We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Taylors Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Taylors Guesthouse
Ranked #8 of 58 Salisbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Steve & Key very welcoming with plenty of recommendations for sightseeing and restaurants. Room lovely, extensive breakfast menu, 20 mins. walk into Salisbury but can take a short bus trip.
Well worth a stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taythor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parasteve, Owner at Taylors Guesthouse, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for writing to TripAdvisor we appreciate it. Kay & I look forward to seeing you again next time you visit Salisbury.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    19
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
130
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burbank, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

We were looking for a quiet place in the region and we couldn't have found anything better! The Taylors were very welcoming, and this was a great place to spend the night! Plus they made us cookies!!!!

Room Tip: There are only four rooms. We got a chance to see each one and you can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parasteve, Owner at Taylors Guesthouse, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
I cannot claim any credit for the cookies, Kay makes them. You are right though they are hard to resist! Thank you for your kind words, Steve & Kay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Taylor guesthouse. The room was perfect. My hosts were lovely. Food was superb. Kay and Steven have done this like true professionals and haven't missed a detail. The slightly unfortunate location, on a busy street on the periphery of the town is overcome by the big views of the valley and old Sarum. I will certainly be back.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parasteve, Owner at Taylors Guesthouse, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thanks for staying with us. The views behind our house across the Avon Valley are indeed excellent. Constable liked it too, he painted Old Sarum from the same aspect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Everything was arranged for the two of us for a couple of days in Salisbury. We had no idea what to expect, but we could not have chosen better if we had selected the accommodation ourselves. Kay and Steve are the most gracious of hosts, and have the knack of setting their guests at ease. They have completely refurbished the Guest House to modern standards: the rooms are very comfortable and clean, with constant hot water - essential to all us soft Southerners and not so tough West Highlanders. The breakfasts are a treat, but to discover why, you need to go and stay there: clue - something to do with Steve's previous day job. And finally, because of the location of the Guest House, you can walk into Salisbury along the path by the river: no traffic, no noise, just peace.
John and Katherine

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parasteve, Owner at Taylors Guesthouse, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
John & Katherine, thank you for you review. Kay and I are always happy when our guests enjoy their stay with us. We enjoy the river walk on a daily basis it is hard to beat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstanz, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Although a bit outside the center of town, this is an excellent place.
The rooms are very tastefully furnished and perfectly clean.
The personal and warm welcoming service is outstanding and makes you feel at home.
Especially breakfast is an event, Steve serving you what ever you wish from tasty pancakes to poached eggs (which he explained how to do it, because I never managed to get it as nicely shaped as he does).
Looking at the service and feelgood you get for a very reasonable price, Taylors is hardly to top.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ulrich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parasteve, Owner at Taylors Guesthouse, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. Yes the poached eggs can be tricky and I am glad you found them up to par.

Steve T
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOUTH COAST
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed at Taylors toward the end of our holiday for two nights and found our hosts very friendly and helpful with plenty of suggestions of where to eat and what to see in the area. Our room was warm and welcoming, i think the cookies are baked daily (I forgot to ask). You can walk into Salisbury (about half hour) along a small river which is quite peaceful and scenic.
Breakfast was fantastic, especially the pancakes.
I have noticed some of the other reviews talking about the street side rooms, we did find the street a bit on the noisy side but it didnt help that the other half insisted on having the window open!
All in all we can highly recommend this lovely guest house.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JVJ805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parasteve, Owner at Taylors Guesthouse, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Yes the cookies are homemade by Kay. Come back again and try some more.

Thanks Steve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Really nice decor. Welcoming and friendly. Perfect location for me, walking distance to town and just down the road from my friends. We had to leave at the crack of dawn and even got a packed breakfast. Only tiny gripe... sink was a bit too compact!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TiggerRach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parasteve, Owner at Taylors Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Glad those packed breakfasts worked out, and glad you enjoyed your visit. Phone charger is on its way home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
1.0 mi away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cricket Field House
Cricket Field House
#2 of 16 in Salisbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Salisbury North Bishopdown Hotel
1.3 mi away
The Chapter House
The Chapter House
#5 of 58 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
0.5 mi away
Websters Bed and Breakfast
Websters Bed and Breakfast
#10 of 58 in Salisbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taylors Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taylors Guesthouse

Property: Taylors Guesthouse
Address: 304 Devizes Road, Salisbury SP2 7DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Taylors Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kay and Steve Taylor welcome you to their newly refurbished bed & breakfast. We are situated just twenty minutes walk from the center of the medieval city of Salisbury. Visit the 1000 year old Salisbury Cathedral or investigate the mysterious Stonehenge. Enjoy a wealth of fine restaurants or relax in pubs that have been serving fine English ale for several 100 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Book Direct Rooms and Booking.com so you can book your Taylors Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing