We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best carvery in town & great value for money”
Review of The Cloisters

The Cloisters
Ranked #15 of 270 Restaurants in Salisbury
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
1 review
“Best carvery in town & great value for money”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We have been going to The Cloisters Carvery for the past 4years and its always just amazing you have to get there early cause sometimes at 12 before opening there is people waiting outside , which on occasion I was one of those ppl :) keep it up and ignore the negative feed back you are the best in town !!

Love Claire

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clairetomp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    360
    194
    58
    18
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An absolute dump!!!”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Second attempt to have a carvery there on a Sunday. First time amounted to false advertising as the carvery had run out of food.

The second attempt was shocking:

The manager was virtually doing a headcount to see if there was enough food.

As I refused to stand in a queue that with no guarantee of getting any food from the carvery at the end, I went to the bar and planned to order myself a lamb shank. The bar service was VERY slow.

Unfortunately after waiting 10 minutes, I lost my place as I had to quickly return to my table (fellow diners still in the queue for the carvery!!!!!).

The reason I had to return to the table was a man had wandered in off the streets and was at our table. He appeared to be on the point of starting to thieve!!!

I walked out - what a dive.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bad service and shortage of food”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We booked a table for 10 for sunday lunch. We ordered 2 meals from the menu and were told that just before they were ready, we would be told so the others could get to the carvery so we could all eat at the same time. After 45 minutes the menu meals arrived followed 5 minutes later by the side orders, but no one had told us they were on the way so everyone then quickly went off to the carvery. There was a queue so the other 2 started to eat otherwise their meal would have gone cold. The carvery only had pork left at 1.30 out of the 3 choices. The chef offered to cook some chicken for 3 of our party and a number of other disgruntled customers which meant another delay. There is no system in place to monitor how many carvery tickets are being sold and how much food is left. After 3 different sittings for the 8 meals our plates were cleared away. After 20 minutes no one had asked us if we would like desserts or coffees so we went to the bar and disturbed the staff to ask for coffees. If they had been half way efficient and bought the dessert menus over we would have ordered 4 or 5
The bill was just short of £100. If the service had been decent we would have added desserts- another £20/£25 for them - and a tip. As it was, we had coffees and asked for a discount as the service was so disappointing and paid £80 and wont be returning.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Wales
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Such a brilliant place”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Great pub food, or even just for meeting a friend or group. Great wine selection too. Have eaten often, plenty of choice. ?Friendly staff and very accomodating

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank SmudgeWestWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Very satisfying”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

My wife and I were staying in Salisbury for a couple of days, post Christmas break. Next door to the hotel was The Cloisters which was appealing on the outside and warm & welcoming inside. My wife ordered a coffee and I had a pint of bitter. The only reason that I did not mark a 5* was that the beer was rather pricey at £3.90 for a pint.

We decided to stay for a meal and portions were fantastic such that I could not manage a dessert after only a main course (full rack of ribs, chips and homemade coleslaw), most unusual not to be able to finish with pudding but I was full. My wife had a soup starter (homemade and delicious) plus a lamb shank. chips and vegetables which she said was delicious. Great food, charming staff, pricey drinks but a very nice meal all the same.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AnthonyandAna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cloisters also viewed

 
Salisbury, Wiltshire
Salisbury, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Cloisters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing