We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely friendly couple”
Review of Taylors Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Taylors Guesthouse
Ranked #8 of 57 Salisbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely friendly couple”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Mr and Mrs taylor are a lovely couple who made us feel quite at home,the accomadation seems freshly decorated to a good standard and the on suite facilities are nice,the breakfast the next morning was lovely and made to order,Mrs taylor made us feel quiet at home and i felt we had known her for ages although we had just met.
The property is situated about a mile walk from the town which can accessed via a lovely walk by the river Avon or a bus service near by.
Would definately consider stopping at the Taylor's guest house again and reccommend any one to do so.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crogger1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    19
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
131
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arlingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2012

couldn't fault the cleanliness and comfort of the accommodation and the delicious biscuits, chocs and range of teas in our room was most appreciated. breakfast was also delicious and the hosts friendly and obliging. we will return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggin Hill
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed at Taylors Guesthouse for two nights to visit family and do some sightseeing. We found the location ideal for both as there is a lovely riverside walk into the city centre from the house. The rooms are decorated and equipped to an extremely high standard, with delightful extras, such as delicious homemade cookies. Kay and Steve are friendly, helpful hosts and we would unhesitatingly recommend the guesthouse to others.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for the first time for one night. Plus points: very clean, spacious room (Room 2), very hospitable hosts, lovely breakfast (cooked), modern simple decor and very tastefully done, modern bathroom with piping hot water. Also free wi-fi with a good signal. Points to consider: my bedroom was at the front which is on a main road so can get noisy with the windows open but the windows have excellent double glazing so quiet when closed. The B&B is a 30 min walk from the centre and up a hill. However there is a river walk and you can the bus which stops outside the B&B. Off road parking can be tight. Bedroom 2 did not have a table for working from. Would I stay again - yes, all the plus points are significant.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Rchr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parasteve, Owner at Taylors Guesthouse, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Taylors and thank you for your kind words.

We have been open just over one year now, and being new to the hospitality business feedback is a very useful thing.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Steve & Kay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Wow, what a delightful place to stay, Steve and Kay are brilliant hosts. The rooms are tastefully decorated and very comfortable, and very clean. All needs are catered for (yes ladies a decent hairdryer), the en-suite was realy nice and clean and bright and loads of unlimited hot water. We really felt at home here and enjoyed the atmosphere at the breakfast table, chatting with the other guests. We would recommend taking a walk down to the nearby river Avon and take in the veiw that Constable painted. Steve updated us on the local knowledge and we even walked through the 'fields of gold' that inspired Sting to write that particulart song. A lovely area which we shall be going back to as there is so much to see and do, and Taylors is the perfect place to stay. Highly recommended. Ali and Gary

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sinkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed in Salisbury the night so we could see Stonehenge the next day. Steve made us feel welcome straight away with a cup of tea & chat.He suggested a restaurant in town - booked it for us & called a taxi as well- as it was raining. Our room was nice & bright - Newly decorated ..yes it did face the road but you only heard cars if you opened any windows..no problem with us really. We met Kay & their dog the next morning at breakfast..cooked by Steve- very yummy too! Little touches in the room were nice- home baked biscuits, bottled water and a variety of herbal teas. Lovely place.
thank you Steve & Kay (Carol & David- New Zealand)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Well we could not fault the place, every effort was made to make us feel welcome.
Wonderful hosts, excellent room, great breakfast.
Modern facilities not stuck in the 70's like other rooms
we stayed in. Highly recommended.
Philip and Denise (Australia)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
2.0 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
0.5 mi away
Cricket Field House
Cricket Field House
#2 of 16 in Salisbury
396 reviews
0.8 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#5 of 16 in Salisbury
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 16 in Salisbury
751 reviews
0.5 mi away
Websters Bed and Breakfast
Websters Bed and Breakfast
#10 of 57 in Salisbury
257 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Chapter House
The Chapter House
#5 of 57 in Salisbury
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taylors Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taylors Guesthouse

Property: Taylors Guesthouse
Address: 304 Devizes Road, Salisbury SP2 7DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Taylors Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kay and Steve Taylor welcome you to their newly refurbished bed & breakfast. We are situated just twenty minutes walk from the center of the medieval city of Salisbury. Visit the 1000 year old Salisbury Cathedral or investigate the mysterious Stonehenge. Enjoy a wealth of fine restaurants or relax in pubs that have been serving fine English ale for several 100 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms and Priceline so you can book your Taylors Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing