We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice b&b”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salisbury
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old House Guest House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #16 of 59 Salisbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Lovely people who owe a lovely house with lovely rooms, lovely gardens and yummy breakfast! We had a lovely time and enjoyed the place very much! We thoroughly recommend it! And we hope to be back there soon.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 73 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2013

I stayed at The Old House B&B twice during February, and on both visits I was very happy with my accommodation and welcome at this establishment. Its location is excellent for visiting Salisbury city centre, and there is off-street private parking for guests. My room on the ground floor was warm, very nicely decorated and furnished, with a comfortable bed and a clean and well-stocked shower room. I had french doors opening onto an inner patio, which the weather didn't permit me to take advantage of, but it would be lovely at a warmer time of the year. Breakfast was well cooked and presented with plenty of choice, and served in a comfortable and spacious dining room. The owners were welcoming, friendly and helpful. I would certainly choose the Old House for any future visits, and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

This was our second stay at The Old House Guest House and on both occassions my wife and I have been extremely well looked after. We took our 18yr-old daughter with us this time and were given the option of the family room between us or the family room and the double room beside it (which we took). The beds were comfortable, the rooms well laid out, excellently cleaned and prepared and our breakfast was to die for. Well positioned on the outskirts of the City, but within a 10-15 minutes walk of the City Centre. This is the ideal place for a relaxing night, whilst allowing you to enjoy all that Salisbury has to offer.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Geoff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We had three nights in the very comfortable and quiet family room and enjoyed its own spacious, well-heated lounge. There is a lounge for the use of all guests, which is unusual in a B&B, and very welcome. Mrs Maidment was an extremely pleasant hostess and the breakfasts were copious and well-presented. The house style is Victorian cottagey and comfortable. My only caveat would be that the size of the shower room and the cubicle itself might be a problem if you're not slim. The walk to town along the river path was a delight, though a little muddy at this time of year. It was a big bonus having a bus stop right outside the door and only a five minute ride into town, so no need to use the car and pay parking fees.

Room Tip: The family room is spacious and although there is a guest lounge it was nice to have our own space t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lawd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

The house was spotlessly clean and very charming. Breakfast was excellent and made to our specifications. The owner was hospitable and friendly without being overbearing. Very kind and also welcoming to our children. Really enjoyable.

Room Tip: The "family room" was fantastic because it had one double and two twin beds, as well as a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aida H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

the customer service was total excellent,made me total relaxed and comforted.the room was of extra high standard with extra items,at no extra charge.in previous guest houses i have stayed in do not offer extra items (dressing gown).the room rate was above my budget but with the extras,it is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timothy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Well I've been using this place for well over 6 years now, since moving away from the Salisbury area to take career paths that have lead away from aviation.
However I have been coming back regularly to go gliding at Upavon, and this is where this lovely place comes into it's own. Quite close to the city ( a pleasant 20 minute walk along the road towards Fisherton Street) and you are in the city centre.
The place is lovely and clean and run by the Maidment family of master builders in Salisbury. Therefore the decor and layout is very very nice indeed, it is also impeccably clean, and you are always assured a warm welcome by Patrick and Hilary, the owners.
It is impressive value for money given that at twice the price you can get a room in a hotel that won't be anywhere near as nice. They also do custom breakfasts too, such as Smoked Kippers which are great brain food for a hard days gliding ahead.

I cannot rate this hidden gem highly enough!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roubaix01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
1.1 mi away
The Old Rectory
The Old Rectory
#1 of 59 in Salisbury
269 reviews
0.5 mi away
Websters Bed and Breakfast
Websters Bed and Breakfast
#9 of 59 in Salisbury
267 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Old Mill Hotel
The Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harnham
332 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Swan at Stoford
The Swan at Stoford
#1 of 2 in Stoford
449 reviews
1.3 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#9 of 16 in Salisbury
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old House Guest House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old House Guest House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 161 Wilton Road, Salisbury SP2 7JQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Salisbury
Price Range: $90 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old House is full of character with traditional old beams and brick walls dating back to the 16th century. It is gracefully furnished to provide excellent accommodation on both ground and first floor levels. All the spacious bedrooms have en-suite facilities. There is a large comfortable residents lounge and a large garden which stretches to the rear.After a restful night in this Family managed haven you can start the day with a hearty breakfast in our cottage style dining room. All food is freshly prepared and home -cooked. Relax in our large residents lounge after an exciting day exploring the Wiltshire countryside or sit in the attractive garden.Its an easy walk to the city centre, and close to the Railway Station with a direct line into London, Waterloo. Only 1/2 hour to Stonehenge and The New Forest. Wilton House and Salisbury Cathedral are close by. The wonderful city of Bath, Historic Portsmouth and relaxing Bournemouth are all within easy travelling distance. Free car parking is provided, free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing