip south and we would definitely return if we went that way again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hotel2zero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    146
    62
    43
    35
See reviews for
89
310
10
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

Could 'nt wait to add a review for The Lazy Cow , Spent the weekend at this great place, The staff were FANTASTIC could 'nt fault them they work so hard to make each and everyone happy . The rooms are an experience on their own. The surroundings are exceptional the food excellent . Thank you all so much for a wonderful weekend we ll never forget.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful you won't be dissapointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dawnvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

A friend and I chose the Lazy Cow as it looked quirky and had a location that was handy for the city centre. We loved the old building and the rooms we were given were great. As we were staying on a Saturday night, we were prepared for loud music, but as it didn't go on past midnight it didn't bother us and as my room was at the back of the hotel it wouldn't have bothered me anyway. The staff were helpful and when we pointed out that one of our rooms did not have the bottle of wine in, this was rectified immediately, although you have to question the oversight in the first place. The only drawback we found was a comlete lack of cold water in the morning of the hottest day of the year. The shower was not just hot, it was scalding and would have incurred third degree burns if I had been brave enough to get in it. It turned out to be a problem throughout the hotel and as it was a Sunday the staff were struggling to get a plumber out to rectify the situation. As a result £20 was deducted from each of our bills for the night which I thought acceptable under the circumstances. It was a pity because otherwise it was a great stay with the best night's sleep in one of the comfiest beds I've had in a hotel. This experience definitely did not put me off and I would still recommend this hotel to anyone, and would stay there again myself. I would say that some of the staff and attention to detail could be a bit more polished.

Room Tip: For a quiet night's sleep, ask for room 18 as it is at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankieP78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

We stayed at Lazy Cow last night for our anniversary. We had a black and gold room, number 5, so directly over the bar and overlooking the road, but the room was so lovely it didn't bother us. What did bother us was the staff!

I've had some underwhelming welcomes at receptions before but to have a member of staff walk past you, look around under a desk for something, potter in a cupboard and then turn round in surprise to ask if we wanted something was slightly odd! The member of staff who actually took us up to our room was probably the most pleasant we encountered during our whole stay.

Small things were amiss; no wine in our room, no Nespresso machine (so therefor no coffee at all) and no swag bag! If it's not actually available, then why bother listing them as features on the website? We had a iron that was so filthy it left a large sticky mark on a shirt, a fan that came off it's stand while it was still going, the sash window in the room could only be fully opened or not at all and outside our room for our entire stay was a half empty bottle of wine and a water bottle just left on the floor in the corridor that at least two members of staff walked past and ignored.

There was also confusion over breakfast; during the initial booking over the phone we were told it wasn't included, then during another call we were told it was toast only and then yesterday we were told it was included!

We'd go back again because the room was so lovely and location wise it was perfect, but really, when staff apparently have no interest in their guests (a young lad on the checkout at Homebase today told me to enjoy the rest of my day; by comparison at checkout this morning we didn't even get a "have you enjoyed your stay?" or "was everything ok for you?") it does sour the experience somewhat.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fraggle1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

What a gorgeaous place with excellent staff. Room was luxury and the steak dinner heavenly. Thanks so much for a lovely stay

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mandy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

Had 2 Nights for our wedding anniversary booked through KGB deals ,we loved the old charm of the building with lots of beams and wonky stairs,we had a lovely big room no7 at the front of the building which was full of luxury items a pod coffee machine ,fuffy bathrobes ,a iPod docking ,alarm clock ,retro sweets bagged each day as a treat ,bottles of water and a bottle of wine .we had a lovely open fire place with a original pew by it ,lots of wardrobe space with a fully equipped bathroom with all the usual toiletries .there is a fantastic steak restaurant adjoining which u also go for breakfast which we could not fault ,the evening meals are well worth the money with the steaks sourced from the finest farms .would definitely stay again if visiting Salisbury .our room was quite noisy at night because of original sash windows and having the one way system outside into town but it didn't bother us but if u don't like the traffic noise ask for a room facing out the other side .

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tanyaoxberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012 via mobile

Ambiance was exquisite...and friendliness outstanding. Unique room with a cow motif. If you like something beyond the ordinary, stay here. You will love it...we did!

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ray L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.3 mi away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel
BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel
#10 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#12 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.5 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#7 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
0.6 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel and Spa
Milford Hall Hotel and Spa
#4 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chapter House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chapter House

Property: The Chapter House
Address: 9-13 St John's St, Salisbury SP1 2SB, England (Formerly The Lazy Cow)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chapter House 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of historic Salisbury, The Chapter House comprises a cosy steakhouse restaurant, friendly pub and 17 comfortable letting rooms. It lies within easy reach of some of Southern England's most important landmarks. The stone for the Salisbury Cathedral, a mere five minute walk away, was cut in what is now the restaurant, making the hotel's initial construction almost 800 years old. Some of the original stone and ironwork is still left exposed inside the property. The 17 boutique en-suite rooms are all unique and quirky, some with original panelling and fireplaces and all with fluffy goose down duvets, Egyptian cotton linen, luxurious H2K toiletries and flatscreen TVs. The Chapter House boasts a bustling restaurant and grillhouse where flame grilled steaks, a la carte dining and hearty pub food are served in an ambient environment. The perfect base when visiting Wiltshire's historic sites, The Chapter House is also an ideal stop over en route to the coast or as a home-from-home option when on a business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Chapter House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lazy Cow Hotel Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing