We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
  
Ways to Experience The Salisbury Museum
from $9.60
More Info
from $294.54
More Info
Reviews (420)
Filter reviews
420 results
Traveler rating
270
123
20
5
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
270
123
20
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews costume gallery pitt rivers pull out temporary exhibition archaeological finds local history on display well worth a visit bronze age entry price iron age surrounding area rainy day couple of hours two hours old building tea room
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 420 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Fascinating place - I loved it! If you visit, don't miss the exhibit of treasures and everyday things found in the sewers.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank jkr46723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2019

Situated in the Cathedral close a medieval house that’s a well though through interactive museum with knowledgable guides to help you get the most out of your visit. My 9 year old granddaughter loved sorting out bones and pottery and dressing up as a Victorian maid.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2019

Staff very knowledgeable, and exhibits are beautifully laid out.
Covers lots of different subjects with Salisbury as its theme, no chance to get bored!

Date of experience: April 2019
1  Thank Climber401937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2019

Walking past Salisbury Cathedral you will find a few museums. I decided to visit Salisbury museum. Fascinating place to visit. The Sarum exhibition is definitely worth the longer walk to get here. Interactive and family friendly. Upstairs the costumes were a snippet into the life of Salisbury. Cafe was easily accessible. Paintings by Henry Lamb were on view. Artefacts were displayed really well and good lighting.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Sally T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2019

My daughter and I had visited Old Sarum and were on our way to the Cathedral, so popped in here for a quick visit beforehand.

Half price entry thanks to our English Heritage membership meant that the entry price was very good value (other discounts are available- check the website) and we began in the Wessex gallery, which takes you from Old Sarum back in time to the mesolithic era by way of the Romans and Iron Age. There is a huge amount of archaeology on display, and we spent a long time here. It is a very hands-on gallery, with drawers and cupboards to open, pottery to sort, and prehistoric burials on display, including the Amesbury Archer. There is a lot of information about General Pitt-Rivers, who was a prominent figure in the science of archaeology, and about the work he did in and around Salisbury Plain.

Further into the museum you'll find a bewildering array of treasures including lacework, coins and a giant, plus a gallery of costume and several of more modern art. There is a wonderful room crammed with china upstairs, and a bustling café downstairs.

This is the sort of place one could easily while away a whole day- perfect for a rainy day, and there are are family trails for the little ones too. We will be back!

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank T1m0te1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews