We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Milford Hall Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
$123
$119
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$98
$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$103
$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Red Lion Hotel(Salisbury)(Great Value!)
$97
$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Pembroke Arms Hotel(Wilton)(Great Value!)
$112
$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
King's Head Inn(Salisbury)(Great Value!)
$54
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (838)
Filter reviews
838 results
Traveler rating
368
288
131
33
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
368
288
131
33
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslime treecream teaexecutive roomtown centregood sizeafternoon teacomfortable hotelsteakbooked this hotelcar parksconesshort breaknight breakkippersgreat weekendwaiting staffhotel is situated
Filter
Updating list...
467 - 472 of 838 reviews
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Stayed overnight for a Girlie Birthday weekend 31ST May 2014 but what a disappointment, room was very clean and spacious but the service in the hotel let it down so much. After a lovely walk around the town centre Saturday afternoon headed back to the hotel for a nice glass of chilled wine on the terrace, so we thought, waited at least 15 minutes to be served, no bar staff. When the wine was eventually brought to us it was just ‘plonked’ down on the table, no coasters. Same again for the next glass, no staff and no coasters.

The evening meal, sat at a table that seemed to have legs shorter on one side than the other. The waiter had to ‘go under’ the table twice during our meal to replace the temporary fix to stop the table ROCKING FROM SIDE TO SIDE when they brought our food AND whilst we were eating. Not a pleasant meal or experience really.

THEN BREAKFAST, pointed to a table, not shown, sat for 15 minutes before catching the eye of a waitress waving my hands to ask for coffee, when this eventually turned up we asked if we could have skimmed milk if possible, to be told ‘IT IS’ !! The coffee was awful it left a film around the cup and seemed like it had been made 30 minutes before hand. Decided to ask for poached eggs from the breakfast menu, when these were delivered we helped ourselves to some bits from the buffet. Sat back at our table only for a waiter to appear with two plates of poached eggs, we had been given another tables FRIED eggs which we left, what a waste and how embarrassing. We were not offered fresh eggs.
Overall not what it said on the tin, my advice would be stay at the hotel ROOM ONLY and you probably won’t go wrong?

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SAC195530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaGuest, Manager at Milford Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Dear SAC195530

Thank you for the review, it is only through reviews we are able to pinpoint our misgivings and improve for future guests.

I was pleased to read you liked your room and the cleanliness of the hotel and would stay with us again for these features. However it was really disappointing to hear of the service you received, I have carried out a review of our service during that period and spoken to the management on duty. You will of read the other reviews on this site and realised that our staff are usually our best asset, but as with all humans, mistakes can be made and it would appear that we certainly did not live up to the large majority of our reviewers opinions on our staff during your stay.

Please accept my apologies for this. Service is very important to us at the Milford Hall, so I would like to be able to apologise in person for our errors on this occasion, As we only have your tripadvisor name, I would be grateful if you could telephone the hotel, so I can apologise in person.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Amanda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Excellent customer service. Having been slightly disappointed by my previous stay - something most hotels would ignore and forget - I was called by Amanda who not only investigated my comments but offered me a complimentary stay so that I could see what Milford Hall Hotel was really all about.

I had previously commented on the friendly and efficient staff and again this was so. A pleasant reception, a friendly helpful porter and patient (decisions decisions) waiting staff.

Our room was clean and roomy and the bed extremely comfortable. It's a pleasant 5 minute stroll into town where we visited the cathedral and wandered around market square.

That evening we decided to eat at the hotel and the steak and wine were very good. All in all I would now recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LibertytripS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaGuest, Manager at Milford Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to put a review on Tripadvisor. Your favourable comments have been passed on to the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back on another occasion.

Kind Regards
Amanda L Guest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Very conveniently situated, the Milford Hall was an inspired choice!
Charming efficient staff, spotless room - if a little austere - no ipod dock or fridge and an antedeluvian hair dryer! Splendid breakfast, again the service was exceptional, all in all a first class experience at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank srd222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaGuest, Manager at Milford Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Thank you for your great review. I am so pleased your returned for a second visit. Your comments have been passed on to the team and we hope to see you again soon for a third visit.

Kind Regards & Best Wishes
Amanda L Guest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

As part of our annual get away with friends we looked at various hotels in the area and were guided by trip advisor reviews and as they gave a very positive feedback we booked up,we were not in anyway disappointed the hotel delivers ,it's facilities (we had an iPod docking station in our room very useful!!)free wifi ,free and ample car parking ,the location was within short walking distance to town centre which is lovely.but for us who have been away for the past 9 years in hotels felt all the staff were the best ever,nothing was too much trouble and very attentive to any need,special thanks Patti at breakfast..thank you again and look forward to seeing you soon

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Steve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaGuest, Manager at Milford Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a fantastic review about Milford Hall Hotel. Your great comments have been passed on to the team, including the lovely Patti!!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards & best Wishes

Amanda L Guest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

We booked this hotel for a Masonic Ladies festival. It was the best thing we did as everything else was sourced, sorted and arranged for us. The food was absolutely fabulous, the staff extremely helpful and friendly and organisation amazing. All our guests said they had a great time particularly mentioned the food and staff. I was most indebted to Ali Greenwood who made all the arrangements, made recommendations when we were lost, even sorted things out when we made late requests. I cannot thank all the staff enough would certainly recommend this hotel for any event from a quiet break for two to a total weekend for 50 as we had, as the attention to detail for all guests is excellent.

Room Tip: Stayed in the older part of the hotel, clean very comfortable bed, surprisingly quiet considering it is on the road side. Fantastic bathroom!
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaGuest, Manager at Milford Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Best Weekend Ever is praise indeed so thank you form us all! Your great comments have been passed on especially to Ali who prides herself on every last detail when organising any event, so thank you again.
We very much hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.
Kind Regards & Best Wishes
Amanda L Guest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews